We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Iceland Trip”
Review of Hotel Grimsborgir

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Grimsborgir
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Selfoss
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We had two cracking nights at Grimsborgir, we were a bit apprehensive due to the (unfair) review in the Lonely Planet guide. Our fears were totally unfounded, we had a huge 4 bed bungalow, we phoned ahead on the first night & the hot tub was full & steaming on our arrival, wonderful after a days driving & sightseeing. The second night there was a complete power failure so everything was candlelight in the restaurant for the hour or so it took to fix. Hotel team totally professional and the added ambiance of candles made the evening all the better, so much so that when the power came back on we switched the lights off to remain in candlelight. Big advantage for our bungalow was the lounge facing North West enabling watching the Northern Lights from the comfort of a cosy room & comfortable armchair. Would highly recommend to anyone wishing for a higher end exclusive experience, only comment is the expense of food & drink but no more expensive here than anywhere else in Iceland - thanks for a great time, we all really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (646)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

414 - 420 of 646 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2013

Booked a room but got upgraded to a 4 bedroom guesthouse! The house was very clean and the furnishings were modern (mostly IKEA) and new. House included a kitchen and livingroom with working fireplace. It was a very comfortable stay and well exceeded my expectations. There's also a hot tub outside. The breakfast buffet was great. Close drive to Golden Circle sites such as Gullfoss, Geysir, etc. I would recommend staying here over a smaller hotel room in Reykjavík if you're with a family and renting a car.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

It’s new, bright, clean, comfortable, and spacious, with the friendliest staff. But the best part is the dining room, breakfast at the dining room to be exact. What a perfect setting! Bathroom was huge but could use brighter lights. You have a little sitting area, like a little porch, outside the sliding door from the room. Out the front door of the building down the corridor you can take one of the many hot tubs. The room itself was floor heated and the space made it felt more like a modern cabin than a room. I think it is difficult to do any better than this around that area. If I were spending a few days exploring the Golden Circle, I would definitely stay here, beats staying in Reykjavik.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henry Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsborgir, Director of Sales at Hotel Grimsborgir, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear Henry,

Thank you very much for the review, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in Iceland and your very kind words about our place and your experience. Hopefully we'll see you again!
Best regards,
María Brá Finnsdóttir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Grimsborgir is a fantastic stop. We were pleasantly surprised when they gave us a free upgrade to a 4 bedroom apartment/guesthouse. The apartment was beautiful and the service was personable. It was one of our favorite places on our 10 day trip around Iceland. We would recommend Grimsborgir to any Icelandic travelers.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brodie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsborgir, Director of Sales at Hotel Grimsborgir, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear Brodie B,

Thank you very much for the lovely review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in Iceland. We appreciate the time taken to write these kind words.
Hopefully we'll see you again!

Best regards,
María Brá Finnsdóttir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I am a local Icelander and I have travelled a lot around Iceland. I feel I owe these good people a review (my first) as my wife and I stayed there this spring for a 24 hour romantic getaway. We were upgraded, not because we asked but I think simply because they had the chance and were nice to us. We got a house bigger than our own, with a huge patio and the veeeeery nice hot tub. Simply the best accommodation we have experienced in Iceland (or anywhere I guess).

Many thanks for a great stay.
Gunnar Ingi

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gunnaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsborgir, Director of Sales at Hotel Grimsborgir, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear Gunnar,

Thank you very much for the review and for staying at Hotel Grimsborgir. We appreciate the kind words. We enjoy upgrading our guests if we get the opportunity. Looking forward to welcoming you again!
Takk kærlega og bestu kveðjur
María Brá Finnsdóttir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Stayed at Hotel Grimsborgir as part of our honeymoon. We were very taken with our first impressions, and began to settle in. It was a bit cold inside, so we turned up the heat...

Nothing.

We rang the office and were told that the underfloor heating was off, and would take a quite a while to get going. Fortunately, next door was free, so we were transferred to this guesthouse. This seemed a bit warmer (prob as it faced the south-west), but as the night wore on, it appeared the heat was not on here either! It's at this point you realise that no matter how many modern conveniences there are, no matter how many channels of cable, or how nice the furnishings are, these don't keep you warm.

When we awoke the next morning, the inside temperature was less than ten degrees. Thus, it appears that the heating system was not operational at all - a major problem when you're in a country called "Iceland"!! Frankly, this is beyond belief: I can understand management turning off the heating to save money when customers are not there, but why not turn it on before they are due to arrive? Or even CHECK that it is on?

There are other problems too. For example, the doors that lead onto the rear or side decking cannot be closed from the outside (seriously! there is no handle or locking mechanism when they are closed from the outside, so the door remains open), so if one wants to use the hot tub and close to doors, the only means would be to exit and enter via the front door. Frankly, I would like to use the door right next to the tub for the privacy and the avoiding of frostbite, and not have to run around the front. Both hot tubs had significant amount of leaf material in them, so seems the rooms are not being checked or maintained regularly. Also, although the house is magnificently furnished and dressed, the blinds in many cases to not fully cover the windows, and the curtains are like tissue-paper, thus not blocking either moonlight (in our case) or midnight sun.

The restaurant is very nice, with a lovely dinner, and even better breakfast. However, the thing I don't understand is: why provide a restaurant when every kitchen is well kitted out with appliances and accessories, and a BBQ out the back? Why not just provide a pantry where guests can buy food for that day? Ok, perhaps it provides guest with an option, but in light of providing the wonderful kitchen, giving guests the option of purchasing some food at the office - and avoiding the drive back into town - might be the better option.

Room Tip: The kitchen is well kitted out, so buy some food beforehand to make the most of it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsborgir, Director of Sales at Hotel Grimsborgir, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Dear David M,

Thank you for sharing your experience of your stay with us in Iceland. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed the dinner and breakfast buffet.
I am very sorry to hear about the inconvenience regarding the heating in the apartment. This is unusual for us, since the heating in the rooms and apartments are normally warm and comfortable.The explanation for this is that the heating system was broken in one of the houses and unfortunately we did not know about it until after your stay.
But we have had workers to come and fix this and we will try our best in the future to make sure this is always in order.

I hope we'll see you again!

Best regards
María Brá Finnsdóttir, Sales manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We were thrilled by the huge apartment we were given, with elegant decor and THREE comfortable sitting areas. Each apartment has a hot tub, beautifully situated on the enormous deck. I believe the view is great, but the mist covered it during our visit. We had a wonderful breakfast in the stylishly decorated dining room and were impressed by the hospitable helpfulness of both management and staff.

Room Tip: When we asked for a room with a bath tub, we not only got a hot tub, which is standard here, but a m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selfoss
29.5 mi away
ION Adventure Hotel
ION Adventure Hotel
#6 of 8 in Selfoss
854 reviews
7.1 mi away
Frost and Fire Hotel
Frost and Fire Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hveragerdi
665 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Borealis
Hotel Borealis
#3 of 8 in Selfoss
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 mi away
Stracta Hotel
Stracta Hotel
#2 of 5 in Hella
550 reviews
8 mi away
Hotel Selfoss
Hotel Selfoss
#2 of 8 in Selfoss
438 reviews
23.2 mi away
Hotel Laxnes
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grimsborgir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grimsborgir

Address: Asborgir 30, Selfoss 801, Iceland (Formerly Grimsborgir Guest House)
Region: Iceland > South Region > Selfoss
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Selfoss
Price Range: £376 - £513 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grimsborgir 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Grimsborgir Luxury Apartments and Restaurant is situated in South Iceland, directly at the Golden Circle tourist route. Our accommodation types are hotel rooms, studio apartments and deluxe apartments. Hotel Grimsborgir is surrounded by beautiful Icelandic landscape with mountains and the biggest fresh water river of Iceland, the river Sog. Grimsborgir Restaurant is serving gourmet food as well as traditional Icelandic dishes, for example fresh Lamb Loin, local Salmon and Lobster and the famous Icelandic Meat Soup. Also, we serve coffee and cake as well as lunch - every day! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Grimsborgir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grimsborgir Iceland/Selfoss

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing