We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Vatnsholt
Nearby Hotels
Minniborgir Cottages(Selfoss)(Great Value!)
US$321
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$280
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Guesthouse Bitra B&B(Selfoss)(Great Value!)
US$154
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Gullfoss(Selfoss)(Great Value!)
US$190
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$184
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Borealis(Selfoss)(Great Value!)
US$105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fosshotel Hekla(Selfoss)(Great Value!)
US$244
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$211
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gesthus Selfoss(Selfoss)(Great Value!)
US$148
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arctic Nature Hotel(Selfoss)(Great Value!)
US$261
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$185
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Selfoss(Selfoss)(Great Value!)
US$154
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$624
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$514
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$528
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$508
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (232)
Filter reviews
232 results
Traveller rating
102
82
29
15
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
102
82
29
15
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsarctic foxtable tennisone nightspa bathfarm animalsrelaxing propertyminutes' drivefriendly animalsping pongnorthern lightsmain buildingrural settingunique place to staydegree viewfarm hotelwafflescommon room
Filter
Updating list...
97 - 102 of 232 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2014

After a very long detor trying to get to Vatnsholt we were excited to get to the hotel we had booked 2+ months in advance. We drove up to the property and immediatly noticed its a bit run down and the small private cabin we reserved was very, very close to the other cabins. We also noticed a huge tour bus with lots of children playing in the yard. We went to check in and were told they were overbooked, even though we paid our deposit and confirmed our reservations. The part that makes me give a "poor" to this establishment is they could have called, emailed or done anything to let us know they were not going to be giving us a room that night. Instead we had to drive out of our way and waste all that time. Things happen for a reason perhaps because we went to another hotel 15 mins down the road which was AMAZING, so see my other review of that. I think the price we had confirmed at for the Vatnsholt was wayyyyy over priced as well.

If you want a 100% confirmed reservation or to have the hotel be courteous to your time dont book here!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank KATELYN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stayed here for one night during our trip to Iceland March 2014 and it was my favorite place we stayed! The owners are so friendly! Upon arriving at night, we were greeted by 3 super friendly dogs that live there, and the owners made us an AMAZING cod fish dinner.

Our room was very clean and had two big windows which was perfect for our northern lights stakeout. The owners even offered to come knock on our door in the middle of the night if they spotted the northern lights. We unfortunately did not see any that night, but our stay on the farm was still wonderful.

In the morning they had a big breakfast buffet with waffles. After breakfast, we were curious about the animals on the farm, so the owners had one of the girls give us a tour around the farm. I am an animal lover so I loved getting to see all of their animals. Before we left, the girls at the front desk were very helpful and gave us directions to some of the local waterfalls we should see.

Overall, it was a wonderful stay! I definitely want to stay here again next time I am in Iceland!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kparnin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We were the only ones checked in and they upgraded us to the room upstairs with ensuite. Really nice room, but no TV. Room has a spa bath, although the spa part didn't work so just a tub. Radiator heat was good. Room extremely clean. Staff were very friendly. Around 9pm we heard a lot of commotion and looked outside and there were 7 tour buses of people right outside the room on a Northern Lights tour. They dispersed around the farm and stayed for 2-3 hours. We did see the Northern lights twice that night from the windows/skylight in the hotel room. Dinner and breakfast were great and the owner gave us excellent travel tips for the next day. Great stay.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Stayed here for one night as part of our journey around the ring road. Staff and accommodations were lovely. There weren’t many people staying here at the time, so we were given a room within one of the larger apartment style rooms which had a kitchen and a common area. Bedding was comfy and breakfast the next morning was very tasty- nice selection of foods to accommodate variety of tastes (including peanut butter!). Overall, would stay here again, highly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimc1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

- An amazing place to get the true guest house experience
- The best breakfeast in a guest house
- We had an 1.5hour chat with both the owners, hanging out and discussing iceland (Johan is very knowledgable)
- When we return to Iceland, we will without a doubt spend as much time here as possible

Firstly, we arrived at the guesthouse and asked about the little house posted. Simple cabins in the middle of nowhere. Though we didn't have this booked, Margaret immediately and very happily allowed us!

Being a vegetarian, the dinner was perfect - they asked exactly what I wanted and added some creativity to it.

The actual guesthouse is extremely clean/beautifully decorated/a true home. They even had a ping-pong table!

We were worried being a couple about this guesthouse. That was the biggest mistake because this place was very fun, cool and a wonderful way to learn about iceland.

Overall a 8/5. We will be returning to this house when we come back to Iceland.

Room Tip: The cabins were VERY small despite looking very attractive. Worth it though if you're there for only 1 night.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maha m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews