We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay near Selfoss”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lambastadir Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 26 Selfoss B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
105 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great place to stay near Selfoss”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

We are family of 4 (parents + 2 adults). We stayed one night at Lambastadir. We had 2 rooms - double + twin. Very nice big rooms. All looks new and clean. Hot tub outside. Rich breakfast. Very good service.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gidi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    64
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
45
144
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed at the Lambastadir Guesthouse for a night as one of the only accommodation options in a central but remote location in order to facilitate our “exchange” between two separate tours to the Jökulsárlón/Vik area and then to Langmannalaugar.

Initially, it seemed that it would be difficult to locate such unique accommodation which complimented our requirements (especially when a more well know nearby option was surprisingly booked out during the low season).

However, nothing could have prepared us for the incredible hospitality, the delicious breakfast, our superb and comfortable room, the tranquil and scenic rural surroundings, our very memorable nightswimming in their heated hot tub with below zero temperatures outside and the most special and magic display of the mystical northern lights which was endless throughout the night. We thought that we were witnessing the fantastic opening of the gates to heaven! And, as the only guests staying that night, we were very privileged to be able to run around the Guesthouse in dizzy circles trying to follow the next amazing display unfold in the sky.

Uniquely, we arrived at the Guesthouse without our own transport. Accordingly, due to our location (approximately 15 minutes outside of Selfoss), we expected to be heating up some bland dry noodles for dinner that night. However, the owners went above and beyond in assisting us with having a very delicious and special dinner in Selfoss.

We would highly recommend staying at the Lambastadir Guesthouse without any hesitation!

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DeepintotheBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

On arrival we had a warm greeting and they were only to willing to help us find somewhere to eat that night. In addition there was plenty of useful information in the room about the local area. The room was a decent size and as per the photos. The bathroom was also a good size, clean and modern, with a good shower. In fact the whole guesthouse was spotless!! The hot tub was a very nice way to spend the evening. The breakfast was excellent - fresh waffles, fruit, really nice bread, boiled eggs, jams etc. There was also free tea/coffee available during the evening. However, for less money we stayed in similar places which has a self-service/honesty bar and a restaurant on site so felt it was maybe a tad over priced.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eacheney2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new hampshire
Level Contributor
125 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Very simple, clean rooms, decent size and a nice corner shower. Like most Icelandic guesthouses, amenities are few - just a bottle of body soap and a bath and hand towel per person. Typical European style breakfast. I think we would have liked this better if the owner had been a little more willing to engage, but he wasn't and it was slightly off-putting. Still, nothing to complain about here and a quiet, reasonable place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cslnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

I agree with the other reviews here - a lovely little guesthouse. We stayed for 2 nights and loved the hot tub in the countryside. Breakfast was great - the waffles a nice touch. As well as the hot water and milk for evening drinks. Plenty of useful information in the room about the area and local restaurants as well as optional excursion ideas. Selfoss itself is a 10 min drive away which has everything you could need.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine1567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

We stayed here recently on a trip through southwest Iceland. We only stayed here one night but we wish we could've stayed longer we enjoyed this guesthouse so much! The location is great - in the country between Selfoss and other southern towns (we drove to Vik one day). There are only 10 rooms so it isn't too crowded at all. Breakfast was substantial and delicious. Farm animals are grazing nearby to view. Rooms were fairly spacious and very clean and sleek. The single (minor) problem we had was that the shower leaked water onto the bathroom floor a little, but we just put down an extra towel as it wasn't too big of a problem at all. We stayed in room 10 which was nice and on the end, right near the hot tub outside. There is also a manual in the room of local places to eat, things to see, and maps for driving. This was extremely useful for our day trip to Vik! If you do stay here, don't forget to remove your shoes when you enter! We didn't do this when we arrived because we didn't notice and were unpacking bags - then we felt a little rude for not removing our shoes! I would highly recommend this guesthouse to anyone looking for a great stay with friendly staff/owners near Selfoss or south Iceland.

Room Tip: Room 10 was nice - on the end of the guesthouse and near the hot tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesconner8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

This farm stay is located about 10km from Selfoss. No dinner option so either eat in town or bring something with you. The accommodation is fairly newly built and there is a hot tub on site. The rooms were reasonably sized. There was a small seating area at the entrance to the accommodation. A thermos of hot water was available in the evening to make tea witg which was nice. Breakfast included waffles which were really yummy. All in all a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Uluru_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selfoss
12.1 mi away
Hotel Borealis
Hotel Borealis
#3 of 8 in Selfoss
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
8.7 mi away
Hotel Grimsborgir
Hotel Grimsborgir
#1 of 8 in Selfoss
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
15.0 mi away
Stracta Hotel Hella
Stracta Hotel Hella
#2 of 5 in Hella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Frost and Fire Hotel
Frost and Fire Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hveragerdi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
17.7 mi away
ION Adventure Hotel
ION Adventure Hotel
#6 of 8 in Selfoss
3.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Selfoss
Hotel Selfoss
#2 of 8 in Selfoss
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lambastadir Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lambastadir Guesthouse

Property: Lambastadir Guesthouse
Address: Lambastadir, Selfoss 801, Iceland
Region: Iceland > South Region > Selfoss
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Selfoss
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lambastadir Guesthouse is quiet and modern, farm holiday guesthouse. It is located in the center of South Iceland, by highway number one, only 45 minutes drive from Reykjavik. The guesthouse is family owned and our special pleasure is to inform our guests about where to go, what to do and to help guests to organize their holidays. We feel our guesthouse perfectly located for those wanting to visit historical places and Iceland´s unique nature, for example The Golden Falls, Geysir, Thingvellir National Park, Landmannalaugar, Seljalandsfoss water falla and Westman Islands. Nearby is the village Selfoss where you can find restaurants, swimming pool, golf course, banks and magazines and Reykajvik City is only 45 minutes drive from the guesthouse. Numerous activities in the neighborhood as horse riding, hiking, fishing, glacier walking, kayak boating, river rafting, snorkeling, bird watching and snow mobile. In the guesthouse are eleven non smoking comfortable rooms with private bathroom and shower. Wi-Fi internet access is free of charge. Sauna an outdoor hot tub filled with warm natural water, excellent for relaxation, are free. The communal dining room features tea/coffee making facilities. Sheep and horses are in fence close to the guesthouse. Gooses, chickens and ducks are free on our farm so our feeling is the guesthouse is family friendly. Breakfast buffet is served in the morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Lambastadir Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lambastadir Guesthouse Iceland/Selfoss

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing