We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location for the Hot Springs”
Review of Hotel Geysir

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Geysir
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Selfoss
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect location for the Hot Springs”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel, upon arrival we were offered a cabin but could have opted for the hotel annexe which was behind the main building, pretty sure we made the right choice. We were given bungalow 24 which had a dual aspect window with a small patio area, the view across the countryside was spectacular. Would recommend asking for this number.

Dinner was served until 8pm, which was excellent, good choice of starter and mains.
Tip, drink your own pre-dinner drinks, we bought 3 bottles of wine at the airport to have in the room as this really adds on the cost to your dinner.

Buy snacks from a petrol garage or bring with you, as the shop is very pricey.

This Hotel is only 15minutes drive to Gulfoss falls another good reason to stay.

Only disappointment was the pool and hot pub were being refurbished and closed until April ...

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evanslamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    113
    66
    22
    17
See reviews for
57
141
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
197 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Booked online, as a way to break up the drive from the north-west coast to the south east. Arrived about 7 and ate quickly in the restaurant before retiring to our cottage (which is more like a two minute walk). Restaurant was ok... food was good, but expensive by Iceland standards. Admit that it felt like they were taking advantage of guests, as there were not a lot of other local options available. Had been looking forward to the outdoor hotubs (geo-thermal heat), but was disappointed when I found out that they were all closed, as they build a spa (which seems like another cash grab to me). Breakfast was NOT included, which was disappointing. There was a "food court" next store in the tourist centre. Glad we stayed the night, because by 10 a.m., the tourist buses were arriving and they were charging for admission to the geysirs. YIKES! A quick stop to see the geysirs is a better idea than an overnight stop, if at all possible.
I should note that check in staff was excellent. Very pleasant and helpful. Also provided a mobile Wifi device to connect your own devices to, when staying in the cabins.
Was disappointed that a county that gets 99% of its energy from renewable resources that they'd encourage guests to run the shower for 20 minutes to get it warm... see the attached sheet for proof. Not very environmentally friendly, even if energy is easy to acquire.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ttaylo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We arrived her late afternoon during our February visit to Iceland. We had booked in here for 2 nights as we were keen to be staying somewhere remote in order to see the Northern Lights. We had a room with 3 beds in the 'block' about a 5 minute walk from the main restaurant and other bungalows.

The room was comfortable and had an ensuite shower (very nice once it had heated up) and a smart tv which had a range of channels. The block also had a kitchen area with microwave, fridge and stove which all came in handy when we wanted to make our own hot drinks and soup.

Like others, when we checked in the area was quite deserted and it took us some time to work out where to go. The kitchen area worked for us as for others. We were very disappointed that the Pool and Hot Tubs were not in use (and apparently won't be until late spring early summer). We had chosen the hotel based on the fact that we could relax here with our 10yr old in the pool / tubs in the afternoon and not have to travel far. Whilst we were offered tickets for an alternative pool this was a public pool at least a 30min drive away which really wasn't very satisfactory. So - if you think there will be something to do here and keep you occupied for 2 nights beware and check the status of the pool.

We did enjoy the fact that we could see the Geysirs without the crowds and had a bit of a walk in the area. We also drove up to Gulfoss. The restaurant in the souvenir area at the back of the shop area was lovely and enjoyable too. We ate both there and at the hotel. The hotel restaurant was very dark and quiet. The food was nice but expensive and there was little on offer for our 10yr old apart from hot dog or pizza. The breakfast buffet was nice and plentiful.

We saw the Northern Lights both nights we were there and would recommend the hotel as an excellent location for seeing them. We would however suggest that if you have limited time available you probably don't need more than one night there.

All in all we had a good stay here and only wish we had been told about the closure of the pool and hot tubs before we booked.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billybean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
266 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Afraid because it was a little bit late, searching for food, we decided to try to enter in this hotel/restaurant even if it seemed closed looking from the outside. Surprised, even if it was "off", they served us a very good fish sup with an excellent taste and a glass of white wine. Good service, also. If you're near Geysir, it's a good choice.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Viaggio_vedo_mangio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElinThor, Owner at Hotel Geysir, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Thank you so much for you nice review on our Hotel restaurant, we are open every evening all year around and everybody is welcome to drop by without reservation. Thank you again and hope to see you again in Iceland.
Our very best regards
Hotel Geysir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange City, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 December 2013

The cabins were very cozy and cute. We LOVED the beds, they were so comfy! The hot water straight from the geysir was very refreshing and felt wonderful. You have to give it 20ish minutes to get to your shower but once it's there, boy does it feel great! The surroundings were breahtaking with mountains on one side and plains on the other side with mountains in the distance, everything covered in snow. The sunrise was BEAUTIFUL! The food was okay, I couldn't cut my steak with a knife, I had to use my teeth... For breakfast, we arrived there at 10, which is when they stop breakfast, but they left it open for us anyways! So sweet of them.
We also created a new adjective, one specifically for Iceland. "Viking" It's when a food is not disgusting but not delicious. Its when something smells or tastes not good but not bad.. Hard to explain, but you know what it is when you experience "Viking"! My mom and I loved staying at Hotel Geysir for sure!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gracielou121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElinThor, Owner at Hotel Geysir, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Thank you for you great review. We really emphasis on the beds and they are all brand new and we choose the best labels, good night sleep is very important.
Yes you have to wait for the hot water since it is straight from the geysers but as you said refreshing and wonderful and the purest as well. We feel very lucky be surrounded by this beautiful nature. I´m sorry to hear about your steak and I´ll let our head chef know about your comment. Tips for other guests: let us know if you are not satisfied with the food and we´ll make it up to you straight away. We use local ingredients and the freshest meat so it should always be nice and tender. Great to hear about the breakfast - in connection with the good night sleep :)
Viking food is a great word for Icelandic traditional food that is not for everybody but fun to taste.
Thank you again and we hope to see you again at Geysir Iceland. Our very best regards.
Hotel Geysir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hafnarfjordur, Iceland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We had expected the rooms to be located at the hotel itself but to our surprise they were in another building some 400 meters away. Also we had expected to be together, as we were travelling with a large group, but some of the couples did not stay in our building but in the small cabins next to the hotel. The room we got had two twin beds and not a double, so we decided to push the beds together. But than one bed was higher than the other. The beds were HORRIBLE! The matress was hard and I could feel every spring poke me in the back, so I didn't sleep very well. The bathroom was good, with a large shower. There was no minibar, no phone and to our disappointment didn't have complimentary coffee and te. You could get free coffee and te in the common area though. Ok now for the positive feedback: The room was clean and warm however. The food at the hotel was AMAZING!! We ate there both in the evening and than brunch the next day. The service was good and servers were friendly. I might want to eat at Hótel Geysir some day but I might not stay at the hotel over night...

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elinmarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElinThor, Owner at Hotel Geysir, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear Elin,
Thank you for your review.

Yes it is correct that our rooms are not located in the restaurant but the building you checked in at, is our restaurant and the rooms are in one wing/bungalows in walking distance.
We always try to have groups together if possible and I´m sorry to hear that it was not your case. You can always request at booking to book a double room with the beds together.
The next review we received here on TripAdvisor was that the bed was amazing and that is the comment we get from most guest. All the beds are new and it is really important that our guest gets good night sleep but it is different what is suitable for different guests. The beds in one wing have gotten great review so I´m very sorry to hear about your lack of sleep. We decided to have tea and coffee for all our guests in the common area. I have great news though, we are building a 4* hotel now and there we´ll have phones, coffee and tea in all the rooms and a great bar with amazing view over the hot spring area with many selection and the new hotel will be connected to the restaurant as well as new spa. I hope that you'll then try our new hotel and hopefully you'll get a great night sleep. Nice to hear about the food and the service, it is also very important to us that all guests get great food at Geysir.

Thank you again for your review, it is always great to hear from our guest and it is good to get an Icelandic perspective as well. We really hope to see you again when our new hotel arrives.
Best regards,
Hotel Geysir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I liked my little cabin room at this hotel. It reminded me of the 1970s and was very relaxing. This hotel is simple but clean and comfortable. I enjoyed sitting in the dining room, as I saw the big geysir blast every few minutes. The food was ambitious but not pulled off to the standard one would expect for the price.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allisonlaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Selfoss hotels
25.4 mi away
Hotel Borealis
Hotel Borealis
#3 of 8 in Selfoss
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
27.0 mi away
Hotel Grimsborgir
Hotel Grimsborgir
#1 of 8 in Selfoss
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
31.6 mi away
ION Adventure Hotel
ION Adventure Hotel
#5 of 8 in Selfoss
3.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.4 mi away
Hotel Selfoss
Hotel Selfoss
#2 of 8 in Selfoss
4.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
22.5 mi away
Fosshotel Hekla
Fosshotel Hekla
#4 of 8 in Selfoss
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Gullfoss
Hotel Gullfoss
#2 of 26 in Selfoss
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Geysir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Geysir

Property: Hotel Geysir
Address: | Haukadalur, Selfoss 801, Iceland
Region: Iceland > South Region > Selfoss
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Selfoss
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Geysir 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The trademark of Iceland, the great Geysir, gave the hotel its name and Geysir is situated right outside the front door of the hotel. Haukadalur is one of Iceland's most famous historical sites, both ancient and today. The farmer's son from Haukadalur, Sigurdur Greipsson, founded a sports school in his father's inheritance at Haukadalur, which he operated with his wife Sigrun Bjarnadottir for a period of forty-three years. Today Hotel Geysir is run by descendant of Sigurdur Greipsson, Mar Sigurdsson (youngest son of Sigurdur and Sigrun) and his wife Sigridur Vilhjalmsdottur along with their children, Mabil Groa and Sigurdur.The Geysir-Center, which is directly opposite the geothermal area of Geysir and Strokkur, consists of a whole building complex with elegant restaurants, souvenir shop, outdoor and clothing store, snack shop, Geysir museum with multimedia show and camping area. Also there is a golf course, fishing, hiking trails, outdoor paradise the Haukadalur woods, Langjokull glacier tours and other activities such as highland tours. Therefore it is perfect for day trips because of many different possibilities of entertainment. Further details of activities in the region is available at the hotel's website hotelgeysir.Is. His landmark of Iceland is a spectacular natural phenomenon beyond description. The geothermal field surrounding the Great Geyser is the definitive geyser, having given its name to the geological phenomena. The Strokkur, another famous geyser located nearby, gives a performance every few minutes, shooting a tower of water and steam 30 meters into the air. There are other attractions apart from the magnificent geysers. For example, Blesi, a hot spring with water the colour of turquoise delights the senses. Walking about this natural wonder, one experiences the intensity of the forces of nature. Night time offers a fascinating view of the bubbling hot springs and the northern lights. A pot of boiling water takes on new dimensions.We place great pride in that all are equally pleased at the arrival and departure and your stay will be pleasant and memorable.Hotel RoomsThe hotel has twenty four double studio rooms in bungalows beside the river and twelve rooms in one wing, just two minutes from the thermal fields.All in all, this has to be the perfect framework for rest, relaxation, and getting charged up for the next activity. Access for disabled people is available both in hotel rooms, restaurants and toilets.The hotel has hot tub indoor with water from the geser, which are good to relax after a walk around the area. Iceland is an island capable of tempting visitors to a host of activities. One should however not forget that vacations are also for taking advantage of time by relaxing body and soul to the utmost. To reach this level of relaxation it is essential that the surroundings be conducive to this. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Geysir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Geysir Hotel Selfoss
Hotel Geysir Iceland/Selfoss

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing