We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly and helpful establishment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glanmire
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very friendly and helpful establishment”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Our stay here was very comfortable and made even better by the front desk.

The hotel itself is classic Irish and has that old sheek to it. Rooms were very nice and kept the oldern day theme with wood and classic antique furnishings. Complimentary coffee and tea with a kettle was nice especially the biscuits. Rooms were clean.

The front desk were always cheery no matter the time, even when we returned from our days venture late at night. We asked front desk about beaches in or near the Cork area and the hostess even printed out directions to 3 beaches and gave her opinion on which on was better for a little stroll.

The only negative I would say is the lack of air con in the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zimbo1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Shaazeeb,

Many thanks for your kind review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, in particular the country house old world charm that Vienna Woods Hotel has to offer.

We are also delighted that you were so well looked after by our front of house team and that they were able to facilitate you with all of your requirements.

Unfortunately, we do not have air-con in the bedrooms in the hotel as it is extremely rare that it is required due to the typical Irish climate. As always we appreciate all feedback from our guests and I will pass on your comments to the rest of the management team.

Kind regards,

All the Team at Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    447
    148
    64
    22
    23
See reviews for
231
218
14
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

Myself, my husband and our 2 children have just returned from a week stay at this hotel. We stayed in a self catering villa. The villa was amazing the 4 bedrooms all ensuite and large. We had specially requested the facilities to be adapted for our son who is in a wheelchair and has very complex needs. All our requests were met and exceeded to make his and our stay as comfortable as possible. When checking in Theresa on reception could not have been more friendly and helpful and continued to be throughout our stay. We ate in the restaurant twice and in the bar twice. The service food and staff could not have been nicer.
Upon arrival there was an envelope left for us and inside was numerous family passes to local attractions. This was a lovely surprise which we took advantage of and had great days out.
We will definitely be heading back to Vienna Woods for our Summer Holidays in 2015!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Aideencashill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear AideenCashill.

Many thanks for your kind comments and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We’re pleased to hear that our staff were friendly and helpful as we pride ourselves on delivering excellent service and exceeding customer expectations as we did in your case. We are also delighted to hear we made your sons experience with us as comfortable as possible.

Again, thank you for your recommendation and taking the time to write a review. We look forward to welcoming you through our doors next summer again.

Kind Regards,

All the Team at Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hote
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I have been to the Vienna Woods many times and most recently it was a weekend stay for a wedding. Everything was fantastic. Ease of check in, the rooms, the food, the event itself and especially the staff. They are incredibly nice, friendly and helpful. It is also a very convenient place to stay in Cork city, just off the main road and minutes drive into the centre.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank niamh008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Niamh008,

Dear Sir,

Many thanks for your kind review, we are glad that your time with us was well enjoyed.
As a family run hotel we take pride in our staff and our ability to look after each of our guests to the best of our ability.


We look forward to welcoming you back through our doors again soon.

Kind regards,

All the Team at Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Attended our friends wedding here on 31st July and it was wonderful. The civil ceremony room was beautifully decorated, the staff were very attentive and the food was delicious. The only downside was, that due to the amazing weather on the day, the amount of wasps clinging to our drinks as we sat outside for the drinks reception was horrendous. Maybe a clean out of the bushes for further events wouldn't go astray. Apart from that, a wonderful day, wonderful staff, wonderful hotel !

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank justmyopionion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Justmyopinion,

Many thanks for taking your time to write your kind review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the wedding you attended recently.

Unfortunately, this time of year it is hard to manage the amount of wasps on the premises. We are constantly trying to ensure that the grounds are as free as possible from wasps as the comfort of our guests are one of our main priorities.

Thank you again for your feedback, we take customer direction very seriously and continuously look for ways to improve the experience for our guests.

Kind Regards,

All the Team at Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We were at a 50th birthday party recently in the Oak room. The room and table were decorated so nicely. The food and the staff were superb. We stayed the night in a beautiful family suite. Kids had plenty of space. Breakfast next morning was the best ever. We will be back!

Margaret Cork

Room Tip: We had a family corner suite which was very spacious and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Margaret O,

Thank you for your compliments about the recent event you attended here in the Oak Room. We were delighted to look after you and delighted you also enjoyed your evening spent with us.

We look forward to welcoming you through our doors again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

All the Team at Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

A truly exceptional and rare hotel experience in Ireland. This hotel should have the words 'Stately' appended to its Hotel name. Family run, staff employed are well trained and ingratiating. Thoroughly enjoy my stays at this hotel. Dinner service is 2nd to none - you would be forgiven for thinking you were eating in a 5 star Michelin restaurant in the heart of Dublin.

Room Tip: Ask prior to arrival - state your preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mickdubswitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Mickdubzwitz,

Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your recent stay here at Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel. We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We truly appreciate your compliments regarding our staff as we find that the staff is the main reason for our continued success at the hotel.

Thank you for your kind words about our restaurant - we are one of 23 hotels in the country awarded Guaranteed Irish membership, this is partly due to our commitment to sourcing local produce which ensure the freshest quality ingredients for all our dishes.

We look forward to welcoming you through our doors again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

All the team at Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This hotel was absolutely brilliant for our wedding- it could not have been better. All our guests were talking about the excellent food and service afterwards. The staff were excellent and Michael Magner was a pleasure to work with. Our wedding day was a dream come through thanks to the team at Vienna Woods

Linda&Eoin Cashin married 19/07/14

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LindaCashin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Hi LindaCashin,

Thank you for taking your time to write your kind review. We were delighted to look after you and your wedding party here at the hotel and to have helped make it such a memorable day.

We look forward to welcoming you through our doors again for your first wedding anniversary.

Best Wishes,

All the Team at Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glanmire
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,313 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
1,049 reviews
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel

Property: Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel
Address: Lower Glanmire Road | 1/2 mile from roundabout, Glanmire, Cork, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Glanmire
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glanmire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corks premier wedding venue. Nestled in 22 acres of private woodlands, originally built by the founders of the Beamish Brewery over 200 years ago, today the Hotel is owned and run by the Fitzgerald family. Large open fireplaces, High corniced ceilings, Gold framed Oil paintings, and lots of comfy sofas set the scene. With 50 bedrooms, Crawford’s Bar & Conservatory, weekly Sunday Brunch, and eight luxury holiday Villas this we offers the country experience on the edge of the Cork city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Cork
Hotel Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing