We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We Found Heaven....”
Review of Hotel Grimsborgir

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Grimsborgir
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Selfoss
Certificate of Excellence
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“We Found Heaven....”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We booked this accommodation last minute as we were not sure which way we were travelling. Thankfully they were able to offer us two nights & wow was it worth it. The villas are out of this world & the hot tubs are the icing on the cake.
The owners were so friendly & made you feel really welcome.
We ate in the restaurant both nights & the food was wonderful & service first class.
We unfortunately did not see the lights, so it's an excuse to return & we will definatley be returning to this location. Thank you again, you made our trip more memorable then it already was going to be.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mart_Helly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    400
    121
    46
    13
    4
See reviews for
166
289
10
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Quite honestly, Iceland is weird. It's desolate and barren - it looks a little like I would imagine the world to look after a nuclear war. If you can find the beauty in this country, Grimsborgir is the only place to stay. It's a home away from home, and we felt very welcome. We had our own little "flat" with a living room, kitchen and bathroom, and outside we had our own hot tub. The owner is adorable and knowing we were desperate to see the Nothern Lights he drove to our flat at 11pm to tell us they were right above us. It's the small things that make a place spectacular.
We cooked in our little kitchen all but one night. The night that we ate in the restaurant was delicious. The decor, as in the "flats", was attractive and modern and the food was delicious. Grimsborgir deserves a good review because it is a class above the rest. If you find yourself in Iceland, this is the only place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J0ey3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Booked 2 bedroom apartment but got upgraded to a 4 bedroom villa which had every luxury you could think of - fantastic break! Breakfast was served in the main house and had an extensive selection. It was fantastic sitting in the large outside hot tub, watching the clear skies in total darkness with no light pollution, with the freezing temperature and gale force wind. Cleanliness, decor etc were first class - underfloor heating was really welcome!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottish-Tourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

This is defiantly the best place we have ever stayed and we travel allot!

The decor is brand new and just so tasteful. We were gievn a huge amazing house, with really modern decor!

The facilities are incredible the manager/owner went out of his way to accommodate us with getting is breakfast the night before we had to leave at 4:30am.

The water is beautiful straight out the geyser so untouched natural water to shower and bath in. The hot tub outside was such a real treat. The water here is the way all water should be your skin will feel so lovely afterwards.....

This place is gorgeous and the perfect place to see the northern lights in the middle of nowhere just you and nature!

The hotel offers meals and it’s not far from sightseeing like Gulfoss and the geyser.

If you want to get away from it all and just relax in the middle of nature...then this is the place for you.....the host is a really lovely man who is so professional and kind.

Will happily return in the future......

Room Tip: You can get a 2 bedroom to a whole house. Its worth every penny.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChellyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We cam here not knowing what to expect. The guesthouse was in a quiet period but that didn't change a thing. In fact, our host was wonderful and opened the restaurant for when we wanted, upgraded our accommodation, and was so kind. The houses themselves are superb. Well furnished, stunning surrounds and perfect location in the triangle. I recommend this hideaway to anyone - couple, family, friends.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissG_onthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

I cannot praise this place enough as it simply blew me away. Words cannot describe how beautiful this place was from scenic surroundings to fantastic accommodation. It felt like home away from home, but even better. Tranquil surroundings with the hot tub outside (even in the rain) made you feel special being there. The breakfast was of first-class and I kept coming back for more. Their hospitality was welcoming. Their website does not do them enough justice and I will certainly be recommending this place to friends and family. My only disappointment was that I only stayed for one night - if I had known how amazing this place would be in advance, I would have stayed for longer. Simply sublime.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally amazing although make sure you have a hot tub outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasbir J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Axminster, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We have just returned from 4 days in Iceland of which 3 nights were spent at Grimsborgir which is situated in a splendid setting about an hour from the capital. Warmly welcomed by Olafur, we stayed in one of the splendid bungalow chalets which has every facility you would need. Breakfast and dinner in the restaurant was superb and one of the highlights was lounging in the hot tub while enjoying an amazing display of the Northern Lights. Iceland is an incredible experience and this is a marvellous base to enjoy it from.

Room Tip: All the bungalow chalets seem excellent and are situated in a circular pattern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fraser R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selfoss
3.5 mi away
Hotel Borealis
Hotel Borealis
#3 of 8 in Selfoss
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
7.1 mi away
Frost and Fire Hotel
Frost and Fire Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hveragerdi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
9.6 mi away
ION Adventure Hotel
ION Adventure Hotel
#5 of 8 in Selfoss
3.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 mi away
Stracta Hotel Hella
Stracta Hotel Hella
#2 of 5 in Hella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hotel Selfoss
Hotel Selfoss
#2 of 8 in Selfoss
4.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
23.2 mi away
Hotel Laxnes
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grimsborgir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grimsborgir

Property: Hotel Grimsborgir
Address: Asborgir 30, Selfoss 801, Iceland (Formerly Grimsborgir Guest House)
Region: Iceland > South Region > Selfoss
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Selfoss
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grimsborgir 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Grimsborgir Luxury Apartments and Restaurant is situated in South Iceland, directly at the Golden Circle tourist route. Our accommodation types are hotel rooms, studio apartments and deluxe apartments. Hotel Grimsborgir is surrounded by beautiful Icelandic landscape with mountains and the biggest fresh water river of Iceland, the river Sog. Grimsborgir Restaurant is serving gourmet food as well as traditional Icelandic dishes, for example fresh Lamb Loin, local Salmon and Lobster and the famous Icelandic Meat Soup. Also, we serve coffee and cake as well as lunch - every day! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Grimsborgir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grimsborgir Iceland/Selfoss

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing