We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place”
Review of Hotel Grimsborgir

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Grimsborgir
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Selfoss
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Pictures on the website are true to the real thing! Very comfortable, warm and clean, all amenities provided as described online. Definitely recommend these appartments, great for large groups. Buffet breakfast in the morning also great, hot and cold food served until you're full! Very close to good attractions, easy to drive from keflavik airport.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank roshi3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (633)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

361 - 367 of 633 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2014

We loved our one night stay here in one of the double rooms. The room and bathroom are spacious and maintained to very high standards. The double rooms are in an individual block which share four hot tubs that were nice and hot - a welcome treat after a cold windy day in Iceland!

The food in the restaurant for dinner and breakfast were excellent however the prices are expensive even for Iceland standards. This includes the drinks and minibar prices, so if you don't want to spend $24US on a single shot of liquor or $55US for a standard bottle of wine, I suggest bringing some of your own to enjoy in your room/apartment.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Damien R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

clean and spacious guesthouse at a decent price. Outdoor hot tub was excellent. Breakfast was really good, choice was limited compared to other hotels like Hilton, but the quality was very good.
Location wise, it is sort of in the middle of nowhere, which is good for northern light sightings. Managed to see the northern light from the window. It is about an hours drive from Reykjavik and around 10 minutes from Selfoss.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jhc522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Went there with a group of friends, we stayed at a big house with a extra guesthouse attach to the house it self. We had such a wonderful time, and every thing was so perfect a luxury house, hot tub, great service everything perfect!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sigga L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I traveled to Iceland with my fiancé, my best friend and her fiancé for our 30th birthday trip. After a long red eye flight from NYC we were greeted by Olaf - the nicest hotel owner/manager - and had a delicious breakfast. He then showed us on a map all of the sites near Selfoss and then took us to our huge guest cottage. I am used to tiny hotel rooms but we had a huge 4 bedroom house with a huge kitchen, dining room, living room, deck, hot tub, TV area, powder room, and main bathroom. It was decorated nicely and the kitchen was well stocked with plates, cups, and utensils. Our stay was so relaxing. The breakfast every morning had everything on your wish list – espresso, cappuccino, healthy juice shots (yes healthy juice shots), mimosas, pastries, delicious eggs, bacon, etc. I could go on and on. It helped fuel us to start our day sightseeing – places all close to the hotel. After a full day we would travel back to the Grimsborgir and fill up the hot tub and relax. One night we saw the Northern Lights right above our cottage! If you are planning a trip to Iceland stay at the Grimsborgir for 3-4 nights, rent a 4x4 truck, see the sights, then head to the capital. It is way better than sitting on a tour bus all morning and afternoon.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashley_rumble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

After an exhausting couple of days, the Grimsborgir was a lovely way to relax The staff were extremely helpful, the room was lovely ( although the bath water smelt of sulphur…no their fault). The hot tub outside the bedroom was hot enough for us to sit in in a bikini when everyone else were in snowsuits. They even served us sandwiches and fruit whilst we were using it. The food was excellent and they were very accommodating when we wanted to choose another main course which was not included in our deal. The views were stunning, definitely dark enough to see the Northern Lights. It is a guest house and not a hotel so therefore there was no telephone in the room and we did need to walk to a different building to get to and from reception/dining room. Would not hesitate in recommending it and look forward to staying there again! Thank you

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacey2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We had a fantastic couple of days at Grimsborgir as part of our honeymoon in Iceland. The location is amazing. Secluded but close to all the sights for exploring. The restaurant and breakfast are great. The staff couldn't be more helpful and welcoming. The cottage we stayed in was brilliant with everything and more that we could have wanted. We slept very well!

We were lucky enough to see a fantastic display of the northern lights from our hot pot outside the cottage!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hapsci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selfoss
7.1 mi away
Frost and Fire Hotel
Frost and Fire Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hveragerdi
641 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Borealis
Hotel Borealis
#3 of 8 in Selfoss
224 reviews
9.6 mi away
ION Adventure Hotel
ION Adventure Hotel
#6 of 8 in Selfoss
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 mi away
Stracta Hotel
Stracta Hotel
#2 of 5 in Hella
530 reviews
13.2 mi away
Fosshotel Hekla
Fosshotel Hekla
#4 of 8 in Selfoss
347 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hotel Selfoss
Hotel Selfoss
#2 of 8 in Selfoss
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grimsborgir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grimsborgir

Address: Asborgir 30, Selfoss 801, Iceland (Formerly Grimsborgir Guest House)
Region: Iceland > South Region > Selfoss
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Selfoss
Price Range: £375 - £794 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grimsborgir 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Grimsborgir Luxury Apartments and Restaurant is situated in South Iceland, directly at the Golden Circle tourist route. Our accommodation types are hotel rooms, studio apartments and deluxe apartments. Hotel Grimsborgir is surrounded by beautiful Icelandic landscape with mountains and the biggest fresh water river of Iceland, the river Sog. Grimsborgir Restaurant is serving gourmet food as well as traditional Icelandic dishes, for example fresh Lamb Loin, local Salmon and Lobster and the famous Icelandic Meat Soup. Also, we serve coffee and cake as well as lunch - every day! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Grimsborgir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grimsborgir Iceland/Selfoss

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing