We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay at Grimsborgir”
Review of Hotel Grimsborgir

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Grimsborgir
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Selfoss
Certificate of Excellence
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely stay at Grimsborgir”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stayed at Grimsborgir on Friday and Saturday night. The 2 bedroom suite was perfect for us and it was a great location to explore that part of Iceland. The staff were great - very friendly and very happy to talk through the local area and places to visit. We ate at the both evenings and the food was delicious. I would echo the comments made by the Chaput family (loved the breakfasts, including the health shots, would like a bit less Michael Buble!!) but in all honesty I was sorry to leave it on Sunday morning - we will definitely come back and I can strongly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The 2 bedroom suites are spacious enough if there are 4 of you maximum. For more space, you can try...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen_I_94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    408
    129
    47
    15
    5
See reviews for
170
300
10
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I can't say enough nice things about the Hotel Grimsborgir. There is such pride in ownership that is evident in the entire establishment. We were welcomed by Olafur, one of the owners. He showed us our incredibly spacious 4 bedroom house and gave us the lay of the land. It was so nice to have that much space for our kids to play and adults to relax. Our house was straight out of an IKEA showroom with comfortable and beautiful furnishings and modern appliances. We were able to cook in the kitchen, which was stocked with everything you'd need to prepare and clean up a meal. I loved the heated floors EVERYWHERE! My only wish was to have had robes and slippers provided like some resorts do, but I would expect that would be difficult to keep up with since it is independently owned. If that matters to you, plan on bringing your own. We especially loved the private hot tub and spent every night stargazing and looking for the northern lights. We were fortunate enough to have quite a magnificent display one night right over our hot pot. Breakfast is included and is delightful. Actually it's quite an impressive spread considering the remoteness. There are many choices of hot and cold items such as pastries (killer pain au chocolat), fresh fruit, meats, cheeses, eggs, sausage, cereal, and skyr (Iceland's yogurt). I am only remembering a few, but my favorites were the health shots (completely fun) and the machine that would make me a fantastic latte by just pushing a button. I was particularly impressed with the friendliness of the staff and the attention to detail. I could do without Michael Buble playing every morning on the CD player…just saying. On our last morning, there were even fresh roses in vases on the tables. This is Iceland for goodness sake! I know there is a village somewhat close that produces unbelievable horticulture because they harvest the geothermal resources to their greenhouses, but I want them to know at the Grimsborgir that their effort and attention to detail was not lost on me there. Grimsborgir is located outside of Selfoss, so you need your own rental car to get to/from the airport and around the area. These are absolutely top notch accommodations for anywhere, but especially for Iceland. We had so many memorable adventures, and this was an excellent place to call home while we explored.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Chaput_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGrimsborgir, Director of Sales at Hotel Grimsborgir, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Chaput family,

thank you for such a lovely review! We are happy to hear that you have had a nice stay with us and that you liked the accommodation and the breakfast at our restaurant.
Maybe you will visit us again in the future!

Best regards,
Christiane Luise Mueller
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft. Lauderdale, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

First, make sure you print directions to take with you. I forgot and assumed the property was in Selfoss, but it's a few miles outside of town. But we asked around and found it after a little trial and error. It's a nice location, on the road to Thingvellir National Park. And it's dark, so you can see the Northern Lights when they're out. A great place to stay if you're doing the Golden Circle. Our room was lovely and very clean but smelled quite strongly of cigarette smoke. In fact, the clothes that were in our luggage that we didn't even take out smelled like smoke when we got home. I know that hotel management can't stop determined guests from smoking, and maybe whoever cleaned the room didn't notice or say anything to have the room deodorized. But it was pretty bad. Otherwise it was perfect. The staff was very helpful, and one evening the young woman from the front desk came and knocked on our door so that we knew that the Northern Lights were out. Even though the forecast that night was for no lights and cloudy weather, it turned out to be the best night of lights during our visit. A robe in the room would be nice given that there are hot tubs (which we didn't use). Breakfast was fine and the dining area had a very nice feel to it. We'd definitely stay here again if we were doing the Golden Circle.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank srjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGrimsborgir, Director of Sales at Hotel Grimsborgir, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear guests from Florida,

thank you for your review, we really appreciate it.
It is nice to hear that you liked your stay with us and that you are planning to come back. Of course we would like to apologize for the cigarette smell which is really unacceptable and I can only imagine that it spoiled your stay quite a bit. I regret that you haven't contacted us straight away when you noticed the smell, we could have probably moved you in another accommodation.

We still hope that you took home wonderful memories from our hotel and Iceland and hope to see you again one day!

Best regards,
Christiane Luise Mueller
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We recently travelled to Iceland. My husband and I arrived on a Wednesday night, and our son and his wife arrived on Thursday. We had booked the double room suite but on arrival we were upgraded to the beautiful 4 bedroom suite with such lovely facilities. We had dinner at the restaurant which was delicious and even though we had planned to cook for ourselves we ended up eating at the restaurant a couple of times.
I guess it seems a bit pricey but considering the location and the standard of the hotel I considered it well worth the expense.
The staff are lovely and nothing was too much trouble. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGrimsborgir, Director of Sales at Hotel Grimsborgir, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear guests,

thank you for your nice review, it is a pleasure to hear that you were so happy with your stay at our hotel and with the food in our restaurant. Maybe we will see you again some day.

Best regards,
Christiane Luise Mueller
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

We booked this for one night while we ventured out to see the Golden Circle and South Shore. We were really hoping to see the Northern Lights but didn't get lucky the night we were there! We booked a King Room and we loved it! It looks exactly like the photos except even better. It is so cute, comfy and really clean. We had some trouble getting up to the area because of the weather and the staff was really helpful and accommodating. We did not eat dinner at the restaurant as we had a late lunch. The restaurant is a little on the more upscale side and we didn't really have nice dinner clothes with us but the menu and decor looked lovely. We ended up driving 10 minutes or so back into Selfoss to the grocery store and picked up some snacks instead and we also brought our own wine with us so we could sit on the patio and hot tub to enjoy the view and look for the lights. The bed was really comfortable and breakfast the next morning was fantastic. This night was probably the highlight of our Iceland trip! Everything was so perfect.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ccctravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGrimsborgir, Director of Sales at Hotel Grimsborgir, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Courtney,

thank you for your wonderful review about your stay at Hótel Grímsborgir. We are so happy that you managed to come here for one night and that everything worked out fine. Hopefully you had a nice overall experience in Iceland and took some great memories home to Texas!

Best regards,
Christiane Luise Mueller
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I booked a 1-2 bedroom apartment at Grimsborgir, via All-Iceland (which were brilliant at organising the whole Iceland trip for me) for 3 nights for my partner and I. When we got there, we were upgraded to a 4 bedroom apartment!! It was huge and simply fantastic! It had everything you could wish for (and more!) and was spotlessly clean. I cannot fault the place. Everything aout it was more than we could wish for. The views of the surrounding mountains were lovely and there were so many windows in the apartment that wherever you were you could admire the scenery. Grimsborgir itself is perfect if you are on a self drive holiday and wish to visit the Golden circle and want to be away from city lights (which we did because we were hoping to see the Northern lights). We were very lucky and saw the lights every night that we were there!! The apartment was surrounded by decking which was great for watching the aurora from every angle. The hot tub was amazing!! With about minus 2 degrees outside (air temperature), the water was and stayed very hot and it was just a lovely experience! The breakfast in the main restaurant was perfect too. Sweet or savoury, there was plenty of choice and everything tasted delicious! And finally, we found all Icelanders to be very friendly and helpful. Many thanks to the manager who helped us with a few phone calls during our stay. I cannot recommend Grimsborgir enough! If we ever go back to Iceland we will definitely book here again!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emilie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGrimsborgir, Director of Sales at Hotel Grimsborgir, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Emilie,

thank you for your delightful review about your stay at Hótel Grímsborgir. It is always nice to hear about pleasant experiences and your words about our property and service are very kind. We are happy that you got so lucky to see the Northern Lights every day of your stay, that is really special. I am sure that you took home many lovely memories!
Thank you also for submitting the photo, it´s wonderful.

You are more than welcome to visit us again in the future! Bring some friends and family :)

Best regards,
Christiane Luise Mueller
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Pictures on the website are true to the real thing! Very comfortable, warm and clean, all amenities provided as described online. Definitely recommend these appartments, great for large groups. Buffet breakfast in the morning also great, hot and cold food served until you're full! Very close to good attractions, easy to drive from keflavik airport.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank roshi3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selfoss
3.5 mi away
Hotel Borealis
Hotel Borealis
#3 of 8 in Selfoss
200 reviews
9.6 mi away
ION Adventure Hotel
ION Adventure Hotel
#6 of 8 in Selfoss
769 reviews
7.1 mi away
Frost and Fire Hotel
Frost and Fire Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hveragerdi
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 mi away
Stracta Hotel Hella
Stracta Hotel Hella
#2 of 5 in Hella
479 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hotel Selfoss
Hotel Selfoss
#2 of 8 in Selfoss
392 reviews
13.2 mi away
Fosshotel Hekla
Fosshotel Hekla
#4 of 8 in Selfoss
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grimsborgir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grimsborgir

Property: Hotel Grimsborgir
Address: Asborgir 30, Selfoss 801, Iceland (Formerly Grimsborgir Guest House)
Region: Iceland > South Region > Selfoss
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Selfoss
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grimsborgir 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Grimsborgir Luxury Apartments and Restaurant is situated in South Iceland, directly at the Golden Circle tourist route. Our accommodation types are hotel rooms, studio apartments and deluxe apartments. Hotel Grimsborgir is surrounded by beautiful Icelandic landscape with mountains and the biggest fresh water river of Iceland, the river Sog. Grimsborgir Restaurant is serving gourmet food as well as traditional Icelandic dishes, for example fresh Lamb Loin, local Salmon and Lobster and the famous Icelandic Meat Soup. Also, we serve coffee and cake as well as lunch - every day! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Grimsborgir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grimsborgir Iceland/Selfoss

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing