We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had expected more”
Review of Bayview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bayview Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballycotton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 September 2013

With group of four couples. Scenic views over coast. Very expensive hotel unless you have a deal
Pros
Good spacious clean room.
Helpful receptionist and staff but no sign of any management.
Good Breakfast
Attractive harbour nearby
Cons
We had prebooked restaurant on first night. Food OK but pricey. No other guests came into so restaurant but suspect it was not open to them.
Restaurant closed second day and clients expected to eat at low tables in bar, Both uncomfortable and inconvenient. We went out to nearby 'Inn by Habour' which was excellent.
Could not get Bathroom shaving light to come on so asked for a solution on first day. No fix or feed back on problem.
Not a lot to do nearby

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidjjarvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (435)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 435 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2013

It was with some trepidation that my husband and myself availed of 2 nights in the Bayview Hotel, Ballycotton Co Cork, having read some unfavourable reviews on Tripadvisor.
From the moment we arrived to when we sadly had to depart we could not find fault.(proof that one should make up ones own mind)
We arrived exhausted late on the first afternoon. On entering the foyer we were cocooned in a sense of warmth friendlieness and relaxation.
Margaret , the receptionist was so welcoming and proved to be a font of information re local attractions , weather update etc.
Our room was superb with a gorgeous view over the harbour which was populated with colourful little boats, & seagulls.
We availed of food in the bar that evening and it was excellent . Do not leave without trying the ("iced marshmallow" dessert ). We slept that night with the window to the balcony open , lulled by the lapping of the sea .
Breakfast next morning was served in the gorgeous dining room , beautiful circular tables with linen tablecloths. Menu again first class. Our second day was spent reading in the reading room and walking part of the "cliff walk" followed by some liquid refreshment in McGraths Pub in the village.
We ate in " The Schooner" that evening and this was the only downturn for the duration of the visit. The staff were fab but the food very overpriced and small in quantity.

We were sorry to have to leave next morning ,but the beauty of The Bayview is that it is close enough to us that we will definitely be making it our "bolt hole"

Advice to those travelling to the Bayview Ballycotton........ For dinner dine in the hotel .!!
Mary O Neill- Houlihan

Room Tip: Ask for a superior room to the front of the hotel. These have little balconettes and french windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MONH2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Enjoyed a very pleasant relaxing couple of days .All the staff are extremely pleasant and helpful.The restaurant is closed at the moment so dinner was in the bar,food was lovely although tables are a little low for eating at.Our room had amazing views although a fan on the outside of the building kept us awake most of the night,we were offered to be moved and wished we had taken up the offer as second night no better with the constant load hum.Breakfast had to be one of the best we have had in a hotel with a great choice and cooked to order.We will definitely return as a really ideal place for a relaxing break

Room Tip: steer clear of the kitchen end of hotel with noise of fan motor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

I recently stayed 3 nights in this hotel. It was excellent. The rooms are spotless, very cosy but spacious and with a superb view of the bay. The staff were so efficient and friendly. The reception, bar, restaurant areas were really nice and homely. The food in both the bar and restaurant was really fresh and nice. An excellent overall stay and I will definitely return.

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms have full length windows, great for enjoying the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smmie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We have just spent two wonderful nights in the Bayview. This hotel is in the most spectacular location. It overlooks Ballycotton Bay and one can see for miles in each direction. There’s plenty of parking in the grounds and check-in and out were promptly handled by a very pleasant receptionist. We got a gorgeous room to the front of the hotel with a clear view of the ocean and the lovely lighthouse. Our room was very spacious, spotlessly clean, and the bathroom was well stocked. We dined in the hotel bar both evenings because it’s at the end of the season and the dining room was closed. We did find the menu a bit limited, and portions weren’t that big, but the quality of food was excellent. Service in general in the hotel is top class, and every single member of staff who we encountered was pleasant and friendly. Sleep quality was very good, and breakfast on both mornings was excellent. Breakfasts are freshly cooked. We both had local fish the first morning and full Irish on the second – verdict on both – absolutely delicious! Scones are freshly made each morning and are to die for. This is a delightful hotel and we can’t recommend it highly enough. They have a sister hotel a few miles away in Garryvoe, which has a swimming pool and leisure centre. We had intended visiting it to use the pool, but were enjoying ourselves too much in the Bayview to interrupt our stay! Ballycotton itself is a charming little village, really quaint and pretty. You can ramble down to the pier (there are two) and watch the fishermen set off in the early morning with their lobster pots or return during the day with their catch. There wasn’t a ripple on the water for the two days we were there, it really is the most glorious place to be. Unfortunately we only discovered the cliff walk this morning when we were returning to Dublin. We definitely intend returning to Ballycotton and the first thing we’re going to do, after we check into the Bayview, is do the full cliff walk. We only did a very short portion of it and the views took our breath away.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DubTwosome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Bayview hotel on the weekend of 31st Aug. It has some stunning views and the hotel is comfortable, clean and the staff are very courteous and friendly. The room had a wonderful view over the bay and pier and we were so lucky with the weather over the weekend we really got to enjoy the walks around Ballycotton and we used the pool facilities at their sister hotel the Garryvoe and that was a real plus.
It is a lovely place to stay, however I must say that it was the little things that let them down - to be rated as a 4 star hotel to me means you are really spot on with the little things which can make such a difference to your customers. Arriving at 4pm you would expect your room to be ready it wasn't and the kitchen running out of gluten free bread even though they were notified ahead of time that a coeliac was staying! - small things but they do make the difference between 3 & 4 star service.
In summing up I must say we did enjoy our weekend and I would recommend the Bayview for it's friendly staff and beautiful scenery. It's just the little details they need to brush up on.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeasideGirl64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We had our wedding at the Bayview on the 10th of August. The staff were amazing to deal with: professional and friendly. Every request was accommodated and they made our day so much easier. The food was to die for- We can still taste those massive fillet steaks and that amazing pistachio ice-cream. We are still getting phone calls complimenting the food. Special mention must go to Maria, Rory and Aidan at the bar for making our day so special. We could not recommend this place more.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clarelouise1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballycotton
Garryvoe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Garryvoe
772 reviews
Castlemartyr Resort
#1 of 2 in Castlemartyr
1,761 reviews
Midleton Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Midleton
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Walter Raleigh Hotel
#1 of 7 in Youghal
349 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Hotel

Address: Ballycotton, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Ballycotton
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballycotton
Price Range: £98 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bayview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Cancelon, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bayview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Hotel Ballycotton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing