We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT LOCATION BUT DOWDY”
Review of Hotel Selfoss

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Selfoss
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Selfoss
Certificate of Excellence
Bartlesville OK
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“GREAT LOCATION BUT DOWDY”
Reviewed 18 July 2011

I stayed at the Hotel Selfoss in late June 2011. I did not have a reservation and the hotel was very full with several German bus tour groups. I arrived at about 8:00 in the evening and the kind (lady) desk clerk offered me a room facing the water for approximately $160 for the night. This is a bargain in Iceland. The hotel was a bit dowdy and had seen better days but the location (and the wonderful breakfast) made up for it. Some quick notes about Iceland: 1) gasoline is the equivalent of $9/gallon (it cost me $125 a day for fuel for my small Hyundai hatchback); 2) the new enlarged gift shop at Geysir Center is probably the best in Iceland; 3) all street and road signs are in Icelandic so get GPS for the rental car; 4) bring sunglasses and binoculars - you'll need them; 5) wear plenty of layers but don't bother bringing a hat or umbrella - the wind blows too hard for either to do you any good; and finally 6) get to the airport on your return flight with at least 2 1/2 hours to spare as you will want to get reimbursed for the VAT you spent on purchases over $40. Having said all of that, Iceland was the most wonderful place I have ever visited - the scenery along the south coast is incredible. I hope to go back next year to visit the north coast.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VolcanoGroupie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    190
    79
    19
    8
See reviews for
52
192
23
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Meilen, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2011

During an organized bus tour through Iceland, we stayed here during one night.

After all the rooms with just a shower, I enjoyed having a bath tub again! The room was spacious, clean and quiet. With the comfortable bed, I slept really well here. The staff was helpful and friendly. We ate dinner here as a group and we all enjoyed it. The breakfast buffet was one of the best I've had in Iceland.

My only complaint is that the rooms are a bit worn. I've read reviews stating that the bath room is dirty. I think these are water stains which cannot be removed anymore. But it made the bath room look a bit cheap. Also, there's no WiFi in the rooms, but I could borrow a cable from the reception and connect that way to the internet from the room.

Overall, I was pleasantly surprised and would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GundamWing101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 406 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2010

hotel by the river. mid size hotel, nothing special just a stop in iceland

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brownfootedboobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
358 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2010

We stopped at this hotel after our day's journey through the Golden Circle. The hotel is conveniently located just off the ring road beside the river and with nice river views (be sure you request a river view room when you make your reservation). It has a very spacious lobby and nice dining room, though we only had (a decent) breakfast there. Rooms were adequate and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drfumblefinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wien
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2010

After a good first impression you come to realise that the beds are worn out and that the shower curtain fixation is in bad condition. I got really annoyed at the breakfast room, as the personnel was unable to restock the buffet within half an hour or to get us a clean table (or a spoon). It is not like this is the worst hotel ever, it's just that I do not know how they got 4 stars.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NWagner88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2010

This may once have been quite a nice hotel, but not any more.

The outside windows had paint peeling off them, our balcony door had a broken lock, the loo seat had broken fittings, the corridors were filthy and the rooms of only average cleanliness, windows were misted where the seals had gone ... a general picture of mess and dilapidation.

Perhaps worse of all breakfast was served to several parties on the same tables, but there were insufficient staff to clean the tables between parties (even though the dining room didn't appear to be particularly busy), meaning the tables were filthy if you wanted a leisurely start and you had to lay up yourself.

Having said that it should be noted that there was nothing especially badly wrong with the hotel - just everything wasn't quite right - except the reception which was slick and welcoming and the room had excellent views over the river.

If the hotel had 1 or 2 stars I would probably have no complaints at all, but as a reasonably priced 4 star hotel, it really should do a lot better.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francisthetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odense, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2010

I stayed in the hotel with a group of about 40. Previously a handful of us had gone to the hotel for inspection of the rooms and accommodation in which the hotel staff showed them their "new wing" with recently upgraded and generally nice rooms. They did not mention that many of us would be staying in the older wing of the hotel with bathrooms, beds and walls that were probably last updated in the seventies.

When I came to the hotel with my wife we were led up three flights of stairs to one of the older rooms. The elevator was out of order and had apparently been so for some while. I asked why we were put there instead of one of the rooms they had shown us and was that only a limited number of the newer rooms existed and they were now all occupied. Seeing that I would be spending the weekend in a lot worse rooms than the rest of the group I asked if they would grant those of us staying in the older rooms some kind of a discount. The answer was a plain and simple no, out of the question, and we paid the same price as those in the new rooms.

The room in question had some sort of a mid seventies pink colored theme to it, with a smelly old carpet and the paint starting to fall of the walls. (see pictures) The bottom of the shower was market out by a thin wooden list, about 1/2 inch tall, which meant that using the shower flooded the entire bathroom. This had apparently had an effect on the loose linoleum on the bathroom floor. Furthermore, the toilet itself had obviously not been cleaned to expected standards over the years (see picture). To top the bathroom of we found an empty sanitary paper roll on a tacky little table which posed as the bathroom's fixture.

Finally, and to top it all of, there was a heap of cigarette stubs on the balcony which obviously none of the staff had seen a reason to clear before our arrival (see picture).

I have stayed in budged hotels throughout Europe and even hotels southern Africa but never seen such poor standards!

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SnorreHansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selfoss
11.3 mi away
Hotel Borealis
Hotel Borealis
#3 of 8 in Selfoss
213 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hotel Grimsborgir
Hotel Grimsborgir
#1 of 8 in Selfoss
617 reviews
19.9 mi away
Stracta Hotel Hella
Stracta Hotel Hella
#2 of 5 in Hella
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Frost and Fire Hotel
Frost and Fire Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hveragerdi
620 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arctic Nature Hotel
Arctic Nature Hotel
#7 of 8 in Selfoss
61 reviews
14.5 mi away
Fosshotel Hekla
Fosshotel Hekla
#4 of 8 in Selfoss
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Selfoss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Selfoss

Property: Hotel Selfoss
Address: Eyrarvegur 2, Selfoss 800, Iceland
Region: Iceland > South Region > Selfoss
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Selfoss
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Selfoss 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to Hotel Selfoss City Chic in a relaxed, rural setting. Who says you can't have it all "A stone's throw" from Reykjavik and a perfect base from which to explore Iceland's exotic south. Hotel Selfoss is located on the banks of the majestic Olfusa River in the town of Selfoss - the self proclaimed agricultural capital of Iceland. The hotel embraces a soothing water theme - ever present in the tasteful architectural features that run trough the hotel's bright and modern design element. The hotel houses 99 well equipped, stylish rooms including a luxury suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Selfoss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Selfoss Iceland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing