We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B&B Selfoss - Great for School trips!”
Review of Selfoss Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Selfoss Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We spent 4 nights at the B&B Selfoss last week. Our school party of 45 really enjoyed their stay at the accommodation. The highlight had to be the delicious homecooked meals - mountains of freshly cooked waffles for breakfast, a huge selection of food for packed lunches and wonderful suppers of soups, local sausages, homemade burgers and pizzas. Rasa and Lena who run the hostel were very welcoming and helpful. The bedrooms were basic but included very comfortable beds and the shower rooms were kept spotless. A really excellent choice for large groups. Thank you.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cviner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2013

We had such a great time here! The staff was extremely friendly. The hostel was pleasantly decorated which gave us a very cosy feeling. Rooms were crispy clean and the bathrooms looked as one in a 5/star hotel! All the facilities were very good and clean. They took the time to show us around and gave us recommendations about the area. We stayed two nights here and after our whole ring road trip this was very relaxing.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cleo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Large rooms if you have a double but the dorms are cramped, this well located (for the Golden Circle) hostel was a lovely place to stay. It had a mix of old and young travelers and the best common facilities of the four hostels of which we stayed (Akeyuri, Berunes and Skogar the others- avoid Skogar!)

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kelehb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Selfoss B&B (listed as "Selfoss Hostel" here) is B&B in name only, it's primarily a youth hostel, although one with relatively good facilities. Unfortunately when we stayed there was a large school group staying which, assuming we were staying at a B&B, was an unwelcome surprise.

It was extremely noisy and no one had tried to clear up the shoes at the main entrance which we had to literally step over to enter the hostel (photo attached)

We booked a twin and a double room but ended up with two double beds (although we didn't attempt to resolve this error with management). The service wasn't great, we arrived on Easter Monday and asked if there were any restaurants open. The receptionist was short with as and said in no uncertain terms that there were no options and the hostel meal was the only chance we'd have for food. A quick search on Google suggested this advice wasn't accurate and a five minute walk proved them wrong. A 15 minute walk proved them repeatedly wrong.

The rooms are small for a B&B and average for a hostel.

Based on quality of service and inaccurate advertising of the property on many booking sites, I can't recommend this property.

Same property listed as a B&B - http://www.booking.com/hotel/is/selfoss-b-and-b.en.html

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TSLee53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

We were so disappointed to discover that this 'B&B' is actually an international hostel. Very expensive for a hostel. They don't serve breakfast in winter because 'there are not enough people' despite calling themselves a 'B&B'. They told us to walk to a bakery opposite the road and buy ourselves breakfast. We were not impressed with this especially when we paid a lot of money for our room. I would not recommend you to stay at this place if you're expecting a B&B service. Bedsheet was dirty with dried blood but the showers were pleasant. Good location - near to centre and geothermal pool.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattcbray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

This hostel was fantastic inside and definitely exceeded our expectations. The beds were comfortable and the pillows were good. The bathrooms were fantastic and worthy of a five star hotel. The kitchen was well equipped although may have seemed small when hostel was busy. The hostel was the warmest of the three hostels we stayed in this time.

Staff were fantastic with recommendations and welcomes especially as we were very difficult arriving extremely late at night! (sorry!) other guests friendly and we had a lovely time in Selfoss using it as start and end point for exploring the south of iceland. Eat at Kaffi Krus and shop at the relatively cheap Kronan. Watch the local teenagers skateboard around the park at bottom of bridge by the church - very entertaining.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank TheFabFour18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

This was the nicest hostel we stayed at in Iceland. The room was basic (it's a hostel) but there was a cozy sitting area down the hall and the bathrooms were clean and plentiful. The front desk woman was very friendly and took the time to help us plan our route around the Golden Circle the next day and also told us where some natural hot pools were in the mountains. The bed was comfortable and we had a great sleep. Nothing negative to say about this place.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Selfoss hotels
11.4 mi away
Hotel Borealis
Hotel Borealis
#3 of 8 in Selfoss
243 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Selfoss
Hotel Selfoss
#2 of 8 in Selfoss
438 reviews
14.2 mi away
Fosshotel Hekla
Fosshotel Hekla
#5 of 8 in Selfoss
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Arctic Nature Hotel
Arctic Nature Hotel
#7 of 8 in Selfoss
64 reviews
31.7 mi away
ION Adventure Hotel
ION Adventure Hotel
#6 of 8 in Selfoss
865 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bella Apartments&Rooms
Bella Apartments&Rooms
#3 of 27 in Selfoss
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Selfoss Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Selfoss Apartments

Address: Austurvegur 36, Selfoss 800, Iceland
Region: Iceland > South Region > Selfoss
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Selfoss
Price Range: £49 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Current property and room descriptions Quick description Situated by Route 1 in central Selfoss, this B&B offers free parking, free Wi-Fi access and brightly decorated guest rooms. The Selfoss Geothermal Swimming Pool is 350 metres away. Rooms at Selfoss B&B have views of either the garden or Ingolfsfjall Mountain. Each has an in-room sink and access to shared bathroom and kitchen facilities. Light meals, homemade cakes and drinks are served at the in-house cafe. Breakfast is served each morning at B&B Selfoss. Packed lunches are available on site. Relaxation options include a garden hot tub and a common TV room. Staff can help arrange trips in the surrounding area. The Bobby Fischer Chess Museum is 1 minutes' walk away. Selfoss Golf Centre is 1.1 Km from the B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Selfoss Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Selfoss Apartments Iceland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing