We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful stay at Hotel Grimsborgir”
Review of Hotel Grimsborgir

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Grimsborgir
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Selfoss
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay at Hotel Grimsborgir”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Booked a room but got upgraded to a 4 bedroom guesthouse! The house was very clean and the furnishings were modern (mostly IKEA) and new. House included a kitchen and livingroom with working fireplace. It was a very comfortable stay and well exceeded my expectations. There's also a hot tub outside. The breakfast buffet was great. Close drive to Golden Circle sites such as Gullfoss, Geysir, etc. I would recommend staying here over a smaller hotel room in Reykjavík if you're with a family and renting a car.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    400
    121
    46
    13
    4
See reviews for
166
289
10
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
140 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

It’s new, bright, clean, comfortable, and spacious, with the friendliest staff. But the best part is the dining room, breakfast at the dining room to be exact. What a perfect setting! Bathroom was huge but could use brighter lights. You have a little sitting area, like a little porch, outside the sliding door from the room. Out the front door of the building down the corridor you can take one of the many hot tubs. The room itself was floor heated and the space made it felt more like a modern cabin than a room. I think it is difficult to do any better than this around that area. If I were spending a few days exploring the Golden Circle, I would definitely stay here, beats staying in Reykjavik.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsborgir, Director of Sales at Hotel Grimsborgir, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Henry,

Thank you very much for the review, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in Iceland and your very kind words about our place and your experience. Hopefully we'll see you again!
Best regards,
María Brá Finnsdóttir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Grimsborgir is a fantastic stop. We were pleasantly surprised when they gave us a free upgrade to a 4 bedroom apartment/guesthouse. The apartment was beautiful and the service was personable. It was one of our favorite places on our 10 day trip around Iceland. We would recommend Grimsborgir to any Icelandic travelers.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brodie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsborgir, Director of Sales at Hotel Grimsborgir, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Brodie B,

Thank you very much for the lovely review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in Iceland. We appreciate the time taken to write these kind words.
Hopefully we'll see you again!

Best regards,
María Brá Finnsdóttir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I am a local Icelander and I have travelled a lot around Iceland. I feel I owe these good people a review (my first) as my wife and I stayed there this spring for a 24 hour romantic getaway. We were upgraded, not because we asked but I think simply because they had the chance and were nice to us. We got a house bigger than our own, with a huge patio and the veeeeery nice hot tub. Simply the best accommodation we have experienced in Iceland (or anywhere I guess).

Many thanks for a great stay.
Gunnar Ingi

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gunnaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsborgir, Director of Sales at Hotel Grimsborgir, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Gunnar,

Thank you very much for the review and for staying at Hotel Grimsborgir. We appreciate the kind words. We enjoy upgrading our guests if we get the opportunity. Looking forward to welcoming you again!
Takk kærlega og bestu kveðjur
María Brá Finnsdóttir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Stayed at Hotel Grimsborgir as part of our honeymoon. We were very taken with our first impressions, and began to settle in. It was a bit cold inside, so we turned up the heat...

Nothing.

We rang the office and were told that the underfloor heating was off, and would take a quite a while to get going. Fortunately, next door was free, so we were transferred to this guesthouse. This seemed a bit warmer (prob as it faced the south-west), but as the night wore on, it appeared the heat was not on here either! It's at this point you realise that no matter how many modern conveniences there are, no matter how many channels of cable, or how nice the furnishings are, these don't keep you warm.

When we awoke the next morning, the inside temperature was less than ten degrees. Thus, it appears that the heating system was not operational at all - a major problem when you're in a country called "Iceland"!! Frankly, this is beyond belief: I can understand management turning off the heating to save money when customers are not there, but why not turn it on before they are due to arrive? Or even CHECK that it is on?

There are other problems too. For example, the doors that lead onto the rear or side decking cannot be closed from the outside (seriously! there is no handle or locking mechanism when they are closed from the outside, so the door remains open), so if one wants to use the hot tub and close to doors, the only means would be to exit and enter via the front door. Frankly, I would like to use the door right next to the tub for the privacy and the avoiding of frostbite, and not have to run around the front. Both hot tubs had significant amount of leaf material in them, so seems the rooms are not being checked or maintained regularly. Also, although the house is magnificently furnished and dressed, the blinds in many cases to not fully cover the windows, and the curtains are like tissue-paper, thus not blocking either moonlight (in our case) or midnight sun.

The restaurant is very nice, with a lovely dinner, and even better breakfast. However, the thing I don't understand is: why provide a restaurant when every kitchen is well kitted out with appliances and accessories, and a BBQ out the back? Why not just provide a pantry where guests can buy food for that day? Ok, perhaps it provides guest with an option, but in light of providing the wonderful kitchen, giving guests the option of purchasing some food at the office - and avoiding the drive back into town - might be the better option.

Room Tip: The kitchen is well kitted out, so buy some food beforehand to make the most of it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsborgir, Director of Sales at Hotel Grimsborgir, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear David M,

Thank you for sharing your experience of your stay with us in Iceland. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed the dinner and breakfast buffet.
I am very sorry to hear about the inconvenience regarding the heating in the apartment. This is unusual for us, since the heating in the rooms and apartments are normally warm and comfortable.The explanation for this is that the heating system was broken in one of the houses and unfortunately we did not know about it until after your stay.
But we have had workers to come and fix this and we will try our best in the future to make sure this is always in order.

I hope we'll see you again!

Best regards
María Brá Finnsdóttir, Sales manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Djupivogur, Iceland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We were thrilled by the huge apartment we were given, with elegant decor and THREE comfortable sitting areas. Each apartment has a hot tub, beautifully situated on the enormous deck. I believe the view is great, but the mist covered it during our visit. We had a wonderful breakfast in the stylishly decorated dining room and were impressed by the hospitable helpfulness of both management and staff.

Room Tip: When we asked for a room with a bath tub, we not only got a hot tub, which is standard here, but a m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
177 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

With great reviews on TA, this was an anticipated highlight of our accommodations in Iceland - and all the more disappointing because of that. There was a lot wrong, so have listed:
1. We were told that we had been upgraded to the private 'guesthouse' behind the owners house. But this meant had to park next to the owners cars on their house drive. All other units parked directly on the level outside their accommodation. We had to walk alongside and behind the owners house (which felt unpleasant every time as they were in residence the night we were staying), and also down a number of steps to the guesthouse.
2. At first appeared to be a real treat - four bedrooms, lots of space on two floors. Due to oversight, they had not been warned about my feather allergy - so we had to await the change of all that bedding - which was thrust into my husbands hands and he was left to change it all himself! Unfortunate, but not great problem - although it was handled quite unprofessionally by the staff, with great play being made that the owner had to find bedding from her own linen cupboards for us. Surely we should not have been made to feel we were causing a problem.
3. Once we were left in the guesthouse, it quickly became apparent that it had not been cleaned for our arrival. Bedroom table tops, kitchen worktops and appliances were dirty, and and were marked, sticky and in the case of the toaster, kettle and coffee machine were too filthy to be used without cleaning. But the one blue cleaning cloth provided was too dirty to be used, and no kitchen roll provided. We had a half used pack of coffee, some tea bags and nothing else. Glass fronted kitchen cabinets had marks, stains and drips of other guests use on them, and needless to say, we did not use anything other than two cups which we scalded clean before use and had to dry with paper tissues. No toiletries provided nor any other sign that the guesthouse had been prepared for our use other than a hand wash in the bathroom.
4. The bathroom was beyond disgusting. I had to use the shower as we had no other choice - we knew of no other hotels in the near area or we would have moved on immediately. The amount of mould growing along the shower base and up the tiles - clearly the result of lack of cleaning over some months, not just dirt left from the last user - was beyond gross! Whilst showering, the drain cover came off, the shower tray was flooding as it could not drain water away quickly enough and black dirt from the internal drain floated around my feet in the rapidly increasing water level. I had to stop the shower, wait for it to drain down and then gingerly finish. Needless to say, we did not use the shower before leaving the following morning!
5. The towel rail in the bathroom had so much dust on each rail that we just used paper tissues and some napkins we had with us to try and clean it enough to be able to put a towel onto it. The skirting boards had clearly not been cleaned for a considerable period of time.
6. The bathroom is by the double front glass doors to the guesthouse - although there are curtain rails at the door, there are no curtains or blinds anywhere on that floor.(except the bedroom) With the owners were in residence at the house above us, we were unable to come in and out of the bathroom without being fully dressed as their house windows looked over us - and given that the bathroom was tiny - there were real logistic difficulties in using the filthy shower, finding somewhere clean to put our clothes whilst showering, and then trying to dry off and get dressed before we could leave the bathroom to go to the bedroom. Obviously, we were then unable to use the lounge or the bathroom in our night clothes at all, that evening, during the night or the next morning, so we found it very difficult to actually relax in the accommodation. Not having curtains at the front windows looking out over the view is fine - but at the rear looking out at the owners/road and other bungalows? We noticed the other accommodation all had privacy curtains or blinds.
7. Having driven past all the other accommodations, and seeing their individual hot tubs steaming away ready for the occupants use, we were shown an empty hot tub gull of grit and dead leaves and told how to fill it up. This seemed a further indication that we had been assigned to the guesthouse as a late decision with no preparation for our arrival.

We did eat at Grimsborgir that night - and had an excellent meal - although we were warned that there was a large party staying there, so we were placed in the cosy little dining area. We were told it was a buffet, but once sat down without any warning we were brought bowls of soup with lobster in them. I do not each fish at all, so my partner doesn't either as I hate the smell. But the staff were so put out that this soup should be rejected. They were so unprofessional - the soup removal should have been seamless and we should not have been subject to the great expressions of surprise and it made such a song and dance of! Bear in mind that we then ate little of the excellent buffet choice as we ate no fish. We loved the meat selections and the desserts were to die for.

We had complained about our dirty accommodation when we went to dinner that evening - and were asked if we wanted to have it cleaned 'again'. We refused as firstly, no amount of cleaning that night would remove the build up of many months of grime and mould in the shower and everywhere else should have been prepared already for us before we arrived. Also, we had unpacked our items and were trying to relax at dinner and did not want to have to break our meal to go back over to the guesthouse (the furthest point away and a car drive) and move items around to facilitate cleaning that should already have been done. The staff spent some time talking about our complaint and to say they made us feel uncomfortable would be an understatement.

As we returned after dinner, the owner (Christine?) came out of her house, asked about our complaints and to see the problem areas. Shown the bathroom and kitchen areas she just kept repeating "Oh, my God, Oh, my God..........." , obviously surprised at the dirt. We explained again that by then, around 8.30pm at night, we did not want to go through the upheaval of a cleaning job that was not going to help in the shower and we just wanted to get a nights sleep and get off the next morning. She seemed very understanding and apologetic.

After breakfast the next morning, we went to pay our bill and leave. The staff were surly and uncommunicative - there was no chat, there was no apology for the problems we had experienced, nor any offer to reduce our bill for the buffet the night before. We were stunned at this reaction - hardly in line with the glowing feedback for customer service we read on Trip Advisor. We are grateful that Nordic Visitor have since fully refunded us.

Have attached some photo's which show the horrible mould around the shower area, the dirty shower screen and the filthy skirting board, all of which has clearly built over some time, not just from the last user. Also the dirt on the coffee machine/ where I have wiped down the glass coffee jug to show the difference. I tried to photograph the dirty microwave, but it does not show too clearly. With hindsight, I should have photographed the drain cover and the dirty drain area as well.

Room Tip: Could not recommend after our experience - but certainly not the 'Guesthouse'!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cannicUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsborgir, Director of Sales at Hotel Grimsborgir, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Dear Guests,

This review is extremely exaggerated and unfair. Anyone can see that it does not match any of the other reviews we‘ve had. The type of person who has written this review has some other problems in their lives and takes it out on the hotel.
We started by upgrading you to a four-bedroom apartment which most of our guests would dream of getting. Beautiful apartment with the best view possible and even a private hot tub. It is one of the most popular apartments that we rent out to our guests and hundreds of guests have stayed there. We get special requests for this exact apartment.
We had not been told about the feather allergy before your arrival, but it was no problem for us at all. We handled it without hesitation and we have extra bedding for these kind of situations.
It is ridiculous to think that the owners would be looking out through their windows, spying on the guests in the guesthouse. We did not know that this was a problem for anyone and the same regarding the parking. You can go to any hotel in the world and everywhere you‘ll have to park next to another car.
Regarding the hot tub – We don‘t fill up the hot tubs for the guests if we don‘t know at what time they will be arriving or if they will even use it so we leave it up to them to decide and show everyone how they can turn it on and of course we can fill it up for them if anyone requests it.

If you were so unhappy about your stay with us in Iceland I think it‘s strange to walk away from the check-out without saying anything! We ask all of our guests how their experience was and if they say nothing we can‘t do anything about it. If you go home without mentioning these things to us and then spends hours on writing this review and making things up there is something else wrong.

Regards
María Brá Finnsdóttir
Reservations & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selfoss
3.5 mi away
Hotel Borealis
Hotel Borealis
#3 of 8 in Selfoss
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
7.1 mi away
Frost and Fire Hotel
Frost and Fire Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hveragerdi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
9.6 mi away
ION Adventure Hotel
ION Adventure Hotel
#6 of 8 in Selfoss
3.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 mi away
Stracta Hotel Hella
Stracta Hotel Hella
#2 of 5 in Hella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hotel Selfoss
Hotel Selfoss
#2 of 8 in Selfoss
4.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
23.2 mi away
Hotel Laxnes
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grimsborgir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grimsborgir

Property: Hotel Grimsborgir
Address: Asborgir 30, Selfoss 801, Iceland (Formerly Grimsborgir Guest House)
Region: Iceland > South Region > Selfoss
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Selfoss
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grimsborgir 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Grimsborgir Luxury Apartments and Restaurant is situated in South Iceland, directly at the Golden Circle tourist route. Our accommodation types are hotel rooms, studio apartments and deluxe apartments. Hotel Grimsborgir is surrounded by beautiful Icelandic landscape with mountains and the biggest fresh water river of Iceland, the river Sog. Grimsborgir Restaurant is serving gourmet food as well as traditional Icelandic dishes, for example fresh Lamb Loin, local Salmon and Lobster and the famous Icelandic Meat Soup. Also, we serve coffee and cake as well as lunch - every day! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Grimsborgir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grimsborgir Iceland/Selfoss

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing