We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weeding Reception”
Review of Oriel House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oriel House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballincollig
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Weeding Reception”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Myself and my wife could not fault the Oriel House Hotel hospitality and staff for a wonderfull wedding reception for our daughter and new husband, the food and service were excellent every detail was taken care of with the minimum of fuss.All our friends and relatives couldn't compliment the staff enough for the service given to all of us during the reception and our stay at the hotel. Special thanks to Damain, Chloe and Patricia and of course not forgetting there team.We all had the most enjoyable stress free time of our lives and we would highly recomend this hotel for a weeding reception.

Room Tip: Recomend room 204 situated on first floor,quiant but large and airy, away from direct footfall but o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick-Dillon, General Manager at Oriel House Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Thank you for your lovely compliments - delighted you and your family had a great day for your daughter's wedding - it was a pleasure to be involved in the special time for your family. We look forward to working with you on the next family event.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    348
    246
    117
    60
    35
See reviews for
235
244
41
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portlaoise, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Myself and Husband went on a last minute break to the Oriel House Hotel. It was excellent, we really enjoyed every minute. We went on the 2 night BBD & Spa package which was excellent value. The girls in the Spa were wonderful, best massage we had in a long time. Food & service were fantastic.
We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick-Dillon, General Manager at Oriel House Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Delighted to read your nice comments about your recent stay here at the Oriel House. Thank you for the recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fermoy, co cork
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed in oriel house hotel for a wedding. we stayed in room 235. very basic wldnt rate as four star. room was over kitchen so noise from fans kept me awake which was very disappointing as we have a new baby so were looking forward to lie in. said it to reception and did get a a partial refund of 30 which left us paying 80 for room which was still way to much. food at wedding wasn't good had beef which we couldn't cut with knife or chew. overall didn't enjoy our stay. hotel in general looked nice and staff were friendlu we were just unlucky with room.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank claire q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick-Dillon, General Manager at Oriel House Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. I am disappointed to read elements of your experience with us, I have informed all the management team here and re-training is being carried out in relation to the room allocations. I have been speaking with our head chef also in relation to your comments re the beef. I want to assure you this is not the normal service here at the Oriel and I hope you find the confidence to return to us in the future. Once again thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enniscorthy, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We spent five nights here and enjoyed every minute. Rooms are clean, spacious,
well appointed. Reception staff so helpful especially Elizabeth.
Atmosphere is restful in such a busy hotel.
Air conditioning very welcome during heatwave!
Avoid the steak sandwich in bar...tough like leather, only negative point.
Breakfast is amazing. This was our second stay and we'll certainly be back.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from function room for quiet night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernadette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick-Dillon, General Manager at Oriel House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Delighted to see our return guests enjoying their stay with us again. Thank you for your loyalty and for taking the time to send us your feedback. Will ensure Elizabeth receives your compliment. Will also follow up re your feedback on the steak sandwich. Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Had a lovely night away last Friday night the package was called romantic stay great value €139 for 2 we had a fab room very nice pool and spa and a really lovely dinner 4 courses and a bottle of champers and a box of chocolates in our room and a v nice breakfast the following morning we had a great time away thanks to the hotel for making our stay a great one we will be back

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maybe_girl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick-Dillon, General Manager at Oriel House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Delighted to read your lovely review, thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to us on your next visit to Oriel House Hotel Leisure Club and Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
well travelled
Level Contributor
67 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The hotel is situated about 15 minutes from Cork city in the lovely town of Ballincollig. We attended a wedding reception at the hotel and stayed overnight.
The hotel is well laid out and the staff are friendly and helpful. The big on-suite bedroom was exceptional with a comfortable bed, and had a fridge and safe. The food was absolutely delicious. Would definitely recommend it, for a night away or an occasion.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ejoeIrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick-Dillon, General Manager at Oriel House Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. I am delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Oriel House Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
142 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is a good hotel, with spacious rooms, good amenities and friendly staff. We asked for a quite room, away from a wedding crowd which happening at the time and got an excellent room in the back in which we thought that we were the only guests on the hotel. Breakfast was pleasant and well attended by staff.

One should note that Cork is only accessible by a 15 minutes drive into town or by a more complicated public buses.

Room Tip: Ask for a quite room away from wedding/even crowds
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 559ThomasD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick-Dillon, General Manager at Oriel House Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Delighted to see you enjoyed your stay with us, Thank you for the nice compliments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballincollig
Midleton Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Midleton
677 reviews
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
1,103 reviews
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oriel House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oriel House Hotel

Property: Oriel House Hotel
Address: Main Street, Ballincollig, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Ballincollig
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballincollig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Oriel House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Oriel House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oriel Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing