We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”
Review of Gesthus Selfoss

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gesthus Selfoss
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Nice cosy cottage in the middle of the town. There is a little kitchen in the cottage with a fridge. Everything is nearby. There are two hottubs for you to enjoy. The caretaker was very friendly and helpfull. He had nice suggestions where to go.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

Small but nice Cabins in a campsite. The cabins are small but for a night or two of sleep have all thats needed. There are 2 common Hot Tubs, which were ready when we arrived. The owner was very nice and friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maor_Miguel_Ribeiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Probably the best value for money stay in Iceland. We paid 8k ISK and feel that we got quite a lot as part of the deal. The hotel is easy to find even though it is off the main road (actually a good thing). It is close to many supermarkets and shops so good place to stop and restock. We had a cabin which was surprisingly spacious, well decorated and had a new, clean feel to it. No problems with heating or showers but the hot water had a sulphur smell (this is normal in Iceland). Breakfast is not part of the deal but an extra. You can have it for convenience for under 2k ISK but there are shops around the corner for the budget conscious. There was an option to make use of the hot tub. The hot tub looked clean but we passed as it was getting a little late and we just wanted to rest. The owner seemed like a decent enough chap. We enjoyed a good, relaxing stay and if in Iceland again would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigWorgl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We had a very enjoyable two night stay at Guesthus Selfoss. Check in was a breeze, and the owner recommended some local restaurants. We were the only people staying that night but he still set out breakfast for us. Our cabin was warm when we arrived, which was a huge relief coming in from the freezing Iceland air. While the decor is a bit sparse and dated, the cabins had everything we needed and proved to be more than adequate. We were warm and comfortable all night. Only negatives would be the lighting (1 bulb overhead, 1 tiny lamp over the bed) and that the shower floor filled quite a bit. Otherwise, it's a great value for your money!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Chelsea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Cute to stay in a cabin. The price was far cheaper than the other places I stayed in Iceland - I wasn't expecting much, but was very, very pleasantly surprised!
On a side note, that although I enjoyed the Guesthouse, I actually wouldn't stay in Selfoss again, there are more beautiful towns nearby that aren't as populated.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Within walking distance to gas stations and restaurants, a good choice in this popular area.

Well-equipped with a toilet and small kitchen. There are hot tubs for use too.

Good value-for-money breakfast buffet.

Very accessible accommodation with main attractions like the geysir, crater and waterfall within 10 mins' drive.

I would recommend for people traveling in groups.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank wintryposy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Positive:
+ Excellent value overall
+ Very friendly & helpful family run guesthouse and campground. Cabins are in nice wooded area.
+ Cozy cabin, sleeps four (but probably more comfortable for two due to limited space for luggage)
+ Cabin includes kitchenette with glasses, pots, utensils, refridgerator and table with chairs between beds
+ Easy access to ring road 1 and close to restaurants and a filling station
+ Breakfast was supposed to be extra (8 euros) but I was not charged for it and it was very good: make-yourself waffles, bread, cold cuts, toast, cereal, fruit, yoghurt, etc.
+ Wifi throughout, even in cabins
+ Free and adequate parking
+ Hot tub on premises (did not use it though)

Neutral
+/- Bathroom rather tight space, but adequate for a night or two

Negative:
- Beds were uncomfortable (very soft mattress) and pillows were lumpy

Room Tip: All cabins are in a nice wooded area. Mine, #12, was very private towards the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank augustleo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selfoss
7.8 mi away
Frost and Fire Hotel
Frost and Fire Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hveragerdi
679 reviews
11.6 mi away
Hotel Borealis
Hotel Borealis
#3 of 8 in Selfoss
247 reviews
0.6 mi away
Arctic Nature Hotel
Arctic Nature Hotel
#7 of 8 in Selfoss
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Fosshotel Hekla
Fosshotel Hekla
#4 of 8 in Selfoss
363 reviews
33.4 mi away
Hotel Geysir
Hotel Geysir
#5 of 8 in Selfoss
315 reviews
0.3 mi away
Selfoss Apartments
Selfoss Apartments
#6 of 36 in Selfoss
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gesthus Selfoss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gesthus Selfoss

Address: Engjavegur 56, Selfoss 800, Iceland
Region: Iceland > South Region > Selfoss
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Selfoss
Price Range: £70 - £307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Gesthus Selfoss 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gesthus Selfoss offers warm and cozy accommodation to people visiting South Iceland. We are located in the heart of the town Selfoss.We are called "The Star of the south" because of our location between all the interesting attractions in South Iceland.Gesthus consists of 22 nice little bungalows nestled between the trees (we call it the forest). Each house can accommodate from 1 to 4 guests.Every house has its private bathroom with WC and shower, cooking facilities and refrigerator. Our guests have access to two hot tubs heated with geothermal water, which are open during the summer time.In summer time our breakfast buffet is open from 8:00-10:00 hrs in our service center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Gesthus Selfoss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gesthus Selfoss Iceland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing