We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“was only there late at night..”
Review of Hotel Selfoss

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Selfoss
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Selfoss
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 September 2012

I stopped here to get some sleep as I was driving back from the ferry after the Westman Islands Festival. The gentleman at the desk gave me a half night rate because of the very late arrival time (3:30 AM). The exterior is bland but once you walk in it is very nice and has a modern look.
My room had a river view, was very clean and a nice size. I went straight to sleep and left around 11 am the next day so I can't comment on any of the other services there.
It's not like there are lots of choices in hotels once you leave Reykjavik, especially late at night so I was very happy to have found anyplace !!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JR M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (438)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

274 - 280 of 438 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2012

Even considering Iceland is not a cheap country for hotel, I found this resort not as 4 stars one. The room was quite big, but the fornituires were old. The same is for the bathroom. I booked a double premium room and payed about Euro 200, breakfast included. Breakfast was standard, but not at the expected quality for a 4 stars hotel. Bee carefull as the hotel can be very crowded by tourist operators groups. The reception staff was not friendly. At teh end, I would say this is a non more than 3 stars hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 13,944,935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Recent stay for two nights (July 23 & 24). The original building is showing it's age as you approach the property. As you enter the foyer it is quite pleasant and modern, as was the restaurant/bar/breakfast area, so it was promising, as we were given a river view room.

I guess it was the "luck of the draw" even thought the booking was done months ago, we arrived around 5 pm and was told that the room was not ready. Yes, the view was great but the room was in the older section - the balcony needed a good power washing and there were cigarette butts on the balcony floor. The room was small compared to other places, as you open the door to the bathroom, you walked straight into the toilet which was about 10" from the door and the shower stall is at an angle.

Internet access was hopeless, even though they claimed to have it but did not indicate the best hot spots. At check out, I asked and was told that all the room were the same. It seems that the hotel has been around for about two decades and there is a newer addition but the front desk person did not know the exact years.

Breakfast included a good variety of choices, However,scrambled eggs, mini sausages, hash brown were not hot. Would I stay there again.. probably not.

Room Tip: Request a river view room in the newer section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mshjournies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

I spent a week at the Hotel Selfoss at a conference. The conference facilities are great - a big lecture room and two smaller rooms for posters. The conference dinner they provided (lamb and salmon) was the best I have ever had at a conference - no rubber chicken here. Be sure to get a room on the river side, with a view of the rushing river and a mountain behind. There is free wifi internet in the lobby, or in your room with a cable (bring one with you). There are dark curtains behind the regular ones, but you have to look for them. Breakfast was OK. Rooms were clean and spacious.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeeTheWorld4Peace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Technically I guess this hotel ticked the boxes, it was clean and had rooms, but beyond that everything was just about as bland and insipid as it could be, the breakfast was poor and the beds uncomfortable, all of which matched the grim village outside. I'd suggest driving a few miles down the road and looking for somewhere better.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Clean, spacious rooms, efficient staff who spoke great English, good breakfast with plenty of options, and great views of the river. We asked for rooms facing the river for our whole group, which we didn't get, but the rooms facing the road were quiet enough, just lacking a view. All in all a nice hotel which I would recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laila Perine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

We were lucky enough to get a room with a view of the river, which was clean and quiet. However there was no internet reception there (it only functions in a small area of the hotel). Also, breakfast was hugely disappointing even though we arrived before 9am. No hot option (this had been offered at every other hotel or guesthouse we'd stayed at even if it was waffles, porridge or eggs) and it seemed to be impossible to get a hot cup of coffee. My husband pointed out that the coffee was cold and the staff member stuck their finger in a cup and said "it's warm"! When I later went to mention that there was no hot coffee to the reception staff (who were pleasant) as there was no-one to complain to, staff came in to clear away the coffee but no replacement was offered!! These little things can really irritate... Guest satisfaction has seemed really important at the other places we have stayed at, so although the hotel itself was fine, we weren't left with a good impression sadly.

Room Tip: Definitely a room overlooking the river and church should be requested if available. Also, for a de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CambridgeBimbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selfoss
7.2 mi away
Frost and Fire Hotel
Frost and Fire Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hveragerdi
670 reviews
11.3 mi away
Hotel Borealis
Hotel Borealis
#3 of 8 in Selfoss
242 reviews
8 mi away
Hotel Grimsborgir
Hotel Grimsborgir
#1 of 8 in Selfoss
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Fosshotel Hekla
Fosshotel Hekla
#4 of 8 in Selfoss
358 reviews
33.4 mi away
Hotel Geysir
Hotel Geysir
#5 of 8 in Selfoss
314 reviews
19.9 mi away
Stracta Hotel
Stracta Hotel
#2 of 5 in Hella
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Selfoss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Selfoss

Address: Eyrarvegur 2, Selfoss 800, Iceland
Region: Iceland > South Region > Selfoss
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Selfoss
Price Range: £104 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Selfoss 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to Hotel Selfoss City Chic in a relaxed, rural setting. Who says you can't have it all "A stone's throw" from Reykjavik and a perfect base from which to explore Iceland's exotic south. Hotel Selfoss is located on the banks of the majestic Olfusa River in the town of Selfoss - the self proclaimed agricultural capital of Iceland. The hotel embraces a soothing water theme - ever present in the tasteful architectural features that run trough the hotel's bright and modern design element. The hotel houses 99 well equipped, stylish rooms including a luxury suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Selfoss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Selfoss Iceland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing