We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fernhill Golf and Country Club
Nearby Hotels
US$124
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$229
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$223
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$184
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$123
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$191
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (165)
Filter reviews
165 results
Traveller rating
50
40
24
23
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
50
40
24
23
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfriendly receptionchoice of cerealspeace and quietbreakfast roomstayed here for nightsplenty of hot waterstaff were lovelyfirst morningthoroughly enjoyed our staycork airportdouble roomfull irishlovely hotelyogurtfernhilltelevisionkinsale
Filter
Updating list...
147 - 152 of 165 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2012

I stayed here very recently and understood the pictures of the rooms decorated in creams and 4 poster beds was what i was getting...... what a surprise i got, it was nothing at all like what i booked. When i enquired about the other rooms i was told they were all the same standard there was no rooms like the pics they were showing... not good enough False advertising. Then to top it all off the Bar and Restaurant was down the rd in the club house, we had to walk and the rain was belting down. The Staff were very nice and helpfull, but the Food was only ok extra surcharges for steak etc and only a ok meal. Very dissappointing , Hotel needs a serious upgrade to bring it into 2012 has a very long way to go...............

Room Tip: All rooms same standard.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicole889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Stayed at this hotel over the easter hols with my 2 children as it offered excellent value for money. Very helpful and friendly staff in a great location & my children loved the pool :)

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma U, Front Office Manager at Fernhill Golf and Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2013

Dear Jane N,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your visit to Fernhill Golf & Country Club.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

The first thing I noticed at this hotel was that it did not display a star rating anywhere - I can only guess that it was downgraded from 3 to its current 2 star rating.

Rooms are large and liveable in but are very dated, particularly the bathrooms. The night I was staying, the hotel restaurant/bar were close and you were directed to the golf clubhouse - I don't know if this is a regular occurrence. I ate in the town instead. I also had to wait some time for someone to appear to check me in.

There was wifi but it was extremely weak in the room I was in, leading me to use my 3G dongle instead.

The leisure centre was "closed" which appears to have been the case for some time looking at other reviews.

Nothing went wrong, no horrors happened and if you know you're going for a two star hotel, its probably at the top end of that scale; and looking at the docket from work, it wasn't in any way expensive. But if you're expecting a modern hotel, look back towards Cork City.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to be much the same in terms of overlooking the golf course.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We have just spent the weekend at this hotel.. We were given a voucher to use there ..We first arrived there a few months ago only to find the hotel empty and no chef so we decided to wait till later to use it.. We came from Carlow and when we arrived we asked if there was a chef,as our voucher included dinner..they assured us there was. When we came down for dinner at 7pm we were informed the chef had just left without any warning and so we had no dinner,the staff at the clubhouse were very nice and obviously not their fault they offered us a toasted sandwich which we declined. the next day we decided to have dinner early around 5pm only to find that all they had left was turkey with chips! no vegetables later they did come back to us and said they found some vegetables??? wasn't sure if that was leftovers from someone else's dinner so declined that. All in all it was an awful experience and we definitly will not be back. We were give €50 voucher as way of apology but to be honest I think we should have had at least half of the €300 back but as we were sick from drinking on an empty stomach,we couldn't be bothered to argue.. The hotel was full this weekend with lots of families and small children so I don't know how they managed to get any meals either..Really very shoddy management to allow this to happen. And why is the swimming pool not open in the height of the season?..Never again!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Juliemaher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Lets be clear on this hotel: it is ranked 2 start, it is on the location of a golf course (and so there is a little bit of walking around), and it is in a fairly remote area though near a very dull commuter town. It is noticeable also that the swimming pool has been closed for some time and that the service is well, 2 star, and the bar basically closes early most nights due to a lack of customers. But Cork has become a very trendy place to visit and is full of overloaded, overpriced, overpacked hotels that often forget to do the basics well.

This hotel bucks that trend. It provides spacious, clean, simple and well resourced accomodation for less than you will pay for many grotesque city B&Bs in Cork. Breakfast is cooked and at no extra charge, and if you do like golf they do stupidly cheap rates for those who want a round as well. Rooms are quite large, airy and bright, there is plenty of parking. The bathrooms work well - plenty of hot water, good showers, reliable toilets. Furniture in the rooms is very good: a little dated perhaps, but more than enough space, coffee makers, tv, hair dryer, everything you need.

This really isn't a place to come on a celebration as its not that kind of hotel. However if you want a quiet break off the beaten track, or a quiet place to relax while on business, this is more than enough. The little leisure center is basic but enough to keep you occupied. It might be a pleasant place to bring children as there is a tennis court and there are good zied rooms suitable for families. Not sure if pets are allowed but the owner is a dog lover and might oblige.

A very pleasant stay, I will be returning here on future visits to Cork.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lff12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews