We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel right outside cork city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glanmire
Certificate of Excellence
Bradenton, FL
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great hotel right outside cork city”
Reviewed 17 September 2009

I stayed here with my husband for one night in September. The hotel is tucked away on a hilltop in the woods. It is a smaller hotel but offers many amenities. The room we stayed in was large, clean and comfortable. We ate at the on-site restaurant, the food was decent, though it did have an odd 'tex-mex' menu, which seemed out of place. The breakfast the following morning was delicious, they offer something for everyone. I enjoyed our stay at this hotel and I would certainly recommend it to anyone thinking of staying in the Cork City area.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bre9581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    465
    152
    72
    24
    24
See reviews for
245
224
14
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tipperary
1 review
Reviewed 8 September 2009

I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. 5-star experience. Both my wife & I had our wedding reception here on Friday August 7th. What a spectacular day, and even made more special by the hotel & staff. Everyone one of our guests thoroughly enjoyed the evening & long into the night. Of the wedding guests we spoke to the following day, everyone remarked on how good the food was, (how tender the beef was) , how good the service was & how amazing, I mean amazing the ballroom looked. Prior to booking the Vienna Woods for our wedding, we looked at hotels all around Cork City, East Cork, Blarney etc & by far did Vienna Woods stand out. All the staff are so friendly & helpful. Michael Magner, hotel director, made sure our day went perfect, even down to the lavender he personally placed on our wedding cake to match the cake ribbon. I'm not into all that stuff, but my wife is, and she was thrilled. So, to all the staff at Vienna Woods, thanks allot, I can thank you enough. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJSMOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2009

Just back from a wedding in the Fitzgeralds Venna Woods Hotel Cork,, One Word,,,Wow!! The hotel has been taken over in the past 3 years and what a refurbishment has taken place. The ballroom is probably one of the finest I have seen in recent years. We stayed in the holiday villas for the weekend they worked out at such a good rate for the 3 nights we stayed there. They were so comfy and so well layed out. The staff were so accomodating and couldnt do enought for us throughout the stay. I definately will be back, and it will be my wedding venue of choice in the future.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niamh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2009

we had the greatest day of our lives,what a fantastic hotel,best food ,best staff,best place in cork to get married.michael is a perfectionest in what he does and such a pleasant person to deal with.from the moment we booked the hotel to the day of our wedding everything we wanted was done in a way only vienna woods can do.
wish we could do it all again.thanks to michael and all his staff ye were brilliant.
loved it loved it loved it

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank koyelCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2009

We stayed at the Villa's and had a wonderful time! The four bedrooms each had a bathroom and the entire place just had a wonderful feel. We didn't have a car and we did have to pay about 20 Euros per day in taxi fare, but it was well worth it! The hotel staff are so friendly and wonderful! The owner/manager found out it was my mom's 80th birthday and surprised her with a complimentary bottle of champagne and baloons!! We hope to be back soon! The linens were wonderful with extremely comfortable beds and pillows. The only negative was that the water pressure was low, and the showers we took didn't have the water flow that we are used to. All of the staff are amazingly helpful!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GerrySteele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2009

We got married in Vienna Woods in July. Absolutly everything about it was brillant
Michael Magner who looked after us is the best in the business.
The food , the room , decorations , staff absolutly everything was excellent.
All my friends and relatives commented on the staff - they could nt belive how professional and nice everyone was -
I have been to so many weddings in Cork and I can say 100 % there is no place better than Vienna Woods if you are comsidering wedding venues.
All you have to do is book the date and you are in the best hands ever with Michael Magner who treats your wedding day likes its his own and leaves no stone unturned to ensure you will remeber your day forever.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeelaBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2009

I attended a relatives wedding last week at The Vienna Woods Hotel in Cork. Wow - what a superb venue for the wedding reception. My husband and our new baby arrived at the hotel before noon hoping that we could check in early. We received a warm and friendly welcome from the receptionist and were delighted that without prior notice they facilitated us with an early check in. The hotel itself is very charming and has a lovely relaxed atmosphere. There were fresh flowers beautifully arranged throughout. Our room was very spacious and comfortable with no difficulty fitting the baby pram and all the trappings that we had arrived with! The wedding reception itself was just brilliant. There was a lovely drinks reception with tasty canapes and as it was a sunny day there were tables and chairs set up outside which really added to the atmosphere. The ballroom was decorated so beautifully with wonderful candelabras on every table. The meal was simply delicious and what struck me most was the professional service. Everything was executed with ease by very friendly staff. It was certainly a wedding to remember. Breakfast next morning was very tasty and we enjoyed chatting with family over coffee well after the set breakfast time had passed. We finished off our trip with some shopping in Cork city which is only a 5 minute drive away. We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LSAshbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glanmire
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,409 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Douglas
Maryborough Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel

Property: Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel
Address: Lower Glanmire Road | 1/2 mile from roundabout, Glanmire, Cork, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Glanmire
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glanmire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corks premier wedding venue. Nestled in 22 acres of private woodlands, originally built by the founders of the Beamish Brewery over 200 years ago, today the Hotel is owned and run by the Fitzgerald family. Large open fireplaces, High corniced ceilings, Gold framed Oil paintings, and lots of comfy sofas set the scene. With 50 bedrooms, Crawford’s Bar & Conservatory, weekly Sunday Brunch, and eight luxury holiday Villas this we offers the country experience on the edge of the Cork city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Cork
Hotel Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing