We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy log cabin in stunning location!”
other travellers have booked this property
With a view to the Northern Lights
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
With a view to the Northern Lights
The hottub is situation to the South West on the veranda The back door entrance from the veranda
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
18 reviews
With a view to the Northern Lights
The hottub is situation to the South West on the veranda
The back door entrance from the veranda
The 77m2 veranda
This large veranda was built in the summer 2013
The view from the road
The view to the river from the (old) veranda
The kitchen
Basic spices
The dining area
Tooth picks on stock
The kitchen table: new pillow cases (home sewn in 2014)
The dinner table extension is located under the window
The living room
The indoor fire stove
Firewood provided
The living /dining area
A wall decoration
The master bedroom
The smaller bedroom
The bath room
Bathroom cabinet (new home sewn curtain, summer 2014)
Sewing Box
The Weber
Four baby birds hatching out of their eggs
The four baby birds five days later
Sunrise in August 2015
Sunset – Summer 2013
The view south to Hvítá (during an unusually dry summer)
Northern lights – outside of cabin (February 2013)
Northern lights – outside of cabin (February 2013)
Winter Resort!
Christmas 2011
December 2011 – the view to south
A beautiful sunny day in the December snow
Lake Hestvatn (five min. drive away)
Kidjaberg Golf Course – two min. away
Swimming pool at Borg (10 km. away)
There are several horse rentals in the area
River Hvitá (Whilte River) – A Salmon River
This is how big the fish come in River Hvítá
Rafting in Hvitá River
Skálholt – one of two ancient epischopal sees of Iceland – during the years 1056–1785 – 18 min.
Hrunalaug – 35 min. drive
Thingvellir – Iceland's oldest national park – 35 min. drive
Gullfoss – 40 min. drive
Geysir – 35 min. drive away
Strokkur erupting
Gljúfrasteinn in Mosfellsdalur – the home of Iceland's nobel prize winner, Halldór Laxnes – 50 min away
Mount Eyjafjallajökull in action – 50 min. drive
Gjáin in Thjórsárdalur – one hour and 45 min. away
Reykjadalur – half an hour drive and half an hour walk
Bláfjöll – Skiing area between Reykjavík and the cabin
Þríhnúkagígur – A crater in Þríhnúkar, four km. west of Bláfjöll
Landmannalaugar – The south inland – one hour and 45 min. drive away
Veidivotn – a lake area at the south inland – one hour and 40 min. drive away
Fjallabak Nature Reserve – Behind the mountains in the South Inland
The glacier lagoon Jokulsarlon – A four hours drive
The black sand area on the south coast
Reynisdrangar – on the south coast
Vatnajokull – Iceland's largest glacier
Arnarker in Leitarhraun Lava Field (off road 385)
In the middle of the Golden Circle!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Selfoss, South Region

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
John Y
Paisley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy log cabin in stunning location!”
Reviewed 28 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We recently stayed in this lovely little log cabin and enjoyed everything about it. I expected it to be cold at times but there was no problem with this due to the under floor heating. It was very well equipped in all aspects - a real home from home.
Watching the sunrise from the hot tub in the morning was stunning and we were lucky enough to also see the northern lights on our very first night - amazing!
I would definitely recommend this experience.
Thank you ladies

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2017
Thank you to John, for your kind words! I'm glad that you guys enjoyed your stay and that you were able to see the Northern Lights. If you want to return, we offer a 20% discount to repeat-customers. :D
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaisleyCr...
Paisley
2 reviews
“Mrs”
Reviewed 21 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Lovely comfortable well equipped log cabin with excellent hot tub Able to enjoy a very relaxing holiday and also visit the Geyser and the Blue lagoon and the Secret Lagoon

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Oct 2017
Glad to hear that you guys enjoyed your stay! If you want to return, we offer a 20% repeat-customer discount.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ari S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I didn't want to go home!”
Reviewed 17 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

What a marvelous stay at a fantastic place. We really enjoyed being in this nice cottage. The view, especially the hot tub and the atmosphere was amazing. We visited Eyjafjallajökull, the Reykjanes Peninsula, Eyrarbakki, Gullfoss, the geysir Strokkur, Thingvellir and Sólheimar. The owner's welcoming for us was heartful and we felt so much at home. We hope the owners will keep this place as it is, for us to come back. <3.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2016
Thank you, A, for your kind words. You guys are welcome back any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 27 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
29 Jun 2016
Actually, there was a mixup in the dates. My sister had registered arrival the next day, but this was unproblematic since the keys are in a key box outside the cabin, so KimYing and his wife had no problems getting in when they arrived. My sister and her husband drove up immediately with linens and towels when they discovered this and everything sorted itself out fine.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
berg145
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic – in one word!”
Reviewed 8 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My family and I had an amazing time in the little log cabin by the river. It snowed quite heavily and it was beautiful. My little daugher saw snow for the first time in her life. The cabin was warm and cosy, and we particularly loved the floor heating, the feeling of a warm floor under our toes after having tread the cold snow outside. The view was stunning, the location fantastic and the sisters wonderful. Highly recommended!

Berg

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Feb 2016
Thank you, Berg, for your very kind words. We're really happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our little family cabin. You're welcome back anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
breathein...
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Bad Communication.”
Reviewed 18 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Me and 2 other friends stated in this cabin for 5 days in January 2016. The cabin is absolutely stunning, cosy and e really loved it. The location is superb and the view is unique.

Unfortunately, when we arrived we discovered that the jacuzzi wasn't working and it wasn't communicated to us even though we booked the cabin 4 months prior our departure.

We we questioned the owner about it we understood that there had been a storm in Iceland a few days before and the jacuzzi broke.

For us it was a very big let down as it was our friend's 30th the day after our arrival and we had been looking forward to it for a very long time. Unfortunately it didn't happen and we had to make other plans on her birthday morning rather that just stay in the jacuzzi and relaxing.

We would have appreciated a phone call or an email from the cabin company to inform us about the unavailability of the jacuzzi rather that find out by ourselves. Only because of this my review is "poor".

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fireplace
Liked least: The broken jacuzzi
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2016
Dear Lucy,
My sisters and I were working day and night on trying to have the jacuzzi fixed until the day you arrived, and of course, we did not want to alarm you in vain in case we would succeed in having it fixed, which was our hope. I believe that all other communication between us went very well, and I also hope that you appreciated the 50% refund we gave you because the jacuzzi was down. I would also like to reiterate my earlier offer of free days in the cabin if you come back to Iceland at another occasion.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Icelandfa...
Leipzig, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy cabin with a fantastic view”
Reviewed 23 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely, cosy cabin, ideally located to visit all the highlights in South Iceland, short distance and easy to drive to and from. Very friendly, very helpful owners. Spatious, three possible sleeping rooms available, clean and full of interesting souvenirs. Shopping in Selfoss just 20 min to drive. Great view onto the river Hvita, very peaceful, quiet, well equipped for self catering. Nice swimming pool just 5 min away in Borg. Huge patio to sit and watch the birds, even our older kids loved to stroll around. The guests before us left a very dirty, unusable barbequue, which was a pity. And we did not know how to use the hot pot which was rather not hot - but the swimming pools are much nicer, anyway! Great place! Thanks!

Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2015
Dear Steffi,
Thank you so much for you very positive review. We're really glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay in our cabin. You know that we have a 20% repeat-customer discount, if you want to return.
Best,
Jóhanna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing