We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lambastadir Guesthouse
Nearby Hotels
US$619
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$533
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fosshotel Hekla(Selfoss)(Great Value!)
US$246
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$213
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Borealis(Selfoss)(Great Value!)
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arctic Nature Hotel(Selfoss)(Great Value!)
US$263
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$187
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Selfoss(Selfoss)(Great Value!)
US$241
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Ork(Hveragerdi)(Great Value!)
US$245
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Geysir(Selfoss)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Reviews (314)
Filter reviews
314 results
Traveller rating
231
74
7
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
231
74
7
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswaffleshot tub and saunafarm animalsfriendly hostsgolden circlenorthern lightsnice ownersfamily farmnice breakfastbreakfast roomguest househomemade jamswaffle makerfarm stayring roadworking farmstayed here for one night
Filter
Updating list...
183 - 188 of 314 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2013

What a pleasant stay we had here, the owners were great, friendly, and helpful with various tips and sites to see. They have excellent food at breakfast, the rooms were clean and comfortable.
The establishment in new and in excellent condition.

We appreciate the attention they had to detail and comfort.
We would highly recommend this guesthouse in Selfoss......

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vtseason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

It was our first stop, after 2 nights in Reykjavik, at the begining of our journey through the Ring Road. We left Reykjavik around noon and drove all the Golden Circle in the afternoon. Arrived at Lambastadir guest house in the early evening. The location was perfect to do that and also to continue the trip to Vik on the following morning. It is easy to find, just of the road 1.
Basic accomodation. Small but clean room and bathroom. Only one hand towel for 3 people in room! No shampoo or shower gel. We booked a pre-paid rate on booking.com that was more or less the same of a 4 stars hotel in my country!! Yes, I know that this is Iceland but even in Iceland , during our 10 days trip, we found hotels with a better value for money...
It was strange to see all the guests shoes at the entrance! You must take off your shoes but after that you step with your socks the same rug... cleanness???
The breakfast was fine.
We went to Kaffi Krus in Selfoss , just few minutes by car, to had a diner and the food was good and reasonable priced.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank margarida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Just one word: lovely. The place, the building, the owners, the style, the cleaness... everything was great. The building is brand new, cosy and bright. The room, the bathroom (en-suite) and the shower large and confortable. The breakfast was delicious and rich. It is also provided with an outdoor hot tub with warm natural water that looked very interesting, it was a shame not to have the chance to use it. By far the best place (even for more days) in the whole 10-day journey.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fausto c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We are family of 4 (parents + 2 adults). We stayed one night at Lambastadir. We had 2 rooms - double + twin. Very nice big rooms. All looks new and clean. Hot tub outside. Rich breakfast. Very good service.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gidi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed at the Lambastadir Guesthouse for a night as one of the only accommodation options in a central but remote location in order to facilitate our “exchange” between two separate tours to the Jökulsárlón/Vik area and then to Langmannalaugar.

Initially, it seemed that it would be difficult to locate such unique accommodation which complimented our requirements (especially when a more well know nearby option was surprisingly booked out during the low season).

However, nothing could have prepared us for the incredible hospitality, the delicious breakfast, our superb and comfortable room, the tranquil and scenic rural surroundings, our very memorable nightswimming in their heated hot tub with below zero temperatures outside and the most special and magic display of the mystical northern lights which was endless throughout the night. We thought that we were witnessing the fantastic opening of the gates to heaven! And, as the only guests staying that night, we were very privileged to be able to run around the Guesthouse in dizzy circles trying to follow the next amazing display unfold in the sky.

Uniquely, we arrived at the Guesthouse without our own transport. Accordingly, due to our location (approximately 15 minutes outside of Selfoss), we expected to be heating up some bland dry noodles for dinner that night. However, the owners went above and beyond in assisting us with having a very delicious and special dinner in Selfoss.

We would highly recommend staying at the Lambastadir Guesthouse without any hesitation!

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank DeepintotheBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews