We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel Outside of Cork”
Review of Oriel House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oriel House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballincollig
Certificate of Excellence
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
139 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Good Hotel Outside of Cork”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is a good hotel, with spacious rooms, good amenities and friendly staff. We asked for a quite room, away from a wedding crowd which happening at the time and got an excellent room in the back in which we thought that we were the only guests on the hotel. Breakfast was pleasant and well attended by staff.

One should note that Cork is only accessible by a 15 minutes drive into town or by a more complicated public buses.

Room Tip: Ask for a quite room away from wedding/even crowds
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 559ThomasD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick-Dillon, General Manager at Oriel House Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Delighted to see you enjoyed your stay with us, Thank you for the nice compliments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    240
    115
    60
    35
See reviews for
231
234
41
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
91 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This Hotel was very good value for money. It is in a fantastic part of the country although the hotel does not offer great views. The room was just okay. It was a bit tired looking but very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was excellent. Plenty of choice and fried eggs on request. The food in the bar was also very good and any staff I had dealings with were very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yogmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick-Dillon, General Manager at Oriel House Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Lovely to read your nice comments - we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and all the team look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We had our wedding here on the 12th of July. The staff cannot be commended enough on the fantastic job they did. From start to finish we could not ask for a more capable, friendly set of staff to help us and our guests on the most important day of our lives. Patricia and Muria were so helpful and understanding of what we wanted for our special and delivered even more on what we expected.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielDeirdreQuirke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick-Dillon, General Manager at Oriel House Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Firstly thank you for taking the time to send us your fantastic feedback, we were delighted to be part of your special day. All the best for the future and we look forward to welcoming you and your friends back for the next celebration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin, ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We spent two nights in the Oriel hotel recently one of which had a wedding going there. The ambience in the hotel was lovely, the food in both the bar and restaurant very good and the staff are very friendly. Unfortunately all of the above good points were overridden by the fact that the noise in the bedroom was overwhelming on the night that the wedding was on. I had asked for a quiet room when booking into the hotel and had been assured by the receptionist that indeed the room allocated was one furthest away from the main areas of the hotel and would be quiet. Imagine then my dismay then when the band started thumping around 10 p.m and I could hear the words of “Country Roads Take Me Home” as clearly as if I was on the dance floor myself. I really couldn’t believe how the hotel management could expect anyone staying in that room to have a night’s sleep with this noise as it overwhelmed the room. I complained to reception and was told that the band would finish playing at midnight- ( I had had a very early start that day and had hoped for an early night). However, after midnight, the disco for the wedding started and whereas it wasn’t as noisy or as thumping as when the band was playing, it was still very loud and disruptive to a night’s sleep. I complained again to reception and this time was moved to a room on the other side of the corridor. One could still hear music from here and it was far from quiet but it was a considerable improvement on the first room and I had to wonder why this room (as it was obviously empty) had not been allocated the first time when a request was made for a quiet room and a wedding was going on in the hotel.
The receptionist who arranged the room transfer couldn’t have been more helpful or pleasant and was a pleasure to deal with. However, I think that it is a fair expectation when staying in a 4star hotel that one will have a night’s sleep that is uninterrupted by booming music that is coming from another part of the hotel. I have no desire to spoil anyone’s fun in enjoying music and dancing at any wedding or other event BUT if the hotel also takes in paying guests who are not attending the function then it is incumbent on the management to provide rooms for them that are not subjected to loud noise and music coming from that event that goes on until 2 a.m. in the morning.
Although the hotel has many good points and the staff are very friendly the noise problem for me very much blighted my experience in staying in this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maudgonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick-Dillon, General Manager at Oriel House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Firstly thank you for taking the send us your feedback. I am delighted to see your nice comments in relation to bar food, the staff etc. Please accept my apologies with regard to the room stay. The hotel has a policy with regard to room allocation on the night of events and clearly we fell short on this occasion as you were affected by noise and not attending the function, We have a weekly head of department meeting and will follow up re same and complete re-training to avoid re-occurence for future guests. Once again thank you for your feedback and should you find the confidence to return to Oriel House in the future please dont hesitate to contact me personally and I will ensure you are looked after.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Cork, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I had my wedding in the Oriel House Hotel last month (May 2014) and I couldn’t compliment them enough. Patricia and all the staff were so helpful and accommodating. The food was great. The room looked fab. They made it all so easy! :) Thank you!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie_O_Donovan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick-Dillon, General Manager at Oriel House Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
We were thrilled to be part of your big day, thank you once again for choosing Oriel House Hotel and for your lovely compliments. Wishing you all the best for the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Hotel is fantastic and friendly service and really good vaule. food was topclass . they really went above and behond to make us enjoy our time with them and look forward to going back soon and enjoying more time there and useing there spa out there

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niamh m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick-Dillon, General Manager at Oriel House Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Great compliments - thank you so much for taking the time to send us you feedback. All the team are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballincollig
Midleton Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Midleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,361 reviews
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oriel House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oriel House Hotel

Property: Oriel House Hotel
Address: Main Street, Ballincollig, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Ballincollig
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballincollig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Oriel House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oriel House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oriel Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing