We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing stay!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Thingvellir, South Region

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Jon C
2 reviews
“Amazing stay!”
Reviewed 20 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

I can't recommend this cottage enough. Myself and my girlfriend stayed here just before christmas.

The views are absolutely stunning looking out across the lake and the nation park. It's only an hours drive from Reykjavik and tourist spots like the waterfall "Gulfoss".

House was clean and tidy when we arrived and had everything needed for a great stay. Absolutely brilliant.

Would definitely come back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne D
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic location”
Reviewed 10 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We had a lovely few days here. Great location and lovely house. Very calm and relaxing- we loved it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful & tranquil location
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haydnbard...
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Modern House wonderful views.”
Reviewed 31 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Loverly spot doubt if you could find another holiday home in Iceland with such wonderful views over the lake.Great modern house loverly hot tube and sauna and lounge with views from three sides.Check before you go as the Wi Fi is extra.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View of lake hills
Liked least: Wi Fi extra cost
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl E
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
“Spectacular”
Reviewed 22 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Stayed a weekend with my family at this lovely cottage right down by Iceland’s largest and most beautiful lake. The cottage had a spectacular panoramic view over the lake a sauna and a nice hot tub, could not ask for more. We witnessed amazing northern lights and snowfall as seen in a fairytale along with a snow blizzard all in the same weekend, memorable without a doubt . Looking forward to going back this summer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The veiw
Liked least: no complantes
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stjori
Sandgerdi, Iceland
1 review
“wonderful weekend in this beautiful lakehouse”
Reviewed 13 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We arrived in friday morning in a cold but a bright sunny day, what struck us first was this magnificent view over the lake. Often you see pictures of a surrounding but when arrive to the place does not live up to the standard but in this case they more than did. The house inside and outside was clean and beautiful , the beds where good and the kitchen and livingarae very well equipped. The hot top was great ,specially on saturday night as we saw the aurora dancing in the sky a bow us. The sauna is in a barrel outside which is quite uniqe. On sunday we went to a trip to the Golden circle which is only a 40 minutes drive from the house.
We recommend this to everyone who wants to experience the unique and memorable time in Iceland.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingibergu...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous !”
Reviewed 12 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

I was there with my wife and two kids 4 and 8 years old, they had a very good time there. So much to see in the fabulous location so close to the lake. We saw the northern lights just from the house and had a wonderful time there, we will go again !

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V4982BOin...
Thingvellir, Iceland
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing