We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Serenity and convenience in an ideal location”
other travellers have booked this property
Cozy and Comfortable Living room, unwind at the end of the day, watch a movie or two, relax!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cozy and Comfortable Living room, unwind at the end of the day, watch a movie or two, relax!
“it's all about the lights”  Watch the Northern Lights Dance across the sky Relax at luxury self-catering cottage in Golden Circle area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Cozy and Comfortable Living room, unwind at the end of the day, watch a movie or two, relax!
“it's all about the lights”  Watch the Northern Lights Dance across the sky
Relax at luxury self-catering cottage in Golden Circle area
Dining room with windows allowing the superb views.  Dining Together – Formally or Informally
Those excused from cooking duties can enjoy watching the proceedings from the country kitchen table
Relax at theluxury self-catering in Golden Circle area
Beautifully fitted well-equipped kitchen with everything you'll need to cook a marvelous meal.
The superbly equipped kitchen at Dynjandi is a cook's paradise
Scenic views, Dynjandi luxury riverfront cottage with hot tub
Scenic views, Dynjandi luxury riverfront cottage with hot tub
Comfortable beds, fine linens and views across the river
Comfortable beds, fine linens and views across the river
Breakfast in bed
Twin room, scenic view of the ountains and river
Bathroom with underfloor heating,heated towel rack and direct access to the hot tub -  so comfy
Relax at the cozy privat hot tub - all year round
Guest house bedroom
Guest house bedroom
Guesthoust Bathroom, Shower & Toilet w/Comfy Towels and Hair Dryer
Relax at theluxury self-catering in Golden Circle area
“When they go fishing, it is not really fish they are after. It is a philosophic meditation”
Fire up the barbecue, open a bottle of wine and enjoy!
Relax at the luxury self-catering in Golden Circle area
Relax at the luxury self-catering in Golden Circle area
Enjoy the magical midnight sun in Iceland
Blueberries right outside your door in August and September
Enjoy the magical midnight sun in Iceland
Bruara is one of the best rivers in this area to land a big char or trout and  occasionally Salmon
Catch of the day!
Explore the enchanting waterfalls, streams and moorland souroundings
Nothing brings on the sense of being alive  like a day spent interacting with nature.
Enjoy the magical midnight sun in Iceland
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Selfoss, South Region

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Serenity and convenience in an ideal location”
Reviewed 31 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We were more than impressed with the style, comfort and cleanliness of this inviting cabin by the river. The views were impressive and we spent long twilight hours sitting on the deck watching the birds fly across the open landscape and listening to the water rushing along just several hundred yards away. The cabin is centrally located in the golden circle and using the interactive map so kindly provided by our hosts we were able to visit a number of the attractions that Iceland is famous for. While we did eat out once or twice, the proximity to Selfoss made it easy for us to pick up groceries and the cabin kitchen was well-equipped allowing us to make some wonderful meals at home. All in all, a place we'd love to visit again.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristin C
1 review
“Perfect central location and beautiful home.”
Reviewed 22 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

I cannot say enough good things about this property. You will love the view, as well the peacefulness and solitude. At night, we enjoyed sleeping to the sound of the river. The location is central to many beautiful Icelandic sites and fairly close to the grocery store. It was nice to be able to cook many of our meals and save money for some of the excursions. The owner was more than accommodating when there was a misunderstanding about the rental. I would also be remise if I did not comment on the cleanliness of this home and how nice the individual was who met us to provide us with the key. The owner also goes out of her way to provide you with valuable information that will help you plan your trip.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roxy070
Montreal
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Special Cottage”
Reviewed 29 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

I would like to echo what past reviewers have written about this cottage - FABULOUS !
The accommodations are top rate and even nicer then then the photos. Much attention has been given to the design and furnishings of the cottage.

The owners are very organized , responsive and provide excellent directions and information . We found the location ideal to visit the attractions in the area.

As others said, eating out is expensive by N.American standards but there is very good grocery shopping in Selfoss - not too far away - and the cottage has everything you need to prepare a fine meal.

Many thanks Sigridur and Arni for a rememberable vacation.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew L
2 reviews
“Excellent location, modern spacious house.”
Reviewed 19 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We were excited to stay at Riverfront Cottage before our arrival in Iceland due to the great reviews and pictures online. However, our expectations were high and I was ready to be mildly disappointed. This was not the case, and on arrival all 5 of us were amazed at what a great place we were going to be staying in for the coming week!

The cottage is set in a perfect location beside a huge river and although there are other properties around, we still felt very remote and secluded. Supermarkets are close by and other smaller shops for food are easily accessible. (You are also only 10 minutes away from Friðheimar here, so there is no excuse not to go for a meal!)

We did not rent out the additional guest house. However the main house was more than enough for 5 of us. Two of the three bedrooms are on the smaller side, with one lacking storage options. However this was more than made up for by the spacious main living area.
Being able to walk out onto the patio and down to the river was a dream. The hot tub worked well and fit 5 adults in, however more would have been a squeeze.
Visiting at the time of year we did was perfect. With a full 24 hours of light, we were able to access many locations from the cottage by car and make the most of our week in Iceland. Sitting up late at 'night' either in the living area looking out the glass front, or out on the patio were moments we will remember for a while.

Would love to visit again when possible!
Thankyou Sigridur and Arni for making our trip extra special.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eurotrave...
Warwickshire
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Even better than expected!”
Reviewed 5 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Just had a fabulous short stay in this wonderful house which literally made us say Wow when we walked in. A beautiful and thoughtfully designed house which made us want to come back home every evening to be in it! Everything was immaculately clean and beautifully presented. Restful neutrals and interesting books and art complete the pleasure. Also small supplies like washing up liquid, salt, herbs, oils were left for our use which was so useful.
Perfect location and helpful owner. We feel privileged to have experienced this place. Really hope we can come back sometime and discover more of Iceland.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2017
Thank you so much for posting such fantastic review.
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit and are appreciative of your glowing compliments regarding our architecture, interior design, ambiance and cleanliness.
Again, we appreciated your generous comments regarding our facilities and we look forward to welcoming you back to our perfect location.
Thank you
Sigridur
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weaves83
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
“Perfect location! Minutes from all Gold Circle attractions! Great for any family!”
Reviewed 20 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We have stayed at many vacation rentals and I would say this ranks as one of the best. It met or exceeded every expectation. When we schedule our next trip to Iceland, we will schedule it around our ability to stay at the Riverfront Cottage. I can't speak more highly of this accommodation and the support we received from Sigridur. We were within minutes of all Gold Circle attractions and a short drive from several grocery stores. The kitchen is well equipped. We "ate-in" and cooked several meals at the cottage - avoiding the price of restaurants. The river and waterfall Dynjandi were breath taking and a short hike from the front door of the cottage. My wife and I occupied the one-bedroom guest house while our adult children and their spouses stayed in the cottage. Great arrangement to give each couple space and privacy. Staying at the Riverfront Cottage will be one of many great experiences and memories we will take away from Iceland.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Home from home”
Reviewed 7 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

If you're looking for somewhere to stay while you explore this great island then don't hesitate, book Riverfront cottage. Modern,warm,spacious home from home. We could have stayed in all week we loved it so much. Great location and after a full day exploring to come home to such a lovely place helped make the holiday. Seven of us stayed and not once did we feel on top of one another. The owner is very welcoming and did his best to make sure that not only did we enjoy our stay in the cottage but suggested places of interest and advice in seeing the northern lights. We saw them 4 nights two of which were in the skies above the cottage. Great holiday. We will be back here that's for sure. Thanks Sigridur.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing