We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for Us!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Minniborgir Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
bristol
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Perfect for Us!”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We had a week in Iceland during the height of winter,
we wanted to do the golden circle but being aware of the limited daylight during the winter,
we thought it may take longer than a full day to do the circle than it would take in the summer.

2 nights in a minniborgir wooden cabin was just perfect, they even had xmas decorations.
We were able to do the golden circle at our leisure.
We arrived late in the day so a 20 min drive to the bonus supermarket in Selfoss meant we were able to have some quick food and supplies which we could easily cook at the equipped cabin. Next day Kerid crater, Geysir and gulfoss...awesome.
Back to the cabin and short drive into Selfoss for meal at Kaffi Krus (very good review to follow)
back home to kids and ourselves spending the whole night in hot tub, looking toward the clear dark sky, unforgettable.
next day, check out early. No one around at office so quick call and someone cleaning cabins appeared and took our payment..very friendly and no trouble.
Next stop Þingvellir national park before our next stopover in Rekyjavik.

All in all amazing place and amazing country.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    49
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
48
41
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

5 star. Not PERFECT, but FAR better than we anticipated.

First of all, the location is amazing as a home base for excursions to selfoss, gullfoss, Geysir... Even down to Vik and horse back riding.

The 80m2 cottage we had had literally only one flaw (and I think that was the fault of Nordic Visitor, the company we booked through) - no washing machine. No matter.

The private hot tub (please note, that's a HOT TUB, not a jacuzzi. There's a difference) was amazing - the northern lights came out on our last night. The actual accommodation is clean, spacious and still rustic. WIFI was a bonus, the lack of TV channels ALSO a bonus.

Great cottage, great times. I heavily recommend.

Of particular note are the efforts of the two guys who manage/operate the cottages. We were welcomed and set up. And when the power went out (wind storm), they made sure everyone was comfortable and in the loop.

I would absolutely return. Beautiful.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DrCMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We stayed 8 nights at Minniborgir Cottages they were excellent. The cottages were the best equipped we have ever had, making self catering easy. We had a dishwasher, microwave, toaster, oven etc. The beds were comfy and the hot pool was lovely. The location was ideal to visit most of south and west Iceland, and very handy for the Golden Circle. The staff were very helpful, would highly recommend

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank supersal4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

The cottages are very nice and comfy, staff is friedly. Very good and generous breakfast. Perfect location, close to the Golden circle. Also the hot tubs are great. We stayed only two nights, but enjoyed it very much.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mart112013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Close to all the golden circle attraction and Kerith crater lake. Quite cozy houses. Very clean inside and beautiful outside. Friendly owners. I would highly recommend this place to anybody: couples, groups of friends, families, and would definitely stay again there myself.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VeraGolubkova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed at Minniborgir Cottages of our last night in Iceland. The location was excellent for the golden circle and also to get back to the the airport.

As with pother reviewers the office was closed when we arrived, but the instructions as to what to do were clear. The laundry facilities were also excellent - but are located in the office so you do need to arrange this.

The cottage was clean and very comfortable. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank naw_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Stayed there with my dad and mom for 3 nights. It took us some time to locate the cottages but once we arrived, we were deeply impressed by the environment and the friendly staff. The cottages were new, clean and well-decorated. My dad loved the outdoor Jacuzzi especially. We even tried barbecue there! The rooms were in family atmosphere so do not expect those fancy hotel room amenities. But it is definitely good enough to have a pleasant stay. The heated floor gave you a warm place without drying the air too much.

It took us less than an hour of driving to go to Geysir and the waterfall. so if you wish to travel along the golden circle, i'd suggest this is the right place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michaelchs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selfoss
7.6 mi away
Hotel Borealis
Hotel Borealis
#3 of 8 in Selfoss
188 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hotel Grimsborgir
Hotel Grimsborgir
#1 of 8 in Selfoss
586 reviews
20.2 mi away
Stracta Hotel Hella
Stracta Hotel Hella
#2 of 5 in Hella
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Frost and Fire Hotel
Frost and Fire Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hveragerdi
599 reviews
7.9 mi away
Fosshotel Hekla
Fosshotel Hekla
#4 of 8 in Selfoss
318 reviews
15.4 mi away
ION Adventure Hotel
ION Adventure Hotel
#5 of 8 in Selfoss
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minniborgir Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minniborgir Cottages

Property: Minniborgir Cottages
Address: Minni-Borg, Selfoss 801, Iceland
Region: Iceland > South Region > Selfoss
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Selfoss
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Minniborgir Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minniborgir is a cottage area that is located in one of the nature pearls of Iceland. We are located in the Golden Circle and only 40 km from Gullfoss and Geysir. We have 20 cottages all from being 30m2 to 100m2 luxury cottages. We can take up to 110 persons in bed. At Minniborgir we have restaurant that offers local food and it is open all year a round. We offer riding tours and highland tours ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Minniborgir Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minniborgir Cottages Iceland/Selfoss

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing