We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff, yet missing advertised items.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glanmire
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, yet missing advertised items.”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

You can not miss the push of the hotel's desire to host weddings. The books and ads fill the lobby area. The desk staff were very helpful with check in and out, as well as directions to the room and facilities. The room was missing the hair dryer as advertised, the desk chair had way too much wobble to feel safe to sit in, and the toilet took a few handle moves to get a flush. Glad it was a bit of offseason, and we need more rest then amenities, as our first night in Ireland after a day of site seeing and travel arrival.

Room Tip: Please review that all items are in order before accepting the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Dear Kelly,

Thank you for taking your time to review the hotel. We really appreciate your feedback.

We regret that there was no hairdryer in your room. Normally, they are in the drawers in the vanity area and every single bedroom in the hotel has its own hairdryer. If we had been made aware of the issue we would have been pleased to rectify it immediately.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed yourself relaxing and unwinding in the hotel after a busy day of sightseeing.

Kind Regards,
All the Team at Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    447
    148
    64
    22
    23
See reviews for
231
218
14
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mt. Laurel, NJ
Level Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

However, it is outside of town, so be prepared to drive if you want to go anywhere, it is not within walking distance of the town. Pros were the breakfast was good and the dinner was fantastic, so they definitely have good cooking staff. The room was very clean, but needed updating, it was dark and not inviting at all. Also, my bath was within the suite but not close to the bed, very odd shaped corner room. Cons - outside of town, my bed was not comfortable at all.
Staff very helpful and friendly. I do recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChefAnnMt_Laurel_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Dear ChefAnnMt_Laurel_NJ,

We were delighted to look after you during your stay with us and thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments. While we are outside the city centre, the hotel offers a tranquil surrounding to return to and relax after a busy day of shopping and only a short ten minute drive away.

It was our pleasure having you with us.

Kind regards
All the Team at Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taupo, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a family wedding .Was a great place for a wedding ,its in a lovely setting and the hotel is lovely inside ,food was good staff very friendly and did a great job,everyone had a great time .
Had a good nights sleep and a lovely breakfast the next morning. Love the different rooms ,would stay again any time ,so close to cork and midleton .Sorry Iam not sure what else i can write but the review has to be 200 characters , Would be a great place for any kind of faction .

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank swiwi51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Dear Swiwi51,

I would like to thank you for taking time to write your review. We were delighted to look after you here at Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel and are glad you enjoyed yourself. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best Wishes,
All the Team at Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 October 2013

For those of you looking for an unforgettable wedding in Cork or Ireland, look no further than Vienna Woods hotel. Hotel Director Michael Magner and his team were a dream to work with from day one while looking for a wedding venue to night of the special event. He certainly has a unique way with making you feel special and making your wedding day and preparation stress free. WE had an added level of complexity as we were planning from overseas but Michael definitely made it all easy, accomodating our times and making himself available over skype.

We had many many requests of the hotel for the wedding day, all of which they accomodated without question. We really couldn't have asked for anything else. Michael orchastrated everything with a touch of class which I've yet to see at any other wedding in my life.

The hotel iteself is charming, clean, quiet, coupled with extremely friendly staff it made for a perfect few days there. Not one of our guests had a complaint, they loved the food, loved the welcome they got and didn't want to leave afterwards! This hotel really had a lot to do with our guests "Dream Stay" in Ireland.

Having sampled lunch and dinner on seperate occasions here as well I'd also highly recommend this place for meals.

We'll be forever grateful to this hotel for making this day so special to us, thanks again everyone.

Room Tip: We stayed in the honeymoon suite which was away from the banquet room. Everything was extremely quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ollie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Dear Ollie,

Thank you for taking your time to write your review. Here at Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel we pride ourself on our attention to detail and our high levels of customer service so we are delighted to hear about your wonderful wedding experience with us.

It was a pleasure looking after you and your wedding guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your 1st Wedding Anniversary.

Kind Regards,

From all the team at Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stumbled upon Vienna Woods accidentally and are so happy we did! This gem is nestled away in Glanmire, right off the highway but off the beaten path. It is clean and comfortable with two sections, one that is old (in the architectural sense) and another that is modern, so whatever your taste, you have it here. It is operated very well with the personal touch of a family-owned business. It’s an absolutely perfect location if you are traveling about the country, where you can rest in comfort and experience the charm and hospitality of a friendly, professional staff who will treat you like family. When you check out, remember to pick up a jar of homemade jam, a true souvenir of your trip and absolutely delicious!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Dear David H,

We were delighted to look after you during your recent stay with us and thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments. It was our pleasure having you with us and are very happy that you and your group stumbled across us.

We look forward to welcoming you through our doors again in the future.

Best Wishes,

From All the team at Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Beautifully located and with a good reputation, my family and I were looking forward to Sunday brunch last week.
We waited longer than am comfortable with at the restaurant entrance, especially as the person was standing next to us typing in bills. The restaurant wasn't that busy and so that was disappointing. Once we sat, a few minutes later a lady came to us and asked us, "what are we having". This was confusing for everyone as we thought she meant a drink but instead we eventually realized it was the brunch choice.
The appetizer selection was basic however the soup was good. The chefs on the carvery and stations were pleasant and helpful. The turkey wasn't great but the beef and other dishes were nice.
The best thing about this brunch was the dessert selection which calls you back again and again. There is also a place for young children to play.
Overall, it's nice but our experience was a little disappointing.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HRHEire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Owner at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear HRH Eire

Many thanks for taking the time to review our Sunday Buffet Lunch here at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, while we appreciate feedback, it is also important that reviews are balanced to allow the trip advisor community the opportunity to have the complete overview of an experience.

We have investigated your observations and have identified where your perceptions and our decisions on service may be at odds

1. On occasion tables which are reserved may encounter minor delays, this is because either they arrive ahead of their appointed time or that they may in fact run late, either way each table when booked is allocated space and while a table may be vacant and one may get the impression that other tables are also vacant, these tables are pre-set and pre-booked. If guests are not seated in an orderly fashion it can lead to frustrating queues at the main course, as this section of our self service buffet is actually carved and served by our personnel.

2. You and your party were asked what you were having as there are two choices, hence two price point options available for guests. For €24.99 per adult you can enjoy all three courses (starter, main course and dessert) plus one child eats free per adult based on the full Sunday buffet option. The second option is for a two course option from the three available for €19.99, this option does not include free dinning for children. All this information is clearly displayed at the entrance reception room to the buffet and is entitled ‘Important Notice’. A future service improvement for us will be to ask persons if they have made a decision on what choice of courses they wish to avail of, as is evident from your comment not all our guests read the notices on display.

3. It is our opinion that for the price we charge, our selection offered represents excellent value, you mention that our starter selection was poor with soup and seafood, again, for the benefit of the TripAdvisor community and for your information should you wish to revisit in the future, our starter selection also has cold meats, mixed salad leaves, potato cakes or mussels, pasta salad, potato salad and coleslaw along with tomatoes, peppers and onion salads.

4. We accept your point about our Turkey and it can indeed be dry but we are doing our best to address this with our supplier and adapt a different cooking method where perhaps a mix of steam and roasting may be more appropriate, this is a trial and error, however it should also be noted that we engage with customers at all times and feedback is generally always positive.
Thank you for your comments regarding our desserts which also includes a crepe station for your enjoyment we will relay your comments to our team.

Finally, and again, thank you for taking the time to review our Sunday buffet, and should you decide to visit again we would be delighted to meet you personally and take you through all the details of our offering, as it is regretful that you did not point your observations out to us during your visit and perhaps you would then not have had to taken so much time in writing your review as we would have been more than happy to clarify your observations there and then.

Warm regards,
Michael Magner
Director of Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

This hotel is charming and everything about it is perfect. A special shout out to hotel director Michael Magner and his staff for taking such good care of our group after we had been through some difficult times earlier that day. Setting foot in that hotel changed our trip to Ireland magically for the better. Michael and his team took care of everything in Cork and our travels thereon for us. Vienna Woods is flawless - rooms, service, breakfast, hospitality, location, the property. Go for it!

Room Tip: We had rooms in different sections of the hotel and they were all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gs217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Dear gs217,

Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted you enjoyed your experience here at Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel. We are very happy that we were able to help improve your 'difficult times' and hope we helped you in every way that we could.

We would love to welcome you through our doors again so if you ever are visiting Ireland again pop in to visit our team.

Kind Regards,

From Michael all the team at Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glanmire
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,313 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
1,049 reviews
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel

Property: Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel
Address: Lower Glanmire Road | 1/2 mile from roundabout, Glanmire, Cork, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Glanmire
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glanmire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corks premier wedding venue. Nestled in 22 acres of private woodlands, originally built by the founders of the Beamish Brewery over 200 years ago, today the Hotel is owned and run by the Fitzgerald family. Large open fireplaces, High corniced ceilings, Gold framed Oil paintings, and lots of comfy sofas set the scene. With 50 bedrooms, Crawford’s Bar & Conservatory, weekly Sunday Brunch, and eight luxury holiday Villas this we offers the country experience on the edge of the Cork city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Cork
Hotel Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing