We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
Review of Fosshotel Hekla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fosshotel Hekla
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Selfoss
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Hotel Hekla was one of our many one-night stops while doing the "ring road" in Iceland. The room was clean, the food was good. I enjoyed the decor in the restaurant...very relaxing. We called ahead but got to the hotel very late.They were very nice when we arrived. We took advantage of the hot tub at 11:30pm after arrival...after we found it! It's hidden away. The only thing is the bathrooms are awkward...when you take a shower everything gets wet. This must be an Iceland "thing" because we experienced it in several places we stayed. I would stay here again. Overall very nice.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABieak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (358)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 358 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

We were there in the winter and our room was nice and cozy with comfy beds. Shower was a bit awkward and got the entire floor wet though. We had a room at teh very end of the hall that had a deck right outside. It was a bit cloudy, so we didn;t get to see the northrn lights, but it would have been a perfect location. We ate at the restaurant there and it was amazing, but a bit expensive. The staff was great. great breakfast too. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a rooom that has access to the deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveler092006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Our family of 4 stayed at Hotel Hekla a few weeks ago for 1 night, at the start of a 10 day drive around the ring road. I wished we could have stayed longer, mainly because the breakfast was so good. All other aspects of the hotel were also fine - clean, spacious room, prompt service, and nice hot tubs. But the yummy breakfast here (in particular the breads) made all subsequent hotels' breakfasts pale in comparison. The dinner also was delicious, and the chef really prepared the fish and chicken dishes perfectly. It was not a cheap meal but there are no cheap meals in Iceland! We will recommend this hotel for sure.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Goose288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We flew into Keflavik in the morning and started our tour of southern Iceland by visiting the Golden Triangle sites - Pingvellir, Geysir, and Gullfoss. All are spectacular and a wonderful start to a holiday. Gulfoss is the final one and driving back from it towards Geysir road number 30 is signed off to the left to Selfoss. After a short distance of gravel road there is a good and scenic road for around 50km all the way to the hotel, which is signed and visible from the road. In the morning its a short drive down 30 to route one to continue a tour. We spent a reasonable amount of time at the sites and arrived at the hotel in time to relax before dinner.
The hotel is in a very peaceful location, with various buildings in extensive gardens. The main block has reception and the bar and restaurant, which are attractively furnished. The room and bed were comfortable and the shower room adequate. We were on the first floor in one of the accommodation blocks which was linked to the main building by a covered walkway. It had a balcony running round it alpine style and we took chairs from our room outside to sit and have a drink. There doesn't seem to be a tradition of catering for outdoor seating in Iceland, altough there were picnic tables in the garden at the Hekla.
The meal was good and what we came to expect in Iceland. Arctic char and lamb predominate and the ingredients are very fresh and simply prepared. Service was very friendly and efficient and we had a very positive start to our tour. I would strongly recommend the Hekla.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank petefLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This hotel is situated in an idyllic and tranquil setting, about 23 km from the town of Selfoss. It is a nice place.
Our room was quite spacious, very clean an well maintained. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was compact, but functional.
Tea and coffee making facilities are provided in the hall.
Staff were helpful.
There are few "frills". Bring your own shampoo, conditioner and tissues, as only the most basic toiletries are provided.
Internet was a tad unreliable.
Breakfast was very good.
We ate at the restaurant for the evening meal. The food was good, but we thought it was overpriced.
Overall, a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julietheoracle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We were on a self-drive tour so we stayed in several hotels outside of Reykjavik, and this was our favorite. The rooms were huge (especially compared to other hotels) and clean and the bed was comfortable. The dinner at the hotel was probably the best we had in the five days we were in Iceland, and the breakfast was good as well. The location also is great.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed here for a single night and wished we could have stayed longer. Had a loft suite that was beautifully decorated, with a super-comfortable bed, TV at the end of the bed, great shower and loads of space. The evening meal was delicious and beautifully presented; service was attentive but unobtrusive. Breakfast was more than acceptable with a great selection of food, juice and tea/coffee. Brilliant introduction to Iceland

Room Tip: Loft suites are a little more but well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DharmaBum1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selfoss
12.8 mi away
Stracta Hotel
Stracta Hotel
#2 of 5 in Hella
565 reviews
15 mi away
Hotel Borealis
Hotel Borealis
#3 of 8 in Selfoss
243 reviews
22.5 mi away
Hotel Geysir
Hotel Geysir
#4 of 8 in Selfoss
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Frost and Fire Hotel
Frost and Fire Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hveragerdi
671 reviews
14.5 mi away
Hotel Selfoss
Hotel Selfoss
#2 of 8 in Selfoss
438 reviews
13.2 mi away
Hotel Grimsborgir
Hotel Grimsborgir
#1 of 8 in Selfoss
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fosshotel Hekla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fosshotel Hekla

Address: Brjansstadir | Skeidum, Selfoss 801, Iceland (Formerly Hotel Hekla)
Region: Iceland > South Region > Selfoss
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Selfoss
Price Range: £103 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fosshotel Hekla 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fosshotel Hekla is a 45 room hotel in South Iceland, only a 45 minute drive from Reykjavik, and a 15 minute drive from Selfoss. The hotel has a good restaurant, lounge with fine bar selection, outdoor hot tub, free high speed Wi-Fi internet and a large garden around the hotel. The hotel is situated close to Mt Hekla and is surrounded by some of the country's most stunning sights including: Eyjafjallajokull volcano and Fimmvorduhals; beautiful hiking trails along the Golden Circle destinations; the highlands of Landmannalaugar, Kjolur, and Sprengisandur; historical sites from the Viking era; volcanic craters; a Hydroelectric power plant, and - depending on the season and weather permitting - the spectacular Northern Lights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fosshotel Hekla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fosshotel Hekla Iceland/Selfoss

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing