We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Such a beautiful place, Thanks Hrafn!”
other travellers have booked this property
A nice relaxing sunny day at the cottage.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A nice relaxing sunny day at the cottage.
The stunning views from the cottage!! The Kitchen on the main floor, with some great view lake & mountain views.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
A nice relaxing sunny day at the cottage.
The stunning views from the cottage!!
The Kitchen on the main floor, with some great view lake & mountain views.
The Kitchen on the main floor, with some great view lake & mountain views.
The Kitchen on the main floor, with some great view lake & mountain views.
The Kitchen on the main floor, with some great view lake & mountain views.
Basement
Tv and entertainment room in the basement.
Bedroom 1 : Bright and cozy bedroom loft 1 ( king size bed / 2 single beds)
20/29: Bedroom 2 : Bright and cozy bedroom loft 2 (queen size bed)
Bedroom 3 : In the lowest floor (queen size bed)
Sunset from the deck
View from the deck
View from the deck over the lake
Winter wonderland
View from the deck on the mainfloor
The house and the 100 square meters deck overlooking the lake and the mountains.
The house and the 100 square meters deck overlooking the lake and the mountains.
Winter Wonderland
A quiet winter night full of stars and snow
Lovely cottage close to Thingvellir
The cottage and the amazing northern lights.
The cottage and the beautiful autumn colors
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Thingvellir, South Region

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Melon2015
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Such a beautiful place, Thanks Hrafn!”
Reviewed 19 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Such a wonderful cottage to call home for our long weekend stay in iceland. The pictures dont do this place justice! The house is lovely and bright, and beautifully warm for when you return after a day of exploring. There is even a drying room for when your clothes get a bit too wet. The views over the lake are out of this world even on a rainy day!! Will definitely recommend to all of my friends!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray C
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fabulous Place”
Reviewed 28 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had an amazing time at this cottage. It's a fantastic location, quite solitary with incredible views, but also right in the heart of many of the best things to see and do in Iceland. It's also ideal for viewing the Northern Lights too as it doesn't have the light pollution of Reykjavik. The cottage itself is excellent, very warm and spacious with good wifi! Hrafn is an excellent host and he couldn't do enough for us. We definitely can't recommend this place highly enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location!
Liked least: It's a little hard to find for the first time, especially in the dark, but it wasn't a major problem.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
magicfish...
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Unbelievably beautiful area.....very comfortable cottage! :0)”
Reviewed 26 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This three storey cottage is wonderful, the photos on here just don't do it justice!. The cottage is tastefully decorated and well equipped. The underfloor heating is a bonus when returning from a snowy walk and the geothermally heated hot tub is a welcome place to relax and watch the stars.
Best of all is its location..... the views from every window are stunning. We were lucky enough to see the Northern lights on three occasions during our weeks stay as its location is unspoilt by town lights. If you like stunning silence, rural locations and lake and mountain views then this is for you.
The property is situated about 20 minutes from Selfoss and 90 minutes from Reykjavik, an easy drive along Route 1. It is situated in the Pingvillar National Park an absolutely beautiful place to explore and walk in. It is central to South West Iceland with Geysir, Gulfoss, Hveragerdi geothermal springs all within easy driving distance. The Blue Lagoon is approx. 90 minutes drive as are many other waterfalls and glaciers. The eruption of Eyjafjallajokull in 2010 is approx. an hour and a half away, the visitor centre is worth a visit.
We had varied weather including snow that simply added to the beauty of the area. A decent car is highly recommended as the property is up a steep driveway.
All in all this property is a perfect base to explore this area of Iceland. The Icelandic people are so friendly, and the country is very child friendly (most places are free to visit, or at least the children go free!).... the photographic oppotunities are endless.
Thank you Hrafn for allowing us to stay in your cottage.....it was delightful :0)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The stunning location. The underfloor heating. Free WiFi
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annaaindi...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Breathtakingly amazing and beautiful!! Absolutely perfect.”
Reviewed 22 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from the most wonderful and amazing adventure in beautiful Iceland. We stayed for 5 days at Hrafns stunning cottage and were blown away with how lovely and peaceful it is. The photos dont do it justice, this house is jawdropingly great!!
It is warm and inviting and well equipped, the beds are comfy and the living room is cosy. It was such a relaxing place to be.
Hrafn was very helpful and kind and met us with the keys and came to find us when we got lost.
The house was perfectly located for all kinds of sightseeing and we managed to cram an awful lot into our trip! It was a comfort to return at the end of a long day and relax in the hot tub.
The view is incredible and it really is so peaceful there. I cant wait to return and we are missing it already.
Thank you Hrafn and Runn for a wonderful effortless holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, the cosyness and peace, the privacy
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea C
Baden, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a place”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Hrafns house is a real treat. Perfect to get away and forget the rest of the world. It is on top of a hill overlooking a beautiful lake.We never tired of the view, the perfect calmness and the pureair.
The house delievers everything that is promised, the hot tub is great. The location is simply perfect for day trips like the golden circle. Easy to get provisions from nearby Selfoss.

Criticism?None. Just an idea: A sofa on ground floor...to sit there and enjoy the view.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim714
Hutton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, fantastic location!”
Reviewed 24 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We traveled from the UK for a quick four-night stay in Iceland. Hrafn met us at a 24-hour grocery store near the airport to provide instructions and give us the key. We had a bit of problem finding it as it was very late at night, but a quick phone call fixed us up. It was truly a treat to wake up in the morning and discover our surroundings - beauty in every direction.

We cooked most of the meals at the cottage and found the items provided were more than sufficient to meet our needs. Enjoyed using the grill outside very much.

We were delighted to discover the sleds in the lower level storage room. There wasn't much snow left on the hill in late March, but we made great use of it. We also enjoyed the hot tub and made use of it each evening.

I would have no worries about making this your Iceland holiday destination.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne J
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic position”
Reviewed 1 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Situated in wonderful position. Wonderfu lplaces to visit.
Very difficult to find as car's sat nav did not recognise position. Hrafn very kindly came to find us.
Description of house accommodation not entirely accurate.
States car not necessary, would think from the position of house a car is vital.
No washing machine as described, shame as we did not pack enough clothes.
Not enough kitchen dishes for cooking in oven and microwave.
Could not find any instructions for cooker/microwave these would have been invaluable.
Shame beds were not made up ready and bed linen left had not been ironed.
States linen/towels provided but you have to pay for this.
Description stated 3 double beds and further down states 2 doubles and 2 singles the later is true.
Despite this there are some fantastic places to visit, scenery is stunning.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the views
Liked least: property not as advertised
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2014
Hi Anna and thank you for your review.

I want to respond to this reveiw and correct these few things.

1.I sent you directions to the cottage from the airport with a link from google maps like i send to all of our guests before they arrive. No one has ever complained about that the cottage has been hard to find.
When you drive route 36 like mentioned in the directions from google maps it is very easy to see the house as it is on top of the hill 3 storey high only way to drive by it without seeing it is possibly if it is dark.
The gps system offers you 3 different directions to drive, I mentioned that it was best for you to drive route 1 if you would have driven that route this would not have been any problem for you.
2.We once had washing machine and had a bit of problems with it and we have our cottage listed on many different vacation rental sites and this site was the only one I had not removed the washing machine from. My mistake it has been updated. Sorry about that.
3. We are renting out our cottage not our home we have 1 items to heat in microwave and few others for the oven. This has worked for us when we stay there and as far as we know this has worked for our guests as well. Our microwave and oven are so basic to use that i guess it would be insulting to our guests to have instructions for that so that is not necessary. In fact the dishwasher is probably more difficult to use then the oven and the microwave and i don't have any instructions for that since its not necessary as well.
4. As for the linen and towels they are always 100% fresh and clean straight from the washing machine. We havent found a reason to iron them. Just so you know we charge 45GBP for final cleaning and included in that is linen and towels for everyone during their stay and final cleaning on 3 storey high house and 115 square meters. And i guess everyone find that price very fair for linen and towels and for final cleaning on the cottage. The reason why why dont make up the beds is that we like to let our guests choose which room they want to to stay in. We never know if people 3 together are going to stay in 2 or 3 rooms.
5. The reason for that car is not necessary is that i have offered 1 of my guests to pick them up and drive them to the cottage cause they wanted to go the from Reykjavík to the country and catch the northern lights and were scared to drive on icy roads during winter they did not rent a car their whole trip so in fact car is not necessary to reach the cottage.

But after all we are glad you enjoyed staying with us and how much you liked the veiws.

Thanks.
Hrafn & Þórunn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing