We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel”
Review of Hotel Selfoss

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Selfoss
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Selfoss
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Hotel Selfoss was fine for the 1 night we stayed, and is a reasonable stopping off point between the glaciers and the Golden Circle. Its a chain hotel and looks like one, our room was clean but nothing amazing. Wouldn't have wanted to stay more than 1 night as nothing to do in the vicinity in an evening; there are better locations for the Golden Circle and glaciers themselves.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (437)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

264 - 270 of 438 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2013

Frankly, we chose this hotel purely because of the location, close to Vik. The hotel was quiet, clean and well, unremarkable. It's a clean, quiet, unassuming place to sleep and shower. It's claim to fame is that it is conveniently located to Myrdalsjokull Glacier, the largest glacier in Iceland. Nice for a glacier walk. Also the lava black sand beach with basalt cliffs. (several tour operators offer jeep off road trips).

Room Tip: I guess all the rooms are about the same, certainly no rooms with a much better view or noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taxtracker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Relatively inexpensive decent lodging. Hotel is worn around the edges and needs some serious maintenance. However, it was clean. Do not expect much personal attention. My wife said that it looked like every employee was nervous, afraid their next paycheck might bounce. If you go demand a room with a view of the river and if you do not get that don't go.

Stayed: May 2013
Thank orangecityguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

It was a pleasurable experience to stay here. I slept well and there was good WiFi connection. It was clean and a nice place. The breakfast buffet was very nice. There is a lot to see nearby too. I would highly recommend walking into town and going to the local swimming pool. There are also some good food places in close proximity.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julez_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Hotel Selfoss is modern, convenient and comfortable. Breakfast was good, rooms clean and spacious and it is just down the road from a place called "Burger Joint" that offered great food and and equally great vibe.

Room Tip: Ask for a waterside room - excellent view of river and bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Hotel very convenient location, especially as we visited the south glaciers, waterfalls and black sands at Vik. Great place to start the Golden Circle trip.
Rooms were spacious and we had a view of the river, as we had requested.
Good breakfast, with plenty of options

Room Tip: Request a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dipper999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

The receptionist that greeted us was a little frosty (like the weather!), but other receptionists we dealt with we're very helpful.

The hotel was 'clean cut' and somewhat minimalist but the rooms were spacious and comfortable. The rooms included a safe, locked mini bar, English channels on tv, but no tea/coffee making facilities. There was a useful guide to operating the over bath shower! As elsewhere in Iceland the hot water suffered from a strong sulphur smell. Though there was an Ethernet port for free Internet access in the room, the wifi signal did not reach (all of) the bedrooms. The wifi signal was available in the somewhat sparcely furnished reception and restaurant though.

The restaurant was busy early on the Sunday night as it was offering a special deal to attract locals at a normally quiet time of year. We ate later, and enjoyed a good meal from a reasonable menu, though the prices reflected typical Icelandic rates (not particularly cheap). The waitress was chatty and attentive.

Breakfast was buffet style with a reasonable choice of cereals, fruit and other continental style foods, though staff were difficult to find at times.

Across the road there was a nice, cheap, Thai (though it seemed to have a chinese edge) restaurant as an alternative dining option.

Overall a pleasant and clean hotel, though we perhaps wouldn't put it top of our list of hotels if choosing to return to Iceland.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Willsca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selfoss
8 mi away
Hotel Grimsborgir
Hotel Grimsborgir
#1 of 8 in Selfoss
645 reviews
11.3 mi away
Hotel Borealis
Hotel Borealis
#3 of 8 in Selfoss
239 reviews
14.5 mi away
Fosshotel Hekla
Fosshotel Hekla
#4 of 8 in Selfoss
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Frost and Fire Hotel
Frost and Fire Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hveragerdi
662 reviews
19.9 mi away
Stracta Hotel
Stracta Hotel
#2 of 5 in Hella
550 reviews
31.4 mi away
ION Adventure Hotel
ION Adventure Hotel
#6 of 8 in Selfoss
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Selfoss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Selfoss

Address: Eyrarvegur 2, Selfoss 800, Iceland
Region: Iceland > South Region > Selfoss
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Selfoss
Price Range: £112 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Selfoss 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to Hotel Selfoss City Chic in a relaxed, rural setting. Who says you can't have it all "A stone's throw" from Reykjavik and a perfect base from which to explore Iceland's exotic south. Hotel Selfoss is located on the banks of the majestic Olfusa River in the town of Selfoss - the self proclaimed agricultural capital of Iceland. The hotel embraces a soothing water theme - ever present in the tasteful architectural features that run trough the hotel's bright and modern design element. The hotel houses 99 well equipped, stylish rooms including a luxury suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Selfoss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Selfoss Iceland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing