We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Place!”
Review of Hotel Grimsborgir

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Grimsborgir
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Selfoss
Certificate of Excellence
Oakville, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing Place!”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We recently stayed here on a ten day tour through Iceland. Beautiful setting with snipes whizzing everywhere and gorgeous vistas. Loved the elegant sparse decor of our room and the pink table clothes and blue dishes of the dining room. Service was excellent and food delicious. Yummy self serve breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatriciaL6L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    413
    137
    47
    15
    5
See reviews for
176
303
11
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

That was a really fabulous experience. Very nice, big, clean cottages in the picturesque place. It will be perfect for big families. Hot tubes with thermal water is something fantastic. Nice cozy restaurant with great food. Best croissants in the world!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LBudanova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights in February 2014 and absolutely loved it. We stayed in one of the main apartments. It was beautifully decorated, clean and comfortable. There was also a hot tub outside that was fun - you can relax after dinner and wait for the Northern lights to appear! Staff were very friendly and helpful, and the food was excellent. Makes a great base for exploring the Golden Circle. We were sad to have to leave and hope to return again soon!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed there the first three days of our week here, we knew whilst leaving that this setting and the people around us would create a benchmark. Located perfectly to explore the Golden Circle, great facilities, great location - highly recommended!!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank W19oSo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peebles, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

A great 2 night stay as part of our honeymoon! We were upgraded to studio no9 on arrival & found it to be very clean & spacious. The food was great both evenings as was breakfast. The staff were all polite & pleasant. Would recommend & would return!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig_Sus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co Down
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stay in one of the 4 bedroom bungalows for 3 nights. This bungalow was amazing, there is so much space and beautifully decorated. Each bungalow has its own hot tub which we made use of. TV is available with English channels, Wifi worked well and the uninterupted views are wonderfull. We had breakfast each morning and having read some previous reviews about it being at the back of the owners accomodation I was a bit anxious about what it would be like, however the breakfast room, yes in a bungalow which houses both the breakfast room/ restaurant and reception is charming. Breakfast is continental and set out in a kitchen area, but this is so fanatastic, I do not know how visitors could fail to be charmed by it. Breakfast was very good and very much to my taste, there is plenty available and eating breakfast while looking at the view is great. The staff were very pleasant without being intrusive.
Dont think twice about booking this property it is wonderful and very accessible to the National Park, the Geysirs and Gullfoss. Selfoss is about 5 miles away and has everything you need, check out Kaffee Kurtis. Also while in the area try and visit the geothermal power plant it is so interesting.

Room Tip: It is worth booking the larger bunaglow if you are staying several nights and you have 4+ adults in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quilter9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

These apartments were truly exceptional although we were spoilt by having 4 adults in a spacious apartment for at least 7. The views from the living area of the surrounding hills were 270 degrees giving a real feel for openness and wilderness - also from the great hot tub enjoyed in very cold conditions! Although the only place to eat for miles around, the restaurant was also superb and the menu extensive enough for three nights of varied eating - though more limited if your don't eat fish!

Staff were very friendly and put real effort into investigating options for excursions for us.

Location great for the Golden Circle including pingvellir, Gullfoss and geyser ( almost missed the very nearby but really worth visiting Kerid volcano crater) but we also went as far as Vik along the coast (several big waterfalls and, for a day by itself, to the recently erupted Eyjafjallajokull) comfortably in a day return.

Room Tip: Go for the larger apartment and enjoy the space, views and hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selfoss
3.5 mi away
Hotel Borealis
Hotel Borealis
#3 of 8 in Selfoss
210 reviews
9.6 mi away
ION Adventure Hotel
ION Adventure Hotel
#6 of 8 in Selfoss
788 reviews
7.1 mi away
Frost and Fire Hotel
Frost and Fire Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hveragerdi
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 mi away
Stracta Hotel Hella
Stracta Hotel Hella
#2 of 5 in Hella
502 reviews
13.2 mi away
Fosshotel Hekla
Fosshotel Hekla
#4 of 8 in Selfoss
334 reviews
27.0 mi away
Hotel Geysir
Hotel Geysir
#5 of 8 in Selfoss
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grimsborgir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grimsborgir

Property: Hotel Grimsborgir
Address: Asborgir 30, Selfoss 801, Iceland (Formerly Grimsborgir Guest House)
Region: Iceland > South Region > Selfoss
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Selfoss
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grimsborgir 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Grimsborgir Luxury Apartments and Restaurant is situated in South Iceland, directly at the Golden Circle tourist route. Our accommodation types are hotel rooms, studio apartments and deluxe apartments. Hotel Grimsborgir is surrounded by beautiful Icelandic landscape with mountains and the biggest fresh water river of Iceland, the river Sog. Grimsborgir Restaurant is serving gourmet food as well as traditional Icelandic dishes, for example fresh Lamb Loin, local Salmon and Lobster and the famous Icelandic Meat Soup. Also, we serve coffee and cake as well as lunch - every day! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Grimsborgir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grimsborgir Iceland/Selfoss

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing