We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, perfect hosts”
Review of Sunville House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sunville House
Ranked #1 of 4 Ballycotton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great location, perfect hosts”
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Close to Ballycotton and the beautiful cliff walk. Excellent, clean, spacious, bright room. Beautiful surroundings. Perfect hosts, extremely helpful, but unobtrusive and professional. Breakfast was exceptional. Our best stay so far in Ireland

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burgers11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    10
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
54
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Our hosts were extremely hospitable and had scones ready for our arrival! Home made!
The rooms were well sized and ensuite
Only trouble was finding the place. There are signs at every junction, but we were glad that we arrived in the day as they were easy to miss!
Our host was happy to be called to give further directions tho!
Breakfast was prompt with freshly squeezed orange juice and fresh bread.
Really couldn't have asked for more!
Thanks very much for the lovely weekend!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Limmee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington, dc
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

The Sunville B+B is run by experts who have an affordable quiet getaway that is located in a perfect place to explore the southeastern coast of County Cork. The wonderful cliff walk at Ballycotton is only minutes away, as well as the Ballymaloe House and School, and Garryvoe Hotel. It really is a stunning area, and as first time visitors to Ireland, Sunville House was a perfect choice for our introduction to scenic Ireland and to Irish hospitality.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sinkor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Stayed at this B&B while at Ballymaloe Cookery School for a couple of days. Confirmed booking by email and got a prompt response.

When we arrived, we were treated to fresh home-made scones with home-made jam - delicious! Rooms were spacious and very clean. We ate in Ballymaloe one of the evenings and the owner dropped us over in his car.

The highlight is the breakfast - very, very high standard of food. Was also good to have WiFi access from the room.

If I had to find fault, the B&B is a bit remote and tricky to find but I overheard the owner arrange to meet another guest at the village and navigate them back - hospitality and great customer service comes naturally to the owners of this B&B. Would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PDubya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

We stayed x 2 days while I attended the infamous Ballymaloe cook school. The host was a real character & nothing too much trouble. He even met us @ the local garage so we could follow him to the B&B. Our map was not that great for the area. Tea/coffee/water in rooms- not that common in the B&Bs that we stayed in on this trip- much appreciated.He cooked a good breakfast... not bad for bloke & we got to meet Anna on the final day-she also was a lovely hostess. He gave us a good recommendation for dinner- the gull Herring-just down the road in Ballycotton-approx 5kms- a pretty seaside village. The B&B rooms were clean, but alittle overheated for us- but we were able to turn down or off as we chose.The bathroom needed alitlle TLC & some towel rails or hooks would have been useful. Overall a great stay & great location for the cook school & local area. We hope to return.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Lovely place to stay. We did not see much though as we were at a wedding locally. About €10 in a taxi to Garryvoe hotel. Good value, well worth the money. Great breakfast and friendly owners.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paule025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Friendly hosts, charming and interesting site but a little isolated off season. Large clean room. Scones and tea to welcome us was a very nice touch. Food was good and plentiful.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LandR J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballycotton
2.5 mi away
Bayview Hotel
Bayview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ballycotton
409 reviews
2.8 mi away
Garryvoe Hotel
Garryvoe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Garryvoe
735 reviews
7.4 mi away
Midleton Park Hotel
Midleton Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Midleton
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
WatersEdge Hotel
WatersEdge Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cobh
662 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Schooner Tavern
The Schooner Tavern
#2 of 4 in Ballycotton
40 reviews
3.1 mi away
Wisteria House
Wisteria House
#1 of 1 in Cloyne
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunville House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunville House

Property: Sunville House
Address: Sunville House Sunville, Ballycotton, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Ballycotton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ballycotton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunville House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunville House Bed and Breakfast accommodation is a newly renovated house within 3 minutes of Ballycotton bay, in East Cork Ireland, offering peaceful accommodation, in a beautiful location. There are spacious double, twin and triple rooms with spectacular views. Attractive guest TV lounge and conservatory for relaxation with great books to browse through. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunville House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing