We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glanmire
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2013

The hotel is a little hard to find. The entrance is cliff side with a hairpin turnoff. But once you drive up the road, its a very nice secluded retreat.

The hotel is very quiet and peaceful, and the rooms are a good size by European standards, although a little old amenity wise.

Short 5 minute drive to Cork, and a 15 minute drive to Cobh.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 0eus0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Dear Sir,

Many thanks for taking time to review our hotel, we were delighted to be able to look after you during your stay here.

We looking forward to welcome you back to our tranquil surrounds here in Cork.

All the best from the Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (801)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

524 - 530 of 801 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at Fitzgerald Vienna Woods Hotel for 2 nights on 6th July. This hotel is just a short drive from Cork with many local attractions Middleton, Cobh, Kinsale and West Cork only an hour away. From the time we arrived we felt so much a home. We were met by a very pleasant receptionist Susan who could not have been more helpful. The hotel room was beautifully decorated, we had a fabulous meal in the dining room on Saturday night, all staff were so pleasant and helpful. Thanks to all. Recommend a visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Dear Patricia M,

Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel.

It was our pleasure looking after you and we look forward to welcoming you back through our doors again.

From Susan and all the team here at Fitgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We arrived and the way the woman working on reception was talking to us was terrible.long blond hair with specs Felt like we arrived unexpected to her house and disturbed her from doing something important. Wrong person in very important place in hotel

Rooms were warm and no A/C at all. Staff on breakfast very, very nice and helpful even breakfast weren't great - buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Dear Robert O,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on our hotel, we take customer feedback very seriously.

We do not have a member of staff on reception that currently matches your description, could you kindly email me directly with some further information as we would like to explore your comments further. I can be reached via email E: tcronin@viennawoodshotel.com

In relation to breakfast, yes it was a buffet option displayed, however several cooked breakfast options are also available such as Full Irish Option, a variety of omelettes and pancakes. These extensive breakfast menus are on each table and would have been available to you.

As I am sure you are aware many hotels and retail outlets in Ireland do not see the need to fit AC units as it is not typically a necessity here with our climate. Temperatures have unusually reached high 20'C here in Cork which we are very thankful for, however this may have attributed to your discomfort.

Kind regards,
Tara Cronin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Recently stayed at this hotel, from the moment we walked in to the hotel from the time we left we were treat like royalty. The staff are without hesitation this hotels greatest asset. The hotel itself is well appointed with comfortable seating and hideaway corners. Our room was on the the third floor, however we had to press 2 on the elevator a little confusing if not odd! In any case it was comfortable, clean and as with the rest of the hotel well appointed. We had breakfast on both mornings of our stay and this was a decent affair served by two lovely staff who were most pleasant. On our second evening we had dinner and that was very good. I would recommend the monkfish. During our stay we visited Cobh, Middleton and Youhal, all pretty towns with plenty of things to do. Will definitely be back again. Great Hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karensontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Dear Karensontour,

Thank you kindly for your comments, we are always interested in customer feedback.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, it was our pleasure looking after you.

Kind regards,
Tara Cronin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

We were disappointed with our short stay at the Vienna Woods.
Our room was very basic, dated and had no air conditioning. As the weekend weather was good - the room was extremely warm and unpleasant.
For the price of a basic room which is a €15 taxi ride from Cork city, we were left with the bad taste of being ripped off. The room wasn't up to the levels of basic cleanliness you would want - there were obvious blonde hairs (we aren't blonde!) on the carpet, it became apparent it hadn't been properly serviced before we arrived. We didnt pay the extra for breakfast so can't comment on that. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to any of my friends.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank starletohara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Dear Starletohara,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your comments and are always interested to hear customer feedback.

We regret that your stay was unsatisfactory and we do not find it at all acceptable that you were not happy with the cleanliness of the room as this is something we take very seriously and an internal discussion is on-going.

We have not been able to come across a log of any such complaint with reception which has made it slightly more difficult to address your comments. Had you mentioned your dissatisfaction to our reception team we would have made sure that appropriate steps were taken to make your stay more enjoyable.

In relation to your accommodation, the room you selected to stay in was one of our Traditional Rooms. These are sold at a reduced rate to compensate for the fact that they are located in the original 18th century house. This would have been explained to you over the phone or attached as a highlighted description during your online booking process.

Kind regards,
Tara Cronin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We recently held-our sons christening party in Vienna Woods. I can honestly say it was a fantastic choice. Form organising it with Darren and the service from John and his team on the day it was second to none. We booked a conference room to cater for our family and friends and when we arrived it was decorated beautifully and had a wonderful childrens play area. It was the small touches that made the day special especially the personalised menus which contained our sons name and meaning. The food was served quickly and there was plenty of it. A great sign in a hotel. The staff were so helpful and could not do enough for us. The room also contained a self service tea and coffee facility so it was great that we could simply help ourselves when required. The desert was extreemly plentlyful and again no shortage of it. The best thing about the whole experience was that no one rushed us, we could take our time and all enjoy the food and have a chat. The even walled off the outside section for us so the kids could play outside in view of the parents, which meant all could relax. We had our wedding reception at the same hotel a few years ago and we knew what to expect but once again the hotel and staff raised the bar and just treated us like royalty. From beginning to end it was a special day made more so by excellent staff, wonderful food and a superb venue. Highly recommend and many many thanks to all.
Tomas & Yvonne.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomasCork_ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Dear Tomas & Yvonne,

We were delighted to welcome you and your family back to Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel.
It was our pleasure looking after you all.

Many thanks for your review.

Kind regards,
From Darren, John and all of us here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We held a hen weekend in the Vienna Woods Villas last weekend. I could not recommend this venue enough!!! Not only were the packages available to us fantastic (and fantastic value for money) the staff were beyond wonderful. From the reservations staff, to the BBQ people and the front of desk, they really could not have been any nicer. The manager and owner even dropped by to say hi! Practically everyone who went said they would be making a return journey. Highly recommended for a hen or just a beautiful night away

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2013

Dear Lisa,

Thank you for your review, we were delighted to be able to look after you and your group.
We even managed to organise some sunny weather for the BBQ.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards from all of us here at Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glanmire
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,598 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Centre
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#10 of 23 in Cork
2,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Douglas
Maryborough Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel

Address: Lower Glanmire Road | 1/2 Mile From Roundabout, Glanmire, Cork, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Glanmire
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glanmire
Price Range: £95 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corks premier wedding venue. Nestled in 22 acres of private woodlands, originally built by the founders of the Beamish Brewery over 200 years ago, today the Hotel is owned and run by the Fitzgerald family. Large open fireplaces, High corniced ceilings, Gold framed Oil paintings, and lots of comfy sofas set the scene. With 50 bedrooms, Crawford’s Bar & Conservatory, weekly Sunday Brunch, and eight luxury holiday Villas this we offers the country experience on the edge of the Cork city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Cork
Hotel Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing