We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and nice staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Arctic Nature Hotel
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Selfoss
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We stayed for three nights in the Fosstun Apartment Hotel and were very satisfied with it. The rooms are very spacious and all include a dining and sitting area and small kitchen. The twin beds can be separate or pushed together to form a king. Breakfast was provided in a basket in the fridge each day; simple but good. The family who run the hotel are delightful and were happy to help with any questions and recommendations about the area. It is quite centrally located for day trips to the many attractions in the south of Iceland, and is a quiet and comfortable place to sleep at night. There are not a lot of restaurant choices in Fosstun, but there is a large supermarket within walking distance of the hotel if you care to make a meal in your apartment kitchen. We were very happy to spend three nights here, and would do so again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

28 - 34 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2013

The Fosstun staff welcomed us very kind and showed us our appartment. It was basical and functional but very clean. The breakfast was served in our fridge, do it yourself. In the evening we went around having a look at selfoss, but did not like what we see there. Only the cemetery was peaceful and nice, the rest of the town we did not like. The next day we went eastside to the vestmannaeyar island.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neetjeSeevetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

The rooms are designed like a youth hostel and we did not really like the city of selfoss. The night and sleeping quality was good, the breakfast was okay. You get your own basket at the room and have a breakfast in the room. The bathroom was not completely clean but okay. The price was okay. There is nothing really to see in Selfoss so I recommend to stay in another city around.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NeRieHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

I would describe this place as a simple motel, with very simple, though spacious, rooms. The place was very clean and comfortable. As a place to spend a night on the way to the next spot ib Iceland it's really okay. Breakfast was very poor. All in all it's a good value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yorams111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We booked a family room but were given 2 double rooms for the price of one which worked out fine. There was no down side to the Fosstun Apartments Hotel, easy parking, immaculately clean rooms with full well-equipped kitchens. Limited TV - which didn't really matter to us, strong wireless internet service. A breakfast basket was placed in the refrigerator each day. We spent 2 nights but given the central location of the Selfoss area we could easily have spent a few more days. The are no laundromats in town but we were allowed the use of the hotels machines for a small fee. If we were to return to Selfoss we would be happy to stay at this location again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danielgriffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We stayed here for one night and found the Fosstun perfect for our requirements.
The apartment was reasonably priced and it was a pleasant change not having to share the toilet and shower as seems to be the norm with accommodation in Iceland
The twin beds were comfortable the staff helpful and friendly and having the use of your own small kitchen will save you a fortune

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mik901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

I took a class in Selfoss. During the three week course I stayed in Fosstun. The place was great, staff was happy to help and was very accommodating.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Evan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selfoss
11.5 mi away
Hotel Borealis
Hotel Borealis
#3 of 8 in Selfoss
236 reviews
19.9 mi away
Stracta Hotel
Stracta Hotel
#2 of 5 in Hella
540 reviews
31.4 mi away
ION Adventure Hotel
ION Adventure Hotel
#6 of 8 in Selfoss
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Hotel Grimsborgir
Hotel Grimsborgir
#1 of 8 in Selfoss
643 reviews
14.7 mi away
Fosshotel Hekla
Fosshotel Hekla
#4 of 8 in Selfoss
354 reviews
33.6 mi away
Hotel Geysir
Hotel Geysir
#5 of 8 in Selfoss
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arctic Nature Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arctic Nature Hotel

Address: Eyravegur 26, Selfoss 800, Iceland
Region: Iceland > South Region > Selfoss
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Selfoss
Price Range: £79 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arctic Nature Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Arctic Nature Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arctic Nature Hotel Iceland/Selfoss

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing