We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“okay, but overrated”
Review of Hotel Selfoss

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Selfoss
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Selfoss
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2010

After a good first impression you come to realise that the beds are worn out and that the shower curtain fixation is in bad condition. I got really annoyed at the breakfast room, as the personnel was unable to restock the buffet within half an hour or to get us a clean table (or a spoon). It is not like this is the worst hotel ever, it's just that I do not know how they got 4 stars.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NWagner88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (438)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

293 - 299 of 438 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2010

This may once have been quite a nice hotel, but not any more.

The outside windows had paint peeling off them, our balcony door had a broken lock, the loo seat had broken fittings, the corridors were filthy and the rooms of only average cleanliness, windows were misted where the seals had gone ... a general picture of mess and dilapidation.

Perhaps worse of all breakfast was served to several parties on the same tables, but there were insufficient staff to clean the tables between parties (even though the dining room didn't appear to be particularly busy), meaning the tables were filthy if you wanted a leisurely start and you had to lay up yourself.

Having said that it should be noted that there was nothing especially badly wrong with the hotel - just everything wasn't quite right - except the reception which was slick and welcoming and the room had excellent views over the river.

If the hotel had 1 or 2 stars I would probably have no complaints at all, but as a reasonably priced 4 star hotel, it really should do a lot better.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francisthetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2010

I stayed in the hotel with a group of about 40. Previously a handful of us had gone to the hotel for inspection of the rooms and accommodation in which the hotel staff showed them their "new wing" with recently upgraded and generally nice rooms. They did not mention that many of us would be staying in the older wing of the hotel with bathrooms, beds and walls that were probably last updated in the seventies.

When I came to the hotel with my wife we were led up three flights of stairs to one of the older rooms. The elevator was out of order and had apparently been so for some while. I asked why we were put there instead of one of the rooms they had shown us and was that only a limited number of the newer rooms existed and they were now all occupied. Seeing that I would be spending the weekend in a lot worse rooms than the rest of the group I asked if they would grant those of us staying in the older rooms some kind of a discount. The answer was a plain and simple no, out of the question, and we paid the same price as those in the new rooms.

The room in question had some sort of a mid seventies pink colored theme to it, with a smelly old carpet and the paint starting to fall of the walls. (see pictures) The bottom of the shower was market out by a thin wooden list, about 1/2 inch tall, which meant that using the shower flooded the entire bathroom. This had apparently had an effect on the loose linoleum on the bathroom floor. Furthermore, the toilet itself had obviously not been cleaned to expected standards over the years (see picture). To top the bathroom of we found an empty sanitary paper roll on a tacky little table which posed as the bathroom's fixture.

Finally, and to top it all of, there was a heap of cigarette stubs on the balcony which obviously none of the staff had seen a reason to clear before our arrival (see picture).

I have stayed in budged hotels throughout Europe and even hotels southern Africa but never seen such poor standards!

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SnorreHansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2009

We have nothing bad to say about this hotel. The rooms were clean, the staff were friendly and helpful, the location was great for what we were doing at that time. There was even a computer available in the lobby for guests to use. This was great for the kids to check up on their emails.

Breakfast was a typical continental breakfast. Everything was fresh and tasty.

It's not likely that we would stay in this area again, but if we did I would have no problem staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jkingma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2009

On arrival I noticed that the hotel building resembled a prison, was of no arcitectual merit, there were also a fair few shops and services bolted on to the side of the building that had nothing to do with the hotel (e.g. Subway). When I stepped into the apparent 'contemporary and modern' hotel foyer I realised that the atmosphere was suprisingly dim and dingy due to the absence of working light bulbs, quite franky this suggested the 'can't be bothered' nature of the hotel employees.

The room: -
The room which I stayed in for my three night stay was of a satisfactory standard. All necessary features were present including TV, adequate bathroom and comfortable beds. However, there were a number of problems with the accommodation including the fact that the bed duvet did not fit the bed, there were too many light switches for the same light bulb (if it worked!) and the piece of wood that divided the rooms were a huge tripping hazard (I tripped on them multiple times). In addition, the lack of coffee and tea making facilities and a trouser press in the 'four star' rooms was an utter abhorrence.

The restaurant and food: -
The management of the single restaurant was in complete meltdown and the food and drink quality was nearing foul. The first night I received a minimal, cold and unlabelled buffet meal presented on what looked like a kitchen unit with inadequate heating burners. The decor and look of the restaurant is far from what it looks on the pictures as there are a plethora of cracks and fissures in the badly painted eatery walls. The tables were even far from quality, they are constructed using splinter present chipboard and MDF. The invariant dinner consisted of cold rice, ham and pineapple pie without the pastry, some kind of fish roll and thankfully a delightful pasta dish. The Riverside Restaurant claims to have cherished traditions and vibrant innovations, this is with no doubt an overstatement. The waiters and waitresses within the hotel's fleet of unwilling staff happen to be unpunctual and highly bad-mannered, one of my friends even got completely ignored when asking a waitress for more water. The quality of breakfast was an absolute abomination. To start with the two conventional toasters in the restaurant had a combined capacity of four pieces of bread which I consider not ample in a hotel that can accommodate two hundred comfortably. The fruit offered was either dried up melon or an apple which seemed to possess laminated properties, the cheese, ham and salami available tasted horrible and was processed. The drinks were also not tolerable as the orange and apple juices on offer were room temperature and the coffee was too weak. Another downside with the restaurant was the fact that the bar (which was the only accessible bar in the hotel) was extremely over priced as a Coca Cola in a 250ml cost around 300 ISK which is around £2.50 in Sterling.

Services/Facilities: -
I consider the facilities and services available onsite inadequate for a four star complex. The facilities included one bar, one restaurant and a hairdressing salon which were the only open services at my time of stay. The Riverside Spa and shopping mall were far from open throughout my stay, this is highly displeasing considering that the Spa is the most advertised feature. Another let down is the fact that the hotel cater for around two hundred people but only have suffient seating for about twenty five.

How on earth this hotel gots its four star rating I will never know, it only deserves a maximum of two stars! Don't stay here, you will be disappointed!

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hotelcritic123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2008

We stayed at Hotel Selfoss during a five-night stay in December 2008 in Southern Iceland. The location, in reasonably close proximity to the tourist attractions and the breathtaking drives through mountains and volcanic landscapes is very good. It's near enough to drive from the airport in under a couple of hours, and 1 - 1 1/2 hours' drive (weather/traffic permitting) to Reyjavik and the Blue Lagoon, as well as the popular tourist attractions at Geysir and the falls at Gulfoss. The view from the hotel window of the river and snow-capped mountain was delightful, as well as the pretty Selfoss Church.

The room was clean, a reasonable size and well-appointed. The shower worked fine apart from our final morning when I couldn't get any hot water, though I didn't get chance to mention it as we were pressed for time. Also when we returned on the second day, the key card didn't work and it turned out that it had only been activated for one night, which meant that the room hadn't been cleaned during the second day, but the housekeeping for the rest of the stay was very good.

The service at reception was inconspicuous; the staff sat behind a partition and there didn't seem to be a bell to get their attention, so we were left with the awkward position of having to shout to gain their attention. Once they attended to us, they were helpful enough. We ate at the hotel restaurant on a couple of nights; we were going to eat there on the first night but there was function on and the restaurant was closed. The food and the service was very good, and being a vegetarian I was impressed that there were three vegetarian meals on the menu and reasonably priced. The restaurant was lacking in atmosphere, though we visited in mid-December and there were only a small handful of other guests (the most we saw at breakfast were 2 other tables).

All in all, it was a satisfactory stay, and I would stay here again. It's not the most romantic place on earth but comfortable, well appointed and a decent spot to base yourself for sightseeing.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank lk2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2008

We booked our 4-wheel adventure holiday to Iceland at the end of May 08 and we were booked into Hotel Seofoss towards the end of our holiday, so we had stayed in numerous hotels along the way, all of which had been absolutely fine.

We collected our keys and were told that our rooms [2 adults & 2 children] were on the 4th floor! This should have rung alarm bells, as the hotels beautiful extension only goes up 3 floors!!! I think the 4th floor is used as a sort of overflow!!!

The rooms we were offered were REVOLTING! The carpets were very stained, the curtains were ripped and stained yellow, and the room looked like it hadn't seen a lick of paint in 20 yrs!!!!

We went down to reception and asked if there were any other rooms they could offer us and that we were willing to pay for a room upgrade. After going to ask a colleague, which would indicate there may have been something that could be done for us, we were told they were fully booked. We handed back our keys and walked out!!!!

Luckily, we were able to ring our tour operator who managed to get us into the hotel we were booked into the following night, a night early. This meant another 1 1/2 hr journey. Otherwise, I would have rather spent the night in the car!!!

If you are told your room is on the 4th floor of this hotel, RUN A MILE!!!! You have been warned!!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Ruby04WestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selfoss
8 mi away
Hotel Grimsborgir
Hotel Grimsborgir
#1 of 8 in Selfoss
646 reviews
14.5 mi away
Fosshotel Hekla
Fosshotel Hekla
#4 of 8 in Selfoss
354 reviews
11.3 mi away
Hotel Borealis
Hotel Borealis
#3 of 8 in Selfoss
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Frost and Fire Hotel
Frost and Fire Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hveragerdi
665 reviews
19.9 mi away
Stracta Hotel
Stracta Hotel
#2 of 5 in Hella
550 reviews
33.4 mi away
Hotel Geysir
Hotel Geysir
#5 of 8 in Selfoss
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Selfoss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Selfoss

Address: Eyrarvegur 2, Selfoss 800, Iceland
Region: Iceland > South Region > Selfoss
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Selfoss
Price Range: £107 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Selfoss 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to Hotel Selfoss City Chic in a relaxed, rural setting. Who says you can't have it all "A stone's throw" from Reykjavik and a perfect base from which to explore Iceland's exotic south. Hotel Selfoss is located on the banks of the majestic Olfusa River in the town of Selfoss - the self proclaimed agricultural capital of Iceland. The hotel embraces a soothing water theme - ever present in the tasteful architectural features that run trough the hotel's bright and modern design element. The hotel houses 99 well equipped, stylish rooms including a luxury suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Selfoss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Selfoss Iceland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing