We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value , Good Staff”
Review of Bayview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bayview Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballycotton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stayed here for two nights,eating in house on both evenings. Some of the previous reviews are not very flattering but we found it fine for our purposes....... as a base for walking. True our room was a bit dated and tired but clean, and when we left our do not disturb sign out by mistake when we were out walking, clean towels were left outside our room. Staff were excellent, the second night we had already had good soup and sandwiches elsewhere quite late in the afternoon so we didnt really want a full meal so we had a couple of delicious starters with a bowl of fries and werent made to feel like cheapskates. Great Cliff Walk nearby, and a couple of choices in the village for light meals.

Room Tip: all rooms have sea view, we were happy with ours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martin h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (436)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 436 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2013

Stayed in the Bayview last weekend with my fiancee.
We'd a terrible experience. Stayed in room 103. Room had an awful musty smell,so much so that we had to buy scented candles. Cream Carpet destroyed in stains & rips. Bathroom in need of a serious revamp. Breakfast left a lot to be desired & food in bar area was ridiculously priced. Buzzing sound in our room throughout our whole stay-another guest said it was coming from a fridge in the kitchen. This sound was present both day & night.
Overall highly disappointed with our stay. We were looking forward to a relaxing 4star get away n it was horrendous.
It was more of an endurance than a relaxing weekend. We left this morning at 9am without having breakfast. We literally couldn't get out of the place quick enough.
It certainly is not 4 star standard. It seems some elements of the hotel have been modernized & perhaps tgat's how they got their 4star rating.
The hotel ruined our entire weekend as we were so upset & disappointed.
Will certainly never return.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Superhooper27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I have no doubt that this was a lovely hotel at one point in time but now to us, it seemed dated and tired. We checked in and I tried to make a reservation in the restaurant and were promptly advised that the restaurant was closed for the evening. We had no advance warning of this so were rather disappointed. The location of the hotel is perfect. Right overlooking Ballycotton Bay. The pluses are that the hotel is cosy, quiet and relaxing and I would imagine, a little overhaul would bring it back to life. :-)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Recently stayed for a Friday night as the wedding I was attending was held here.
The Staff were very friendly and were able to manage the whole evening brilliantly.
The food (including the breakfast) was of the highest quality and was one of the best meals I have had recently.
The bar was a bit pricey but as it is a hotel I suppose it's not unexpected.
The room was good, bed was comfortable and there were plenty of towels and toiletries in the bathroom.
The views were absolutely stunning, from the front of hotel, from the bedroom window and just in general.
Overall I would recommend the Bayview Hotel for a stay if you are exploring the surrounding areas (Ballycotton/Garryvoe/Shanagarry).

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnRoseJnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We recently stayed here for a few nights as there was a family wedding nearby . It is a beautiful setting , you really feel like you are away from it all and the views are spectacular. The staff were most friendly and couldn't do enough for us . Everyone from the receptionists to the night manager had a positive attitude and genuine warmth and we felt very welcome. The Rooms are well maintained and spotless. There are very nice menus in the Bar and the Restaurant and the the food is fantastic, if the weather is in any way good there is a lovely terrace outside but as there are views from the restaurant and the bar as well so it doesn't matter too much . We would happily go back there to stay again and would highly recommend it .

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bialann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

With group of four couples. Scenic views over coast. Very expensive hotel unless you have a deal
Pros
Good spacious clean room.
Helpful receptionist and staff but no sign of any management.
Good Breakfast
Attractive harbour nearby
Cons
We had prebooked restaurant on first night. Food OK but pricey. No other guests came into so restaurant but suspect it was not open to them.
Restaurant closed second day and clients expected to eat at low tables in bar, Both uncomfortable and inconvenient. We went out to nearby 'Inn by Habour' which was excellent.
Could not get Bathroom shaving light to come on so asked for a solution on first day. No fix or feed back on problem.
Not a lot to do nearby

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidjjarvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

It was with some trepidation that my husband and myself availed of 2 nights in the Bayview Hotel, Ballycotton Co Cork, having read some unfavourable reviews on Tripadvisor.
From the moment we arrived to when we sadly had to depart we could not find fault.(proof that one should make up ones own mind)
We arrived exhausted late on the first afternoon. On entering the foyer we were cocooned in a sense of warmth friendlieness and relaxation.
Margaret , the receptionist was so welcoming and proved to be a font of information re local attractions , weather update etc.
Our room was superb with a gorgeous view over the harbour which was populated with colourful little boats, & seagulls.
We availed of food in the bar that evening and it was excellent . Do not leave without trying the ("iced marshmallow" dessert ). We slept that night with the window to the balcony open , lulled by the lapping of the sea .
Breakfast next morning was served in the gorgeous dining room , beautiful circular tables with linen tablecloths. Menu again first class. Our second day was spent reading in the reading room and walking part of the "cliff walk" followed by some liquid refreshment in McGraths Pub in the village.
We ate in " The Schooner" that evening and this was the only downturn for the duration of the visit. The staff were fab but the food very overpriced and small in quantity.

We were sorry to have to leave next morning ,but the beauty of The Bayview is that it is close enough to us that we will definitely be making it our "bolt hole"

Advice to those travelling to the Bayview Ballycotton........ For dinner dine in the hotel .!!
Mary O Neill- Houlihan

Room Tip: Ask for a superior room to the front of the hotel. These have little balconettes and french windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MONH2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballycotton
2.2 mi away
Garryvoe Hotel
Garryvoe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Garryvoe
797 reviews
6.3 mi away
Castlemartyr Resort
Castlemartyr Resort
#1 of 2 in Castlemartyr
1,814 reviews
10.7 mi away
Walter Raleigh Hotel
Walter Raleigh Hotel
#1 of 7 in Youghal
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ardmore
1,784 reviews
21.2 mi away
Hayfield Manor Hotel
16 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Cork
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Hotel

Address: Ballycotton, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Ballycotton
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballycotton
Price Range: £85 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bayview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, Stayforlong S.L., Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bayview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Hotel Ballycotton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing