We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place a bit outside of Cork”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glanmire
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
158 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Nice place a bit outside of Cork”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

Stayed here for one night with our 4 year old son. Got a triple room at a fair rate. Hotel is generally of a high standard. They had a wedding party when we stayed there, so unfortunately the bar and lounge area were reserved. Had food and drinks sent to the room instead, which worked alright. Breakfast was fantastic! Staff nice and helpful! Rooms with TV and free wifi. Definitely a good place for a weekend getaway!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anders J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear AndersJ,

Many thanks for your kind comments and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We’re pleased to hear that our staff were friendly, and helpful as we pride ourselves on delivering excellent service and attention to detail.

Apologies if the bar was busy, this is strange to hear that the bar was reserved because with all Wedding Parties we reserve an area for our in-house guests. I have noted this with the managers to investigate this further so hopefully an incident like this will not occur again.

Again, thank you for your recommendation and taking the time to write a review. We look forward to welcoming you through our doors again.

Kind Regards,

All the Team at Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    447
    148
    64
    22
    23
See reviews for
231
218
14
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

Myself and my colleagues spent a week at the self catering cottages at Vienna Woods and this is the best self catering place I have ever stayed in. The cottages consist of 4 ensuite bedrooms and a kitchen, dining and lounge area. Although this space sounds fairly compact, the layout, design and huge windows make the space feel huge and very roomy! The whole interior decor is modern, clean and comfortable, with all facilities in the kitchen including a double oven. My bedroom on the second floor had a spacious shower in the ensuite and a king size bed which was so comfy! There were 2 blackout blinds with a remote control so you can operate them from your bed and the whole cottage backed onto the woods which meant that you could hear lovely birdsong in the mornings. An absolute pleasure to stay here! I really would recommend these cottages extremely highly!!

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Juliawills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Juliawillis,

Many thanks for taking your time to review our self catering accommodation at Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and really appreciate your kind comments of our facilities.

We hope to see you again in the near future,

Kindest Regards,

All the Team at Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Myself,husband and 13 other guests decided to stay at Vienna Woods for my 40th birthday celebrations. My sister and brother-in-law got married there two years ago and we all had such a fantastic time that it was my choice to go back and 12 of us flew over from Birmingham to do so. All of the staff were very accomadating especially the Manager Michael Magner. The Breakfast was very good with a great variety and the evening meal on the Saturday evening was excellent with a fantastic choice and most enjoyable. The rooms were very clean and well maintained.I look forward to returning when we can.

Room Tip: We had a variety of rooms and nobody experienced any noise or problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Heidi K,

Many thanks for your kind review. We would like to congratulate you on your recent birthday celebration. We are delighted you enjoyed your experience with us here at Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel and our delighted we were able to look after you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel again.

Kind Regards,

All the Team at Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the hotel two nights (Fri & Sat) we had a family wedding on the fri night so decided to travel the three hour journey the day before and make a weekend out of it. We checked in and were told our room was 101, when we opened the door of the room the smell of damp hit us, the room is tiny, the bathroom door hadn't even a key in the lock but there was no need for it really as the door wouldn't even close fully. We went downstairs as we organised to meet people in the bar, passing the desk I voiced my concerns to the receptionist about the smell in the room and she didn't even apologise but just said that we couldn't be moved as they had a wedding that night and another tomorrow, I said I know as we were attending the wedding tomor, she said she would see what housekeeping could do about the smell, I thought to myself unless they are going to do something with the damp patches on the walls the smell is still going to be there when we finished dinner, and of course it was, but this time there was a smell of air fresher aswell so we tried to open the window a little bit but that wouldn't open fully either, we couldn't even see out the window as it was covered over with some kind of contact paper, pulled the blind up and that got stuck and couldn't get it back down. We went to the wedding the following day and I could not fault the food etc and everyone seemed to really enjoy themselves but the thoughts of spending another night there really ruined it for me, we filled out the card on our departure and brought it down to the desk, the lobby was full with the wedding guests and when I spoke to the receptionist I told her that I was not at all happy with the stay and she said she would pass on our information to the manager and then the groom came over to speak to us and that was the end of that conversion (unfortunately we paid when we arrived). We have never received an email or a phone call from the hotel and on reading some of the reviews it would be some story about the hotel being old etc. We took photos of the room and to be honest nobody should have to pay that amount (€236) for a room that's covered in damp, (health and safety). We stayed in the Knights Brook in kildare a month later and the standard there was outstanding. If the room was like that (old or not) it should NOT have been used until its of the standard of the star rating given to the hotel.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Miriam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Miriam F,

Thank you for sharing your constructive feedback. We’re happy to hear of your compliments of the wedding that you attended, and we’re glad you enjoyed the hotel, particularly the food and service that we are renowned for. However, we’re disappointed to hear of your experiences with your room. We take pride in each and every aspect of our hotel and our guest’s experiences are our top priority.

After investigating the matter, we would like to establish a few details. We are not sure if you stayed the Friday & Saturday night or the Thursday & Friday night as initially you mention you stayed on the Friday and Saturday and you later go on to say you attended the wedding on the Friday night and travelled down the day before so we would like to establish these details first so we can further investigate the incident.

We see from a reservation if you had stayed on the Friday & Saturday night that this room was booked over the phone by a different person. Room 101, which you stayed in, was a traditional room, this is always described over the phone as a standard, basic room with a small ensuite. This was the room that was booked. With regards to the dampness, there was unfortunately a leak in the roof of the original mansion of the hotel due to the extreme weather conditions that we have been experiencing which has since been rectified. We would like to extend our sincere apologies for any smell of dampness in the room. Each room we have also checked and we can assure you that the bathroom doors in each room close fully.

We have a strict policy to pass on any information that has been received to a manager on duty to deal with accordingly. We are extremely sorry for your comment card which must have been missed and will be investigating this also with our team to ensure this doesn’t happen again.

While we understand and apologise that your experience of the room was not to your satisfaction we would like to point out that the title of the review ‘Worst hotel we have ever stayed in’, is a bit extreme as you continue to explain that you could not fault the food and that you enjoyed the wedding reception you experienced here in the hotel.

We appreciate you sharing the details as we take these comments seriously. Please know that I have discussed your points with the management team. I want to assure you the situation is being looked into, and we are in the process of correcting these issues to improve the quality of our guest’s stays. These conditions are utterly out of the norm and are in opposition to our company culture and standards. As we would like to follow up on each detail of your stay, if you feel comfortable, please email mwhooley@viennawoodshotel.com with your contact information. Please accept our sincerest apologies, and thank you again for your candid feedback.

Kind Regards,
From all the Team at Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here valentines weekend, was a two night stay with breakfast and 1 dinner! The rooms and hotel are very nice , nice and warm and relaxing , staff are very good! The food in the Mabel Crawford's bistro was a 5 course and was delicious . Bar food in the hotel was very good as well and not expensive which is great! Hotel is quiet and away from the city it would be a bit far from city to be getting a taxi in and out but I knew this booking as we had no interest in city as we have seen it plenty of times! Good spot to go and see the sights from , we went to Cobh out to the titanic experience and also went to the Cork City Gaol both are worth seeing . Only things I would change after they cleaned rooms they didn't replace the towels ,when I rang down to reception about 5 about this was told that towels do be brought around to each room later in evening, this delayed us as we wanted go out to dinner and couldn't have showers till the towels came around which was about half 6, most people would be getting ready from 5 o clock on so felt this was a bad thing to be doing, also as was valentines the room was advertised with rose petals on bed and strawberry with chocolate's , the rose petals Weren't rose petals but fake bits plastic which didn't look great! Would stay here again no problem and recommend it, it was good value and great service but if they just fixed these two things would be great.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear William B,

Many thanks for your kind comments and we are glad you enjoyed your Valentines weekend with us. We’re pleased to hear that our staff were friendly, and helpful as we pride ourselves on delivering excellent service and our attention to detail.

Apologies for the delay in replacing the clean towels to the bedroom. I have noted this and will investigate with the accommodation manager to ensure this does not happen again. Also, with regards to the rose petals, unfortunately we can't place real rose petals in the room as when they wilt they can soil the bed linen.

Again, thank you for your recommendation and taking the time to write a review. We look forward to welcoming you through our doors again.

Kind Regards,
From all the Team at Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

We recently stayed at Vienna Woods for our 1st Anniversary as we had a wedding there a year ago and our revisit was not a disappointment.

I knew that we were going to have our wedding at Vienna Woods as I would have booked accommodation for clients and work colleagues for many years and found them to be warm and extremely accommodating. So much so that we didn't view any other hotel. You can tell straight away that it is a family business and that they want you as client or guest to have a wonderful experience.

For Example one year on we bumped into Michael the manager at the hotel and he recognise us straight away. He made sure we had a lovely dinner and a wonderful stay. We were moved to the new Bridal suite which is amazing!!!!

If you are thinking of getting married at Vienna Woods or want a romantic night away I would strongly recommend booking there. The bridal suite is stunning, as soon as you enter the room you dazzle by the beautiful Chandeliers and elegant decor. The spacious bathroom was out of this world with a free standing bath, double shower to make your first morning as newly weds very special...When walking through the hallway you enter a Luxurious bedroom with high ceilings, huge period style windows and a four posted bed. There is also a Wide screen TV, surround sound and proper nespresso coffee!!! It really is wonderful and the location is perfect as you are just above the ballroom so you can pop up to the room quickly during the night and return to your guests.

The food was also delicious in the Mabel Crawfords restaurant and the service was fabulous. We found that you receive the same quality at a wedding and people would still comment on the food at our wedding.

Overall I would definitely recommend Vienna Woods for any kind of stay be it business, leisure, wedding or small party. You will be treated the same regardless if you are spending €30 or €30,000. All the staff are down to earth and make you feel at home there.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CorkSudee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Cork Sudee,

Many thanks for your kind review and also a big congratulations on your first wedding anniversary. We truly appreciate your compliments regarding our staff. We're continually striving to ensure our guest's visits are enjoyable from start to finish, and the staff are essential. I'll be sure to pass your comments along to our team.

We're also pleased you found the food in the Bistro of high quality and to live up to the expectations of your own wedding. Again, thank you for your recommendation and taking the time to write a review. We look forward to your return soon.

Kind Regards,
All the Team at Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
100 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

This was my first time to stay. The hotel is set amongst trees just a stones throw from the busy roads around Cork. You would never know once there. The hotel has an old fashioned charm. What it lacks in mod cons it makes up for with friendliness and comfort. The rooms are cosy and clean. The staff are friendly and helpful.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear Brian D,

Many thanks for your kind review. We are delighted you experienced your stay with us here at Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel and our delighted we were able to look after you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to experience the tranquillity and calm once again that Vienna Woods Hotel has to offer.

Kind Regards,

All the Team from Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glanmire
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,319 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel

Property: Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel
Address: Lower Glanmire Road | 1/2 mile from roundabout, Glanmire, Cork, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Glanmire
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glanmire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corks premier wedding venue. Nestled in 22 acres of private woodlands, originally built by the founders of the Beamish Brewery over 200 years ago, today the Hotel is owned and run by the Fitzgerald family. Large open fireplaces, High corniced ceilings, Gold framed Oil paintings, and lots of comfy sofas set the scene. With 50 bedrooms, Crawford’s Bar & Conservatory, weekly Sunday Brunch, and eight luxury holiday Villas this we offers the country experience on the edge of the Cork city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Cork
Hotel Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing