We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Schooner Tavern
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$48
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$42
Priceline
View Deal
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$292
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bayview Hotel(Ballycotton)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveller rating
28
13
0
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28
13
0
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfish goujonsfish of the daybridballymaloecork
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 44 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Place is spotless, the menu range is great, quality of food is great. The steaks were like butter and the onion rings were home made, finger licking good. The scampi is to die for, no nouveau cusine here, they fall the off the plate with the quantily of them. The side salad is so fresh, dressing lovely not too heavy. Burgers are home made also, not like the neighbours next door advertising home made burger and peeling the paper off them to cook them. Food is excellent, a lot of attention to detail with no fuss. Staff are pleasant and engaging. Very welcoming, The only negative thing is the noise from the telly was a little bit loud but then there was a match on. Decor is modern, spotlessly clean. Love this place. Wil def return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Myself and my partner and our 4 kids have been here here twice and we will return again.

Decor:
Very very nice wood finish throughout the bar with big screens at either ends. It's very comfortable and encouraged a longer stay for a beer or 2 extra :) (wife was driving!)

Staff:
Very polite, very welcoming and kid friendly. What more could you ask for?

Grub:
The food is good and the service is fast.The fish goujons are very tasty and our kids loved them. We had the steak and the cod and we were satisfied with both. Price is reasonable. No complaints here.

Other:
There is a pool table and darts table in the back area of the bar if you fancy a game.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank i_kenefick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Have been known to have a drink and some food in The Schooner with Mike and Brid every now and then.
Lovely people,friendly and helpful.
They have been known to lend books to their customers.
Both the beer and the food are good and the company is always interesting from the regulars to the 'drop ins'.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Dropped into the Schooner on two occasions. The first time the place was buzzing and the atmosphere was fantastic. Even though lots were going on the service remained high quality and very personable. Even though we were from the other side of the world we were made to feel like locals. The next time there was just us and Michael. We all had a great chat over a couple of pints and I just wish we had longer to linger. Would recommend The Schooner Tavern to anyone visiting Ballycotton. It's a great place with fantastic hosts.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

On my recent 10 day trip to Ireland, my favorite place to stay was the Schooner Tavern in Ballycotton Co. Cork. Michael and Brid made our party of 6 feel as though we were members of their family. The rooms was clean and well appointed, not fancy, just like home. The pub with its warm open fireplace was the perfect place to be after a cooking class at Ballymaloe or fishing in the celtic sea. The breakfasts were fabulous, all made to order, whatever we liked. The bar was well stocked with anything we desired. The village of Ballycotton is quaint and the Herring Gull is a fabulous fine dining restaurant. The Cliff walk was awesome. I highly recommend the family owned and operated Schooner Tavern and bed and breakfast.

Room Tip: There are 4 rooms in this hotel, including a triple and a quad.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seh2863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews