We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor service”
Review of Oriel House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oriel House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballincollig
Certificate of Excellence
Cork
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“poor service”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

every year me and my friend are visiting Mud Chamber in Oriel House Hotel and Spa. It is fantastic experience itself and very unique. For the last couple of years we enjoyed every single time of being there. Not this time. We booked ourselves in to the spa and were surprised at first by the cleanliness and drop in standards. We decided ignore that and enjoy the Mud Chamber. Unfortunately, mud cnamber was not working properly,steam part of it was broken. When we went in to the relaxation zone and again more disappointment, no fruit, no juice as it was in previous years...when we left and complaint at the reception, girl said she does not know what could be done.and she will pass it to her manager.Manager never came back to me or any of my friend. I had to email general manager of this hotel to get some reply..i was promised a refund...a voucher to comeback...never happened...very very poor service overthere..will not be back and will not recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank IlisaCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    348
    246
    117
    60
    35
See reviews for
235
244
41
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Just got back from 4 nights at the Oriel House; we stayed there because our grandson had his christening party there on the Saturday night and it was close to where my son and daughter in-law where staying (at her parents house)

Room was a good size, could have done with a bit more drawer space but otherwise no complaints. Food was good, and service in the bar was excellent. Staff overall couldnt do enough for us and handled the attempts of some of the younger members of the party to compare Cricket and Hurley with some lemon and limes on the Saturday night with good humour and great tact.

Some nice touches as well - plentiful supply of large umbrellas by the main door, bar staff quickly remembering drinks from large rounds, being very very child and baby friendly.

Would we stay again (which is always the acid test) - yes

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick-Dillon, General Manager at Oriel House Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. Delighted you enjoyed your stay and family event here at the Oriel House Hotel. Will ensure that all the team here at the hotel see your nice comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to us for the next family gathering.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
149 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stay here over St.Patricks weekend.There is a nice reception area on arrival with friendly staff on duty .The room was very nice with a large bed and it had a fine size en suite.
We had dinner in the bar and it was very good.
The leisure centre was was good with a steam room and sauna available.
Breakfast was very nice with a plentiful range of food on offer.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick-Dillon, General Manager at Oriel House Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Delighted you read your nice comments about the facilities and staff here at the Oriel House Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of March.

Good points: Room was lovely. Leisure centre spot on. Easy access to shops. Breakfast good. Bar menu -great. Delighted with kids meal options and the activity menus. Ate here both nights.great value.

Picky minus points: sensor light in ladies toilets went off every time we went in. I have a 3 yr old who takes time when in the toilet and she got quite scared in the dark. Had to reactivate the sensor each time. Forgot to mention it to staff when leaving. Our bed had a very saggy matress. Told reception when leaving.

All in all we had a lovely stay and have recommended it to friends. Would go again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eveline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick-Dillon, General Manager at Oriel House Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We had a wonderful weekend here. When we arrived, we had afternoon tea in the bar which was delicious. The bar staff were very helpful and courteous. We then had massages in the spa which were lovely and relaxing, as was the thermal suite. The spa staff were particularly friendly and made the experience wonderful. Our room was huge, and we had a fantastic nights sleep in the very comfortable bed. We didn't want to leave, highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissHoney85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick-Dillon, General Manager at Oriel House Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

This is a very clean modern hotel, bright and spacious when you walk in! However, we ate there for mothers day lunch and it was of a very poor standard in service and food. There was lots of staff but they were not efficient, and the quality of food was very bad, none of us enjoyed our meals. We were so dissappointed as it was not cheap either. I would not recommend this hotel for food. Possibly it is ok to stay etc but not for dinner, which is a shame as it is very convenient for us but we wont be returning.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank francesork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick-Dillon, General Manager at Oriel House Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your comments in detail if you would contact the hotel on 021 4208400 and speak with one of our management team. Looking forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Stayed in this hotel for a couple of nights. It is spacious, modern and well decorated. The staff were pleasant and friendly. The spa and pool were also great although the steam room was out of order. Looked to be a decent sized gym as well. Breakfast was good though did not have any other food. Easy access to Cork City also.

Nothing spectacular but a good hotel where you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnonymousBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick-Dillon, General Manager at Oriel House Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, Thank you for your kind words and compliments. We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us at Oriel House Hotel in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballincollig
Midleton Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Midleton
677 reviews
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
1,103 reviews
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oriel House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oriel House Hotel

Property: Oriel House Hotel
Address: Main Street, Ballincollig, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Ballincollig
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballincollig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Oriel House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Oriel House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oriel Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing