We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Selfoss”
Review of Hotel Selfoss

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Selfoss
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Selfoss
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Hotel very convenient location, especially as we visited the south glaciers, waterfalls and black sands at Vik. Great place to start the Golden Circle trip.
Rooms were spacious and we had a view of the river, as we had requested.
Good breakfast, with plenty of options

Room Tip: Request a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dipper999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (438)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

269 - 275 of 438 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2013

The receptionist that greeted us was a little frosty (like the weather!), but other receptionists we dealt with we're very helpful.

The hotel was 'clean cut' and somewhat minimalist but the rooms were spacious and comfortable. The rooms included a safe, locked mini bar, English channels on tv, but no tea/coffee making facilities. There was a useful guide to operating the over bath shower! As elsewhere in Iceland the hot water suffered from a strong sulphur smell. Though there was an Ethernet port for free Internet access in the room, the wifi signal did not reach (all of) the bedrooms. The wifi signal was available in the somewhat sparcely furnished reception and restaurant though.

The restaurant was busy early on the Sunday night as it was offering a special deal to attract locals at a normally quiet time of year. We ate later, and enjoyed a good meal from a reasonable menu, though the prices reflected typical Icelandic rates (not particularly cheap). The waitress was chatty and attentive.

Breakfast was buffet style with a reasonable choice of cereals, fruit and other continental style foods, though staff were difficult to find at times.

Across the road there was a nice, cheap, Thai (though it seemed to have a chinese edge) restaurant as an alternative dining option.

Overall a pleasant and clean hotel, though we perhaps wouldn't put it top of our list of hotels if choosing to return to Iceland.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Willsca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Hotel Selfoss is a great place to stay. Room was nice with a view of river, and it was Euro style and clean. The service was good as well from the front desk staff. They had a problem with the wirelss internet when we were there, where people could only get service from the lobby. This was a bit inconvenient. Otherwise, it was okay. The location was also good for sightseeing. The breakfast is sufficient, and can be quite nourishing. If you are there for more than a few days, however, it can get repetitive, if you tire of the same food. Was always fresh, and pleasant tasting.

Room Tip: any floor with a view of the river, will do nicely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akamai_gurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

Very nice hotel. We were given a room very far at the end of the hall in the first floor. Could not quite understand why, but then we saw there was a big Christmas party coming on next evening and that way they made sure we were not disturbed. The room was nice with the view of the river. We also had dinner at the hotel one night and would recommend this, as the food was very good. Service at dinner was not perfect, but they apologised to us and our wine was for free. (The other dinning option is a Thai restaurant next to the hotel parking.) Breakfast offers enough variety, although no tea cups are provided (only small for coffee). Unfortunately, no kettle in the room to brew your own coffee or tea. As far as I understand, you get entrance to the swimming facilities around the hotel with the hotel card, but as they close early in the evening, we did not managed to try that. I would recommend a stay in this hotel. Wi-fi worked without any problem, although we were distant from reception area, where we were told the signal is the strongest. No floor heating in the bathroom, so I recommend you bring warm slippers to put on your feet while in the room, if travelling in the winter months. Selfoss is a good starting point for many Icelandic attractions and you can spend a few days in this hotel, travelling to the south coast from here, Gulfoss, Blue Lagoon or Reykjavik.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anaiiis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

This hotel is newly modernised. Our room was bright and clean with a great view out to the river.
We didn't eat in the restaurant but the buffet breakfast was plentiful, very quiet during our visit and we were the only people eating.
Selfoss is really well located for exploring the Golden Circle attractions, only about 45 minute drive to Geysir, Gullfoss, Thingvillir etc.
Would also recommend the Thai restaurant just across from the hotel car park, really delicious food.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HayleyMace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

I stopped here to get some sleep as I was driving back from the ferry after the Westman Islands Festival. The gentleman at the desk gave me a half night rate because of the very late arrival time (3:30 AM). The exterior is bland but once you walk in it is very nice and has a modern look.
My room had a river view, was very clean and a nice size. I went straight to sleep and left around 11 am the next day so I can't comment on any of the other services there.
It's not like there are lots of choices in hotels once you leave Reykjavik, especially late at night so I was very happy to have found anyplace !!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JR M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Even considering Iceland is not a cheap country for hotel, I found this resort not as 4 stars one. The room was quite big, but the fornituires were old. The same is for the bathroom. I booked a double premium room and payed about Euro 200, breakfast included. Breakfast was standard, but not at the expected quality for a 4 stars hotel. Bee carefull as the hotel can be very crowded by tourist operators groups. The reception staff was not friendly. At teh end, I would say this is a non more than 3 stars hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 13,944,935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selfoss
8 mi away
Hotel Grimsborgir
Hotel Grimsborgir
#1 of 8 in Selfoss
646 reviews
14.5 mi away
Fosshotel Hekla
Fosshotel Hekla
#4 of 8 in Selfoss
354 reviews
11.3 mi away
Hotel Borealis
Hotel Borealis
#3 of 8 in Selfoss
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Frost and Fire Hotel
Frost and Fire Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hveragerdi
665 reviews
19.9 mi away
Stracta Hotel
Stracta Hotel
#2 of 5 in Hella
550 reviews
33.4 mi away
Hotel Geysir
Hotel Geysir
#5 of 8 in Selfoss
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Selfoss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Selfoss

Address: Eyrarvegur 2, Selfoss 800, Iceland
Region: Iceland > South Region > Selfoss
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Selfoss
Price Range: £107 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Selfoss 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to Hotel Selfoss City Chic in a relaxed, rural setting. Who says you can't have it all "A stone's throw" from Reykjavik and a perfect base from which to explore Iceland's exotic south. Hotel Selfoss is located on the banks of the majestic Olfusa River in the town of Selfoss - the self proclaimed agricultural capital of Iceland. The hotel embraces a soothing water theme - ever present in the tasteful architectural features that run trough the hotel's bright and modern design element. The hotel houses 99 well equipped, stylish rooms including a luxury suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Selfoss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Selfoss Iceland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing