We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vienna Woods Hotel Review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glanmire
Certificate of Excellence
Clonmel, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Vienna Woods Hotel Review”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This a lovely hotel just outside Cork City. It is an ol hotel, lovely to relax in. The food is very good and the staff are friendly and courteous. The one downside I found with the hotel, though it has a wheelchair toilet, be prepared to leave the wheelchair outside the toilet. There is not enough room in the toilet for the wheelchair and close the door.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Tony 301,

Thank you for taking your time to write your review. We appreciate your compliments of the hotel and we are delighted you enjoyed your experience with us. However, we would like to apologise for any issues with our disabled bathrooms - the disabled toilet adheres to the 2000 legislation guidelines with respect to the room dimensions. However, we are in the process of starting refurbishments in the bathrooms of the hotel and our disabled bathroom is our main priority. We would like to extend our sincere apologies if this resulted in any discomfort for you or other guests during your recent trip to the hotel.

Kind Regards,

All the Team at Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    465
    152
    72
    24
    24
See reviews for
245
224
14
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan, KS
Level Contributor
112 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We were thrilled to find this place after hours on the road. What a great find! Susan got us checked in quickly and called to save us a spot at dinner since we were coming in so late. She was the best and an absolute pleasure. Dinner was so great! The rooms were comfy and I slept like a baby.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pnkybrwstr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Hi pnkybrwstr,

Thank you for taking your time to write your kind review. We are delighted you stumbled across us and that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is our main priority to look after our guests from start to finish and it is great to hear how accommodating Susan was.

We look forward to welcoming you again,

Kind Regards,

All the Team at Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We had four days' stay here recently with friends, exploring Cork and the south coast. The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful, and our room and en suite a good size and well appointed. Although it is a little way outside Cork it is a quick bus ride (and the bus driver will even drop you off at the bottom of the drive if the traffic isn't heavy). The food was good value (we had one dinner and one breakfast) and the bar pleasant. Two small caveats - it is clearly THE wedding venue in the area so ask for a room away from the car park if you are an early-to-bed sort or the guests leaving functions may bother you. Also there was no fridge in our room but maybe you only had to ask for one when booking.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Jennie445,

We were delighted to look after you during your stay with us and thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments. While we are outside the city centre, the hotel offers a tranquil surrounding to return to and relax after a busy day of shopping and only a short ten minute drive away. Fridges are available in the bedrooms upon request and if you decide to visit us again we would be delighted to organise one for you.

Kindest Regards,

All the team at Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

A group of 16 of us stayed in the Villa's in Vienna Woods for the weekend. The houses were lovely, very clean and included everything we needed. We had a BBQ cooked for us at the villa's on the Saturday night, the food was fantastic and was only topped by the excellent service. The staff in general that we dealt with for the whole weekend were superb, they couldn't have been more helpful or accommodating with everything. I will definitely be back and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Suzanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Suzanne F,

Thank you for your kind comments. We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay,in particular the BBQ in the villas. We truly appreciate your compliments regarding our staff. We're continually striving to ensure our guest's visits are enjoyable from start to finish, and the staff are essential. I'll be sure to pass your comments along to our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

All the Team at Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed at vienna woods for my cousins wedding, from the minute we stepped into the hotel we were made feel welcome, we were promptly checked into our rooms by two extremely friendly staff members, we had dinner included in our package and the food was amazing so compliments to the chef, during the meal for the wedding staff were very nice we even had the owner come to our table to ensure everything was ok.
Just a small let down was been left waiting at the bar for almost 20 minutes while other people were walking up beside me and getting served and after waiting that long was told there was no change in the till to come back later (which I totally forgot because we had so much going on with the wedding) and like other reviewers mention breakfast could be hotter.
The staff are definitely a credit to this hotel especially Glanis, phoenix, ali & Darren just to name a few, keep up the good work :-)

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Melissa S,

Thank you for taking your time to write your kind review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us at Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel. Our customer service and satisfaction are our main priority and we were thrilled to have looked after you when you attended a wedding here recently.

Thank you also for your feedback with regards to the bar service and breakfast in the hotel, we take customer direction very seriously and continuously look for ways to improve the experience for our guests.

Kind Regards,

All the team from Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

In May 2014 we stayed in the Vienna Woods Self serving Chalets for a couple of weeks. They are situated above the Hotel itself and are lovely and quiet as far as outside noise is concerned. Unfortuately we slept in the main upstairs bedroom and were kept awake most of the night by the plumbing hissing and gurgling and bellowing all night for 2 nights before staff came to repair it. There is no Wi-Fi in the Chalets and you have to go to the main hotel along with your computer if you want to use the free service provided. There were no information sheets on how to work the appliances such as washing machine, oven or television and the television in the lounge room had very poor sound quality in the speakers and the controls had no backs covering the battery's. I also thought it a bit poor that there was not one bar of soap in the place nor was there any dish washing detergent to enable at least one batch of dishes. Also no dish cloth to clean up any mess. The mattress on the bed was very firm also which gave poor sleep quality. On the up side the chalet was roomy with 4 bedrooms and 4 ensuites and well functioning stove and fridge in the kitchen. Close parking was also a bonus. In two weeks we did not receive any change of towels or linen so I think for the price that was pretty poor too. Would I stay there again.... Probably for the convenience but now I am wise to the pitfalls. The staff in the main hotel were helpful and courteous so no complaint there.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussie_Hatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Aussie_Hatch,

Thank you for sharing your constructive feedback. We’re happy to hear of your compliments to the staff, and we’re glad you enjoyed your stay and the comfort of the holiday villas. However, we’re disappointed to hear of your experiences with other aspects of the villa.

We take pride in each and every aspect of our hotel and villas and our guest’s experiences are our top priority. We appreciate you sharing the details as we take these comments seriously. Please know that I have discussed your points with the management team. I want to assure you the situation is being looked into, and we are in the process of correcting these issues to improve the quality of our guest’s stays. It is being investigated at the moment as the normal procedure is to have dishwasher tablets, cleaning cloths and soap in all of our villas and we would like to thank you for bringing these issues to our attention.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

All the team at Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We were a family of 11 booked for Communion lunch on 10th May.The room we were given was beautiful, and it was a great surprise to have the room to ourselves. The food was superb and the service was excellent. Our daughter was made feel like a princess on the day. I cannot rate the hotel highly enough, and to have had such an experience on a very busy day in the hotel is a credit to the staff and management.

I certainly will be returning to the hotel in the near future for other family occasions.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Alison,

Many thanks for your kind review. It was our pleasure to look after you and your daughter at her recent communion. We are delighted you enjoyed celebrating her special day with us here at the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind Regards,

All the team at Vienna Woods Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glanmire
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,413 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Douglas
Maryborough Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel

Property: Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel
Address: Lower Glanmire Road | 1/2 mile from roundabout, Glanmire, Cork, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Glanmire
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glanmire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corks premier wedding venue. Nestled in 22 acres of private woodlands, originally built by the founders of the Beamish Brewery over 200 years ago, today the Hotel is owned and run by the Fitzgerald family. Large open fireplaces, High corniced ceilings, Gold framed Oil paintings, and lots of comfy sofas set the scene. With 50 bedrooms, Crawford’s Bar & Conservatory, weekly Sunday Brunch, and eight luxury holiday Villas this we offers the country experience on the edge of the Cork city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Cork
Hotel Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing