We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect Fit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glanmire
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2010

We... my 2 bothers and their wives (6) stayed at the Vienna Woods Property in July. We rented a "villa" on the grounds which had 4 bedrooms, each with their own full bath and a kitchen and living area. Out the front was a lovely patio with 4 chairs, umbrella and table. These are self catering units but still come nicely equipped. All we needed was to buy some paper towels, soaps and a few dish cloths. The fridge is small but ample. There is a microwave, oven, stove-top and dishwasher along with a washer/dryer combo unit. The villa was very clean and comfortable. There are two bedrooms on the main floor and 2 upstairs. The upper ones had a TV, skylights that opened for a breeze and ours had a couch for sitting. One small issue was the lack of water pressure. Hate to nit-pick but it was pretty weak.
The villa is located at the 'top' of the property which means it is a short hike from the main building up hill. There are about 8 units I think and they look pretty much the same. They are close together but still far enough for privacy. We did meet some nice people along the way.
We were there for a wedding at the hotel and that turned out to be a wonderful gathering. The place was nicely decorated and all the staff were ready to please. They would come around at dinner and ask if everything was OK and if we needed more of anything. The bar staff were courteous and efficient. Once the wedding was over in the main hall the staff made sure we knew there was a resident bar to continue our visit with all the family and friends. We did stay up until the birds were singing and never once heard a staff member quibble about all of us staying up so long. They were in fact encouraging us to stay and chat as they knew we were from Canada and don't get to see our Irish family very often. We did finally sleep and just made it at the last for breakfast. They were starting to put it away but when they saw us come in they did everything they could to keep what was left warm and available for us. We really appreciated that.

All in all, this was a terrific hotel with lovely grounds, good food, great service, better that average accommodations and overall a wonderful holiday place.
We also found that is is central to Cork, Douglas, Monkstown and Passage and a short drive to most areas of South East Cork County. Just know you can not walk to very much but there is a lovely river walk across the road to a small town. 1 mile. There is not much there but I would say the service station - petrol station- was great for the morning coffee, fresh baked goods, a sandwich deli, hot food area and generally things you may need to fill the fridge and cupboard for your stay. Very new, clean and friendly.

I can't say we had a bad experience to tell you about at all at the Vienna Woods Hotel and would definitely return and recommend this to anyone going to stay in the Cork area.

WE loved, it.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OneCanadianTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JSleator, Director of Sales at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2010

Many thanks for your comprehensive review. We were all delighted to read your comments, and are glad you had a good time during your visit to Ireland and found the Villas comfortable.

I note your observation in relation to the water pressure, and should mention that our Holiday Villas are the same as a domestic house, in that they have their own individual water supply from the mains, unlike a hotel room where the water in showers etc are feeding from an internal pressurised system. I have mentioned this to our Maintenance Manager and he will monitor the water pressures in the Villas to see that they don’t fall to an unsatisfactory level.

Family get togethers and weddings are some of the best and memorable times in our lives so it gives us great satisfaction to know that you travelled all the way from Canada and had that experience at Fitzgerald’s Vienna Woods Hotel.

Please let us know if you are coming to Cork again, we would love to welcome you back.

Regards
Jason, Management & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (817)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

716 - 722 of 817 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2010

We got married here new years eve and i could not fault the vienna woods. Between Mary Ann and Michael they did everyhting we asked of them and on the day everything went to plan. I had been stressing as i am sure every bride does but it went to perfection. A lot of our friends have paid compliments to the hotel. The hotel also looked fab for christmas so this added to the whole ambience. Definitely get married here!!

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biddycool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JSleator, Director of Sales at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2010

Hello Biddycool

Thanks for your review and recomendation as a wedding venue.. Michael & Mary Ann have seen your review as well and have asked me to pass on their regards. Dont be a stranger, come in to say hello and have a coffee with us some time.

Thanks again
Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2010

Well on first impressions this has a lot more going for it than many so called 4* properties. Lovely ambience and peaceful elegance in the old part of the property where the bar and small cosy and extremely romantic nooks and crannies of the common areas are situated. Time appears to stand still or roll back amidst period features and comfy saeting in the bar area and it is a temptation to linger there all night. Service here is excellent with chirpy , enthusiastic and attentive staff who fall over themselves to please. Food is of excellent quality with original and appealing preparation even in the bar area.Value is excellent and asked to check bill as it seemed too low !!
Dee on the reception desk is charming and informative without any of the rush and offhand manner often experienced and at once you are aware you are in a small family run hotel where pride and care is the norm
Rooms are a little dated but spotless, excellent new beds(not zipped together floopy affairs).Spacious bathrooms with excellent showers and attention to detail.Decor is honest yet repro with good neutral colour scemes.Sleep quality is divine with zero noise and rapid room service and daily change of bedlinen(Now thats a first).
So what does it lack?MMmm...the woods! So inviting and one would expect a network of pathways or at least a few walks yet there are none which is a shame for such a lovely setting. The seclusion is excellent though andit is really handy for Cork City, Fota Park ,House and Arboretum with quick access to the motorway system.Also no leisure facilities though with so much to do on the doorstep not really a problem.
Make sure you visit this hotel and you will return again and again and wont be disappointed by the teriffic value, good service and charm of the place.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank odysseus53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2010

I loved this place for a 3 star hotel. I was really impressed. I cant believe how nice the staff were. We stayed for 1 night and got an amazing rate. I would return here again although it is slightly dated decor it suited the hotel and i have to say it was just spotless.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chc48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2010

Gorgeous location. So easily accessible.
Staff and service top notch.
Food was top quality, so enjoyable, tasty and delicious.
Comfortable and relaxing.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank regi_baby84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2010

Stayed here in mini suite, room was absolutely gorgeous very spacious bright and clean food in the restaurant was fab couldn't fault this hotel couldn't believe was just a 3 star

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christiners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JSleator, Director of Sales at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2010

Hello and thanks for your review. Many people comment that we provide a product and service superior to a 3 star level. We always say that stars are not as important to us as providing a product and service that meets and exceeds customer expectations.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2010

Having Visited Europe for our summer Vacation, we had 6 days in Ireland, we stayed at this hotel on 1 evening, the weclome we expereinced was outstanding, we were advised on how best to plan our route around Ireland for the few days that we had in your beautiful country, and given directions, maps were printed and the offer to book hotels along the route. We even got to kiss the blarney stone.The hotel is a Charming country house with woodland grounds a few minutes drive from the Cork town centre, the rooms were comfortable, clean and spacious, no Air Con but I guess with Irelands climate it does not warrant it, anyway it did not bother us. Breakfast was buffet with great selection which was fresh and warm. Would love to have stayed in the cork area for longer, it looked very pretty. Thanks vienna woods for all your help. BOB and family

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JSleator, Director of Sales at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2010

Hello Bob and Family...You couldn't come to Cork and not Kiss the Blarney Stone, so glad to hear you made it! Thanks for your kind words, when our guests say things like that it lets us know we are on the right track in terms of looking after people, after all that is what a hotel should do! As a family owned and run hotel we place much emphasis on traditional Irish hospitality. Great to hear you enjoyed your visit to Cork, hopefully you will come back for a few days again and see more of the city and county.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glanmire
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,656 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Douglas
Maryborough Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#11 of 23 in Cork
2,164 reviews
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel

Address: Lower Glanmire Road | 1/2 Mile From Roundabout, Glanmire, Cork, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Glanmire
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glanmire
Price Range: £95 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corks premier wedding venue. Nestled in 22 acres of private woodlands, originally built by the founders of the Beamish Brewery over 200 years ago, today the Hotel is owned and run by the Fitzgerald family. Large open fireplaces, High corniced ceilings, Gold framed Oil paintings, and lots of comfy sofas set the scene. With 50 bedrooms, Crawford’s Bar & Conservatory, weekly Sunday Brunch, and eight luxury holiday Villas this we offers the country experience on the edge of the Cork city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Cork
Hotel Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing