We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Mini Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glanmire
Certificate of Excellence
County Carlow, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Mini Break”
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights this week and had a lovely stay. The room was superb and the staff extremely friendly and helpful throughout. The place is so peaceful and quiet in the mornings and only a few minutes from the city at the same time. Would definitely recommend this hotel to family and friends in a heartbeat.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Dear Stephen O,

Many thanks for your kind comments and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We’re pleased to hear that our staff were friendly and helpful as we pride ourselves on delivering excellent service and attention to detail.

Again, thank you for your recommendation and taking the time to write a review. We look forward to welcoming you through our doors again.

Kind Regards,
From all the Team at Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hote
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    465
    152
    72
    24
    24
See reviews for
245
224
14
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 8 March 2014

A big group of my family stayed in The Vienna Woods hotel to celebrate my mother's Birthday. From the time we arrived we were all made feel extremely welcome by Michael and his staff from very young to old. We dined in Mable Crawfords Restaurant which was outstanding. The food and service were both impecccable! There was even a play area set up for the small kids in the restaurant and with personilised menus with my mother's picture on it. We were all very impressed. We were also asked if we wished to dine together for breakfast the following morning and as there was a big group of us and this was no easy task. From start to finish our stay in The Vienna Woods was a wonderful experience. We will defiently return to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Dear Marie M,

We are delighted we could look after you and your family for your mothers birthday. Here at the hotel our guests satisfaction and enjoyment is our main priority and we are glad we lived up to your expectations.

We are delighted you and your family also enjoyed the personal touch of the personalised menus as we regard our high attention to detail as very important to our guests overall experience.

Thank you for your kind review and we hope we can take care of you and your family again.

Kind Regards,

All the Team at Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Our second visit, and an improvement on 2013. Large hotel, noticeably smart because it it is one Cork's premier wedding reception venues, catering for at least two every weekend, as well as corporate events. We had a spacious, clean and very warm room with nice views. Breakfast also quite agreeable, with plenty of choice, both hot and cold. £200 for three nights - reckon that's all round good value.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simplesouls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Dear Simplesouls,

Many thanks for your kind review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us here at Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel. It is great to hear that you think the hotel has improved as we are constantly trying to improve our standards and update our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back through our doors again.

Kind Regards,
All the team at Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We can not fault this superb hotel!!! We recently stayed for family birthday celebrations. The hotel was spotless, staff were friendly and welcoming, fantastic choice for breakfast and we enjoyed a group dinner one of the evenings which exceeded our expectations!!! Thank you Vienna Woods for fond memories of a great weekend!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrixieMcG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear TrixieMcG,

I would like to thank you for taking time to write your kind review. We were delighted to look after you here for your recent party at Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel and are glad you enjoyed yourself.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

All the team at Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

We recently attended a wedding in the Vienna Woods and it has to be said that the staff, food and atmosphere of the venue were great.
However, the price of the drink at the bar and €125 for room only in the hotel was extortionate.
Our room was average at best with both noise and a stiff wind flowing through the poorly glazed windows. When the bride arrived beeping the horn it felt like they were coming to park in our room even though we were on the third floor. It is a nice hotel but we definitely feel we didn't see any value for money in the accommodation. If you're attending a wedding here, save yourself money and stay some where else. A friend of ours stayed in a B&B down the road for €47 with a massive breakfast.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HGM82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear HGM82

Many thanks for taking the time to give your personal opinion on your experience here at our property. We very much appreciate the compliments you have made, we continue to work very hard to develop our wedding business and thankfully we are in a very fortunate position where we welcome almost 150 couples and their guests to our hotel every year.

We will immediately investigate your comments regarding the noise level coming through from your window, in all honesty we do not receive significant comments around this, but we will note it as it may be an emerging issue for us.

As Trip advisor allows for anonymous personal opinion to be posted on their site, it is important we take note of your review but as this is a public platform we would also like a chance to explain from the hotels point of view.

First the rate you paid was €125.00 this is not in question, however what you did not mention is that 25% of our guestrooms at our hotel are sold at less than €100.00 to wedding guests, this is agreed with each couple when making a booking with us.

Our selling rates are calculated based on the operation costs of the hotel. Every business has these costs, however a hotels costs are significantly higher than that of a Bed and Breakfast. For example our statutory local authority rates bill for 2014 will be just under €100k. A bed and breakfast will pay a maximums of 10% of that, hence one reason for the price gap. To insure our property will cost €50k this year and bed and breakfast will cost again less than 10% of that.

There is no doubt that a bed and breakfast is cheaper than a hotel, and if you are looking for value for money, you are right that a B&B would be significantly cheaper than a four star hotel.

Also, we are not sure if you were made aware that we also have 8 self-catering holidays villas on the hotel grounds only a few minutes’ walk to the hotel, each with 4 guestrooms and separate en-suite bathroom. A rate for a three night stay in these houses can work out as little as €23.00 per person, based on 8 people sharing which represents fantastic value for money.

Regarding your comments on the price of our beverages, I agree prices for alcohol has become quite high in recent times, again readers should be aware that selling prices at hotels are determined by a number of factors 1) The purchase price, while you might not be aware of this, drinks companies and government have each year edged up prices by citing increased operating costs and in the case with government increased excise duty. 2) As mentioned previously operation costs are also factored in when calculating the retail price. Hotels pay much higher rates, insurance costs etc.. than pubs, restaurants and off licences. 3) Our retail price is in line with or in fact under most hotels in our vicinity, we are certain of this. 4) In various areas of the country, beverages prices can be higher or lower. It is safe to say for example Dublin has a much higher price for beverages than Cork and Galway. 4) A typical standard bottle of house wine can be purchased from €18.00 here at hotel, which I think represents fair Value.

Please know that our guest’s satisfaction is our number one priority, and we appreciate all feedback as it offers us the opportunity to grow and improve. I have passed your comments on to our management team, and we will look into the situation further. Thank you again for taking the time to post a review.

Kind Regards,

Michael Magner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Attended a wedding here with my family. Entering the hotel, you instantly feel welcome. The staff cannot do enough for you. They are always there if you need them and unobtrusive otherwise. The food was just exquisite. The starters were mouth watering and I had beef for the main course that was cooked to perfection and enough to feed a family on each plate. After the meal, the staff were again efficient in clearing the area for the first dance. The evening food consisted of a "Pig on the spit" of all things. Mouth watering pork dripping in flavour. The ambience and warmth of all areas of the hotel is evident in the décor and friendly staff. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to all.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aidan_Cork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Aidan_Cork,


Many thanks for taking your time to review our hotel. We were delighted to look after you at the wedding reception here at Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel and are glad you enjoyed yourself. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

All the Team at Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I was recently a guest at my cousins wedding in the Vienna Woods Hotel Glanmire. From the first moment u walk in you get the warm greeting and feel from the hotel. this comes from the friendly staff and the design of this old country style hotel. The food is of a very high rating and there is surplus amounts available at out wedding. It is cooked to the highest level possible.

what really stood out was the level of service I received from all the staff on the day. They were really caring towards me which made my experience flow easier throughout the day and night.

I would definitely recommend this Hotel as a perfect wedding venue no matter what the size as their Function Room can cater for all sizes.

I would give it 10/10 and rate it a 5 Star

Room Tip: If you know the date of the wedding you are going to I would advise to book yoiur room early as they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear StephenD,

Dear Racheltos,

Many thanks for your kind review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your evening with us here at Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel.

We pride ourselves on our customer service and it is great to hear such wonderful feedback about our service and staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future,

Kind Regards,

All the Team at Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glanmire
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,413 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Douglas
Maryborough Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel

Property: Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel
Address: Lower Glanmire Road | 1/2 mile from roundabout, Glanmire, Cork, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Glanmire
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glanmire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corks premier wedding venue. Nestled in 22 acres of private woodlands, originally built by the founders of the Beamish Brewery over 200 years ago, today the Hotel is owned and run by the Fitzgerald family. Large open fireplaces, High corniced ceilings, Gold framed Oil paintings, and lots of comfy sofas set the scene. With 50 bedrooms, Crawford’s Bar & Conservatory, weekly Sunday Brunch, and eight luxury holiday Villas this we offers the country experience on the edge of the Cork city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Cork
Hotel Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing