We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific location, quiet duplex cottages”
Review of Hotel Geysir

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Geysir
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Selfoss
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Terrific location, quiet duplex cottages”
Reviewed 27 July 2011

This hotel is literally right across the street from the Geysir geothermal area. During the day, it's clogged with tour busses, but at night the area is all yours. We spent the days exploring other area attractions, and then checked in on the geysir when we got back in the evening.

The rooms were small, spartan duplex cabins that really proved quite serviceable. It worked great for the different groups of our family to have cabins close to each other. The rooms were clean and well maintained. The restaurant served a very nice evening meal, and it was too bad that we didn't have time to try the geothermically heated pool.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    116
    67
    22
    17
See reviews for
58
146
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

This place is disgusting. First of all, we arrived early afternoon and we were given a cabin right on the parking lot. The place is filled with noisy and smelly tour busses. With reluctance the staff agreed to give us a different cabin a bit more off the beaten path, but it was still noisy. The cabin was a dump, with water coming through the floor from the ground and a bathroom that was falling apart. The rooms are tiny even by EU standards. The beds were so small that anyone taller than 5 feet 9 inches will sleep with their feet hanging off the bed. The food for the breakfast buffet was minimal, with stale pastries and meat with a greenish hue. They staff promotes the pool as a "healthy spa", but the only one getting any health out of this swamp is the tendrils of green algae that are growing in abundance on the sides of the pool. We spent 2 weeks in Iceland, stayed in 5 different properties, and this is the only one that still brings on an Ewwwwww, when we think back on our trip. We left a day early, walking away from our pre-paid room because we were so grossed out by this place.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phoenix1817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElinThor, Owner at Hotel Geysir, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
We are so very sorry that your experience was like this at our hotel, we are very shocked and suprised. We have gone over your review with our staff and made many changes.
I just like to point a few things out. Our rooms are not smaller than other rooms in Iceland or in EU. We have changed our breakfast buffet for the better and make huge changes there, thank you for pointing that one out. We don't know thought what you mean by: stale pastries and meat with greenish hue?
The swimming pool is a hot spring swimming pool with water from the geyser and therefore the green colors, the water is very good for the skin but of course it is different from a regular swimming pools since it is geothermal water.
Since Geysir is the most popular place for tourists in Iceland there are many busses around the lunch time but the evenings are very quiet and lovely here:)

Hope that you stay in Iceland was good in other ways and we apologize that you left this way. If you would ever like to come back I would like to offer you a free stay and a nice Icelandic meal to show you what we are really about, we are so sorry.

Best regards from the family at Geysir.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2011

We stayed two nights here. The location is brilliant with the geysirs just across the road. The rooms are in cabins rather than in the main building. Two rooms to a cabin which suited us well with a party of four. The rooms are well laid out and very comfortable and pleasant to be in, the let down is perhaps the bathroom which has a bit of a DIY feel about it and just seems a lower standard than the room. Hot water takes 10 minutes to arrive but that's not too bad as long as you anticipate your shower by putting the tap on in plenty of time. Hotel restaurant is amazing with views of the geysir, superb food including bread baked by burying in the in the hot ground near a hot spring. Swimming pool lovely and warm and is fed from a hot spring so has a slight sulphurous smell but it is amazing to swim outside in a lovely warm water. Overall a great place to stay just be prepared for a rather basic bathroom.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lucyf32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mass
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2010

This hotel was very nice, with a convenient location right off the main road of the Golden Circle. The hotel, not quite a hotel more a group of small cottages, was very quiet and comfortable. It is right across the street from the geyser and it had two fantastic hot tubs and a swimming pool. The area offers two choices for dining, the in hotel restaurant, which was very expensive and the service area at the rest stop next door. Neither seemed particularly appealing. If you are planning on going out in the evening, change plans as there is nowhere to go.

The only problem we had at this hotel was with the hot water. When we arrived we ran the water to try to take a shower and it did not come through warm. When I asked at the front desk they told me to run for 15 minutes and the hot water would start. They were not lying, nothing bad, just a little strange.

Don't miss Gullfoss while you are here.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripel_wide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2010

We stayed at the hotel for one night due to its proximity to the beginning of route 35 and the falls. The hotel has simple and nice comfortable rooms with nice views to the river and countryside. It also features two outdoor Jacuzzi which were relaxing. The restaurant had excellent food for dinner and standard breakfast with delicious homemade breads. Great place for a night over.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ishock78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2010

I was very disappointed with this hotel. It had beautiful surroundings (in front of geysers) but there were many problems. This was the most expensive hotel of our trip and also the worst.

For one, cleanliness rates pretty high on my list when checking an hotel. Well, the room wasn't very clean, there was dust on the floors. My friends bathroom was dirty, the shower did not seem to have been washed recently... Also, there is a sign saying that you should wait for 10 minutes to get hot water. I can't understand why since they're SO close to hot water. I had to wait 18 minutes! For hot water... in Iceland!!
Wi-fi was included in the price but did not work, so I feel like I paid for something I did not get. We called but the staff said it was too late (9pm!) and that we had to wait for the next morning. The next morning they only offered bad excuses.
TV did not function, anyways it was way to small.
There were only 3 supports in the closet.

On a positive note:
Diner was good, very good but quite expensive
Breakfast was also good but I'm happy we were the first ones. There were a few mini croissants (6), we were 4 so we took all of them thinking that they would refill the bowl. There never was a refill even though many other guests arrived.
Pool and hot tubs were good.

I would not stay here again, especially not at that price!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank supernovea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2010

Their service was wonderful. Originally when I booked they didn't have a double room, I asked to be placed on a waiting list for a luxury room and when we arrived they moved us into the luxury room which was fabulous. The view was fabulous, the food was fabulous, it was walking distance to the Geysirs. I absolutely would have loved to stay longer, and will stay here again. The pool was neat and the hot tub was wonderful. Absolutely a must stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank icedfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Selfoss hotels
25.4 mi away
Hotel Borealis
Hotel Borealis
#3 of 8 in Selfoss
200 reviews
27.0 mi away
Hotel Grimsborgir
Hotel Grimsborgir
#1 of 8 in Selfoss
604 reviews
22.5 mi away
Fosshotel Hekla
Fosshotel Hekla
#4 of 8 in Selfoss
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.6 mi away
ION Adventure Hotel
ION Adventure Hotel
#6 of 8 in Selfoss
769 reviews
33.4 mi away
Hotel Selfoss
Hotel Selfoss
#2 of 8 in Selfoss
392 reviews
33.6 mi away
Arctic Nature Hotel
Arctic Nature Hotel
#7 of 8 in Selfoss
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Geysir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Geysir

Property: Hotel Geysir
Address: | Haukadalur, Selfoss 801, Iceland
Region: Iceland > South Region > Selfoss
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Selfoss
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Geysir 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The trademark of Iceland, the great Geysir, gave the hotel its name and Geysir is situated right outside the front door of the hotel. Haukadalur is one of Iceland's most famous historical sites, both ancient and today. The farmer's son from Haukadalur, Sigurdur Greipsson, founded a sports school in his father's inheritance at Haukadalur, which he operated with his wife Sigrun Bjarnadottir for a period of forty-three years. Today Hotel Geysir is run by descendant of Sigurdur Greipsson, Mar Sigurdsson (youngest son of Sigurdur and Sigrun) and his wife Sigridur Vilhjalmsdottur along with their children, Mabil Groa and Sigurdur.The Geysir-Center, which is directly opposite the geothermal area of Geysir and Strokkur, consists of a whole building complex with elegant restaurants, souvenir shop, outdoor and clothing store, snack shop, Geysir museum with multimedia show and camping area. Also there is a golf course, fishing, hiking trails, outdoor paradise the Haukadalur woods, Langjokull glacier tours and other activities such as highland tours. Therefore it is perfect for day trips because of many different possibilities of entertainment. Further details of activities in the region is available at the hotel's website hotelgeysir.Is. His landmark of Iceland is a spectacular natural phenomenon beyond description. The geothermal field surrounding the Great Geyser is the definitive geyser, having given its name to the geological phenomena. The Strokkur, another famous geyser located nearby, gives a performance every few minutes, shooting a tower of water and steam 30 meters into the air. There are other attractions apart from the magnificent geysers. For example, Blesi, a hot spring with water the colour of turquoise delights the senses. Walking about this natural wonder, one experiences the intensity of the forces of nature. Night time offers a fascinating view of the bubbling hot springs and the northern lights. A pot of boiling water takes on new dimensions.We place great pride in that all are equally pleased at the arrival and departure and your stay will be pleasant and memorable.Hotel RoomsThe hotel has twenty four double studio rooms in bungalows beside the river and twelve rooms in one wing, just two minutes from the thermal fields.All in all, this has to be the perfect framework for rest, relaxation, and getting charged up for the next activity. Access for disabled people is available both in hotel rooms, restaurants and toilets.The hotel has hot tub indoor with water from the geser, which are good to relax after a walk around the area. Iceland is an island capable of tempting visitors to a host of activities. One should however not forget that vacations are also for taking advantage of time by relaxing body and soul to the utmost. To reach this level of relaxation it is essential that the surroundings be conducive to this. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Geysir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Geysir Hotel Selfoss
Hotel Geysir Iceland/Selfoss

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing