We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top class hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glanmire
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Top class hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

We had our wedding reception there and the staff and the meals were first class rooms are very comfortable and homely I would recommend this hotel for any occasion or events and cork is only minutes drive away and is close to cobh and youghal also

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brosn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Dear Brosn,

Many thanks for your comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your day with us, it was our pleasure looking after your family, friends and guests.

Best of luck to you both,

From all of us here at Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    436
    143
    63
    22
    22
See reviews for
225
214
14
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

We recently held-our daughter's christening party in Vienna Woods. From the outset, we knew we had made the right choice. From organising the christening with Michael Magner hotel manager, to the service provided from him and his able team on the day, all of our needs were catered for to such a high standard. We were allowed to decorate the room the evening before which meant we were able to have more time to enjoy our daughter's special day. The staff made the finishing touches on the day in the room which included a personalised menu to include a picture of our daughter together with the meaning of her name. It was these thoughtful touches that made the day so special for us. The food was served in a very professional way and met all our expectations. All guests commented on the quality of the food, and the service provided.The staff were so helpful and could not do enough for us. The best thing about the whole experience was that no one rushed us, we could take our time and enjoy the occasion. From the beginning to end it was a very special day made more so by excellent staff, wonderful food and a superb venue. We will definitely be returning for future celebrations and highly recommend the hotel. Many thanks to all.
Pat and Audrey

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank HOSCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Dear Pat and Audrey,

We were delighted to be able to look after you, your friends and family and, of course, your precious little girl on her Christening Day.

It was our pleasure having you, thank you for choosing Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel.

Kind regards from all of us here,
Tara Cronin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

The hotel is a little hard to find. The entrance is cliff side with a hairpin turnoff. But once you drive up the road, its a very nice secluded retreat.

The hotel is very quiet and peaceful, and the rooms are a good size by European standards, although a little old amenity wise.

Short 5 minute drive to Cork, and a 15 minute drive to Cobh.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 0eus0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Dear Sir,

Many thanks for taking time to review our hotel, we were delighted to be able to look after you during your stay here.

We looking forward to welcome you back to our tranquil surrounds here in Cork.

All the best from the Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at Fitzgerald Vienna Woods Hotel for 2 nights on 6th July. This hotel is just a short drive from Cork with many local attractions Middleton, Cobh, Kinsale and West Cork only an hour away. From the time we arrived we felt so much a home. We were met by a very pleasant receptionist Susan who could not have been more helpful. The hotel room was beautifully decorated, we had a fabulous meal in the dining room on Saturday night, all staff were so pleasant and helpful. Thanks to all. Recommend a visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Dear Patricia M,

Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel.

It was our pleasure looking after you and we look forward to welcoming you back through our doors again.

From Susan and all the team here at Fitgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

We arrived and the way the woman working on reception was talking to us was terrible.long blond hair with specs Felt like we arrived unexpected to her house and disturbed her from doing something important. Wrong person in very important place in hotel

Rooms were warm and no A/C at all. Staff on breakfast very, very nice and helpful even breakfast weren't great - buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Dear Robert O,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on our hotel, we take customer feedback very seriously.

We do not have a member of staff on reception that currently matches your description, could you kindly email me directly with some further information as we would like to explore your comments further. I can be reached via email E: tcronin@viennawoodshotel.com

In relation to breakfast, yes it was a buffet option displayed, however several cooked breakfast options are also available such as Full Irish Option, a variety of omelettes and pancakes. These extensive breakfast menus are on each table and would have been available to you.

As I am sure you are aware many hotels and retail outlets in Ireland do not see the need to fit AC units as it is not typically a necessity here with our climate. Temperatures have unusually reached high 20'C here in Cork which we are very thankful for, however this may have attributed to your discomfort.

Kind regards,
Tara Cronin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tralee
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

Recently stayed at this hotel, from the moment we walked in to the hotel from the time we left we were treat like royalty. The staff are without hesitation this hotels greatest asset. The hotel itself is well appointed with comfortable seating and hideaway corners. Our room was on the the third floor, however we had to press 2 on the elevator a little confusing if not odd! In any case it was comfortable, clean and as with the rest of the hotel well appointed. We had breakfast on both mornings of our stay and this was a decent affair served by two lovely staff who were most pleasant. On our second evening we had dinner and that was very good. I would recommend the monkfish. During our stay we visited Cobh, Middleton and Youhal, all pretty towns with plenty of things to do. Will definitely be back again. Great Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karensontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Dear Karensontour,

Thank you kindly for your comments, we are always interested in customer feedback.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, it was our pleasure looking after you.

Kind regards,
Tara Cronin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

We were disappointed with our short stay at the Vienna Woods.
Our room was very basic, dated and had no air conditioning. As the weekend weather was good - the room was extremely warm and unpleasant.
For the price of a basic room which is a €15 taxi ride from Cork city, we were left with the bad taste of being ripped off. The room wasn't up to the levels of basic cleanliness you would want - there were obvious blonde hairs (we aren't blonde!) on the carpet, it became apparent it hadn't been properly serviced before we arrived. We didnt pay the extra for breakfast so can't comment on that. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to any of my friends.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank starletohara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Dear Starletohara,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your comments and are always interested to hear customer feedback.

We regret that your stay was unsatisfactory and we do not find it at all acceptable that you were not happy with the cleanliness of the room as this is something we take very seriously and an internal discussion is on-going.

We have not been able to come across a log of any such complaint with reception which has made it slightly more difficult to address your comments. Had you mentioned your dissatisfaction to our reception team we would have made sure that appropriate steps were taken to make your stay more enjoyable.

In relation to your accommodation, the room you selected to stay in was one of our Traditional Rooms. These are sold at a reduced rate to compensate for the fact that they are located in the original 18th century house. This would have been explained to you over the phone or attached as a highlighted description during your online booking process.

Kind regards,
Tara Cronin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glanmire
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,282 reviews
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#4 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Centre
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel

Property: Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel
Address: Lower Glanmire Road | 1/2 mile from roundabout, Glanmire, Cork, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Glanmire
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glanmire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corks premier wedding venue. Nestled in 22 acres of private woodlands, originally built by the founders of the Beamish Brewery over 200 years ago, today the Hotel is owned and run by the Fitzgerald family. Large open fireplaces, High corniced ceilings, Gold framed Oil paintings, and lots of comfy sofas set the scene. With 50 bedrooms, Crawford’s Bar & Conservatory, weekly Sunday Brunch, and eight luxury holiday Villas this we offers the country experience on the edge of the Cork city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Cork
Hotel Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing