We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was okay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glanmire
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The staff were very friendly and polite but the room just wasn't what I would have thought. There seemed to have been some water damage in the ceiling in the bathroom and bedroom and it was just so hot in the room. The food at the restaurant really wasn't that great. I did however enjoy the location as we had rented a vehicle and it was easy to get around to all the places we wanted to visit and we got to see a lot of really nice scenery outside the city center.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank vic7oriab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Vic7Oriab,

Thank you for your candid review of your experience at Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback as all information from our guests helps us to improve our service offerings. We’re pleased to hear that our staff were friendly, and helpful as we pride ourselves on delivering excellent service.

We're so disheartened to hear of your disappointing experience as that is highly unusual for the quality of food in Mabel Crawford's Bistro. Please accept our sincere apologies regarding the event and rest assured that we will be investigating the situation fully and speaking with our management team.

We hope that you will consider visiting us here in the hotel again and allow us the opportunity to serve you a quality meal that is our standard.

All the Team at Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (817)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

444 - 450 of 817 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

A family meal and refreshments after a Christening of a grandchild born in America. We had a private room off the Restauraunt with personal attention at all times. The Meal was excellent and the staff could not be more helpful. My Son and his English wife who live in America for a number of years were highly impressed with the Hotel, Décor,sorroundings, parking facility and most of all the staff. Even a Christening Cake was produced to really make it so memorable. Top Class in all respects.

Room Tip: Rooms looking out on Forestry type scene are most pleasant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Vincent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Vincent M,

Thank you for your candid review of your recent visit to our restaurant, Mabel Crawfords. We’re pleased to hear that our staff were friendly, and helpful as we pride ourselves on delivering excellent service. Thank you also for your compliments regarding the quality and taste of the food served. While we’re honoured you chose to celebrate the christening with us we are also delighted that you enjoyed your experience.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

All the team at Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

What can i say about the Vienna Woods Hotel only so delighted my family member decided to have their wedding in this top class hotel.
From the day they booked the hotel with the owner Michael Magner who may i add is such a gentleman to the day of the Wedding the staff of the Vienna Woods could not of done more for us.
What can i say about the Wedding day only first class.

The ball room had to be seen to be belived it was so classy.
The way the owner Michael annouced each of the wedding party in to the way the staff served the meal was again first class.
The food was up to the standard of any 5 star hotel.
every guest was talking about how nice the hotel was how good the food was and above all how attentive the staff were.
Thank you Michael and your staff for makeing the day so special.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tammycorkireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear TammycorkIreland,

Thank you for taking your time to write your review. Here at Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel we pride ourself on our attention to detail and our high levels of customer service so we are delighted to hear about your wonderful wedding experience with us.

It was a pleasure looking after you and the wedding party here at the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back through our doors in the near future.

Kind Regards,

All the Team at Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My extended family consisting of 5 adults and 2 x two year olds (3 families in all)had a wonderful 5 day break end of June 2014. We stayed self catering in Hotel Villa consisting of 4 bed bungalow all rooms en suite. It was exactly what we needed with 2 small boys. They had lots of room to run around inside and out and it was very safe. Weather was fantastic which added to the enjoyment and there were lots of activities close by if you have a car. We got complimentary tickets for two adults and two children to Photo wildlife park and Trabolgan holiday park a must if you are travelling with children. I recommend a visit to Kinsale a beautiful fishing harbour, beautiful play park and sandy coves also steeped in history. Cobh is another must see island close by joined to the mainland by a bridge.
The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful and the accommodation was very clean and well maintained. It would have been nice to have had a furnished patio as this was a nice sun trap just outside the dining area. I would be delighted to stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carrowkeel-Queen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Carraigokweel-Queen,

Thank you kindly for your comments, we are always interested in customer feedback.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, it was our pleasure looking after you. We look at our holiday villas as a home away from home and are truly pleased they accommodated your every need.

Kind regards,

All the Team at Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stopped off here for lunch on our way to a wedding in Cork. From the moment you walk in the atmosphere and service is so welcoming. The lady who served us couldn't gave been more friendly but still professional. The hotel was warm, cosy and relaxed. The lunch was lovely, good quality home cooked food and they have great coffee. While we didn't stay on this occasion the impression I'm left with I will definitely book in next time I'm in Cork.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula_Dublin_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Hi Paula_Dublin_Ireland,

Many thanks for your recent review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience with us. We are happy to hear you were looked after as we take such pride in our customer service and high level of attention to detail.

We look forward to welcoming you through our doors again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

All the Team at Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Our family of two adults and three children (10, 13 and 15) stayed at this lovely hotel recently for a long weekend family celebration. We were bowled over by the exceptional level of service from all the staff we met there; they were very friendly and welcoming, nothing was too much trouble and we felt very well looked after throughout our stay. Our flight landed at 9.30am but our family room was available to check into as soon as we arrived. It was equipped with everything we needed and the beds were wonderfully comfortable - lovely for tired travellers. It was also lovely and quiet.
The lunch to celebrate my parents' Golden Wedding Anniversary was outstanding. The food, service and personal attention to detail in the lovely Blue Room made it a memorable occasion. Huge credit and thanks to Michael Magner, the hotel director, and his staff.
Over the weekend we had breakfast, lunch and dinner in the Mabel Crawford restaurant and the food was consistently excellent - especially breakfast with its fabulous, plentiful selection of hot and cold food to suit every taste. The bar, conservatory and drawing room in the older area of the building are very comfortable, homely and elegant. We also stayed in one of the villas for two nights; it was very peaceful, well appointed and the four ensuite bedrooms were as comfortable as their hotel counterparts. We thoroughly enjoyed our first stay at the Vienna Woods Hotel and hope to return before long!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiona N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Fiona N,

We’re happy to hear of your compliments towards the staff, and we’re glad you enjoyed the hotel, particularly your parents Golden Wedding Anniversary you attended.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your nights sleep in the hotel as we have recently invested in 5* Boutique Hotel mattresses and beds.

We look forward to visiting you again.

Kind Regards,

All the Team at Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Attended Vienna Woods Hotel for a wedding last weekend - from the moment we enterd the hotel the level of service and attention was above excellent - I stayed with my children and they were treated every bit as well as the adults in the group. The meal at the wedding was outstanding and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The following day I lost my sons comfort blanket & couldn't find but the staff searched again and I had the precious blanket back to us again by the following day - you have to stay at this hotel!!!! Vonnie

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veronica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Hi Vonnie,

Many thanks for your kind review. It was our pleasure looking after you and the wedding you attended. We pride ourselves on our high level of customer service and it was our pleasure looking after you and the whole wedding party.

Kind Regards,

All the Team from Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glanmire
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,656 reviews
Montenotte
Clarion Collection The Montenotte Hotel
Douglas
Maryborough Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#11 of 23 in Cork
2,165 reviews
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel

Address: Lower Glanmire Road | 1/2 Mile From Roundabout, Glanmire, Cork, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Glanmire
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glanmire
Price Range: £94 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corks premier wedding venue. Nestled in 22 acres of private woodlands, originally built by the founders of the Beamish Brewery over 200 years ago, today the Hotel is owned and run by the Fitzgerald family. Large open fireplaces, High corniced ceilings, Gold framed Oil paintings, and lots of comfy sofas set the scene. With 50 bedrooms, Crawford’s Bar & Conservatory, weekly Sunday Brunch, and eight luxury holiday Villas this we offers the country experience on the edge of the Cork city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Cork
Hotel Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing