We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice new guesthouse with personable service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lambastadir Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 27 Selfoss B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We stayed one night beginning of September, couldn't ask for more of a farm stay in Selfoss. We called late in the evening without a reservation, and in the time it took us to drive the 8km from downtown Selfoss the hosts had our room for three ready and were waiting for us as we drove up. In the morning our daughter loved feeding the ducklings (with bread provided by the host) and seeing the chickens and sheep.

The room with private bath was spotlessly clean, pleasant and had a lovely view of cow pastures and mountains. For breakfast we made our own waffles in the press and enjoyed yogurt, bread, cereal and cold cuts.

The hosts of this small guesthouse went out of their way to make us feel welcome and offered advice on where to go on our last night in the country. We wish them luck with their new place. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hrme17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 291 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2012

The rooms are in a perfect condition, very warm welcome, the hosts gave us very helpful advices to visit the region and restaurants, organized a horse tour for us.
Nice location in the middle of horses, rabbits and sheep. Free and clean hot tub.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abeille-Jaune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Got booked to this guesthouse by another guesthouse that had an overbooking - so glad that happened!! This is by far the best guesthouse experience during our 9 days in South Iceland. We arrived pretty late that night but were welcomed warmly by the owners who really made us feel at home and took the time to give us thoughtful recommendations on our itinerary the next day. Brand new and clean rooms with nice private bathroom, relaxing hot tub outside - perfect after a long day. Great breakfast buffet with homemade waffle mix. Overall really good value and highly recommended as a base for the Golden Circle or as a stop along Ring Road drive.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 3CK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012 via mobile

This farm guest house opened May 2012. The location is great for touring the "golden circle" and the rugged highlands. The owners are super nice and rxtremely helpful. They compiled a brochure with suggested day trips. There is something for everyone: the famous sights at Geysir and Gullfoss and 4X4 tours of the highlands. We chose the latter, and the owner sat down with me and marked salient features on the map. After a full day of touring we relaxed in the hot pot (the local nomenclature for hot tub) and the kids communed with the farm animals: horses, geese, chickens and rabbits.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Quietusleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We spent 1 night on our trip around Iceland at this new guesthouse. Very clean, very new with an extremely helpful and knowledgable host. Buffet breakfast with freshly cooked waffles for the kids. Hot tub out back. Very good value and I would certainly return if visiting the area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

This is a brand new guesthouse, pleasantly designed in a simple clean-cut modern manner. We enjoyed the 2-nights stay here very much, especially taking a dip in the hot tub to relax after a full day of sightseeing! Breakfast spread is great compared to the usual fare one gets in this price range, with fresh fruits n DIY waffles. Conveniently located on the Ringroad 7km away from Selfoss town center, it's a great base to explore the many lovely sights in the region. Check out the well-compiled short info guide in the room for recommended day tours, or simply ask the friendly owners. They were very helpful and provided great advice.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alphacent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Tatiana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selfoss
12.1 mi away
Hotel Borealis
Hotel Borealis
#3 of 8 in Selfoss
239 reviews
9.1 mi away
Fosshotel Hekla
Fosshotel Hekla
#4 of 8 in Selfoss
354 reviews
29.7 mi away
Hotel Geysir
Hotel Geysir
#5 of 8 in Selfoss
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Hotel Selfoss
Hotel Selfoss
#2 of 8 in Selfoss
438 reviews
11.8 mi away
Frost and Fire Hotel
Frost and Fire Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hveragerdi
662 reviews
8.8 mi away
Hotel Grimsborgir
Hotel Grimsborgir
#1 of 8 in Selfoss
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lambastadir Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lambastadir Guesthouse

Address: Lambastadir, Selfoss 801, Iceland
Region: Iceland > South Region > Selfoss
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Selfoss
Price Range: £79 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lambastadir Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lambastadir Guesthouse is quiet and modern, farm holiday guesthouse. It is located in the center of South Iceland, by highway number one, only 45 minutes drive from Reykjavik. The guesthouse is family owned and our special pleasure is to inform our guests about where to go, what to do and to help guests to organize their holidays. We feel our guesthouse perfectly located for those wanting to visit historical places and Iceland´s unique nature, for example The Golden Falls, Geysir, Thingvellir National Park, Landmannalaugar, Seljalandsfoss water falla and Westman Islands. Nearby is the village Selfoss where you can find restaurants, swimming pool, golf course, banks and magazines and Reykajvik City is only 45 minutes drive from the guesthouse. Numerous activities in the neighborhood as horse riding, hiking, fishing, glacier walking, kayak boating, river rafting, snorkeling, bird watching and snow mobile. In the guesthouse are eleven non smoking comfortable rooms with private bathroom and shower. Wi-Fi internet access is free of charge. Sauna an outdoor hot tub filled with warm natural water, excellent for relaxation, are free. The communal dining room features tea/coffee making facilities. Sheep and horses are in fence close to the guesthouse. Gooses, chickens and ducks are free on our farm so our feeling is the guesthouse is family friendly. Breakfast buffet is served in the morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Lambastadir Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lambastadir Guesthouse Iceland/Selfoss

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing