We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not your typical B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Glenlohane

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kanturk
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glenlohane
Ranked #1 of 3 Kanturk B&B and Inns
Louisville, Kentucky
2 reviews
“Not your typical B&B”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

If you're looking for a typical B&B, keep looking, Glenlohane is anything but typical. From the roast leg of lamb for dinner, to Gordon making arrangements to have a classic 1970 MG delivered to drive for a day on the roads around Kanturk, there is nothing typical about this country home that Desmond, Melanie, and Gordon have opened up for us travelers. Highly recommend if you're in the area that you make the call to stay here. Fantastic facility, wonderful people, amazing stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMouttet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
10
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I found this property on Hidden Ireland Historic Private Houses and what a find it is. This is country living at its finest. Desmond, Melanie and Gordon have opened their ancestral home to paying guests and we benefit from this decision. The home is beautifully maintained, well built, and surrounded by many acres of open land. As you enter the long majestic entryway, you pass horses grazing and beautiful lawns. All of this and wonderful conversation and a delicious breakfast. Dinner is served in the house if you make advance arrangements. All in all, this is a real treat and not something that you find every day. If you are in this area, I highly recommend staying at Glenlohane.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richied62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simsbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

My husband and I have had the luxury of staying here multiple times on our trips to Ireland. As Glenlohane House is a member of Hidden Ireland, we can be assured of the utmost in a gracious home but it extends far beyond that at Glenlohane. The hosts, Melanie, Desmond and adult son Gordon make your stay beyond beyond gracious. They have made it most memorable for us.
The entire home is filled with family history and family antiquities. Melanie is originally from the USA and brings with her a flair for design, keeping rooms bright and cheery, which I have enjoyed when some of our days have had us staying in due to rain. No worries, just curl up in the window filled living room and read a good book from the libary. Tea always available.If I am lucky enough, the family cat may join me.
The bedrooms are truly blissful.Extremely clean,and believe me, I look! Melanie's taste in fabric is apparent in every room. Beautifully kept and I think incredibly up to date especially of a house this age. Our bathroom shower has more power here than our our home!A big fluffy robe means I can leave mine at home, i appreciate this type of amenity.Bottled water by our bedside.A nice touch!
History abounds here and the house dates back to 1741, built for Desmond's family.Desmond has a wealth of knowledge , not only about the area, but about the country past and present.
Desmond knows the area so well having grown up there and was a huge help in plotting out our daily journeys.They have made welcomed suggestions and additions to our itineraries and we have never been disappointed. So many places are so close! Ring of Kerry, Killarney ( easy train ride if you want to leave the car behind and we have stayed at The Moulton Hotel, steps from the train station in Killarney and right in town) , Cork city is less than an hours drive or can take a train in, Cashel, Glengarrif ( beautiful) , Blarney Castle ( 45 minutes by car), Kenmare, Skibereen, Kinsale (lovely town on the water) The list goes on.
There are animals around and if you enjoy dogs you wont be dissapointed! Chickens roam free and there have been sheep in a front field when we have been there.Both Melanie and Desmond are horse riders and there are a few horses as well.
My husband has most enjoyed his conversations with Desmond and Gordon when talking and looking at their vintage motorcycle collection. My husband and I both ride in the USA and we were thrilled to learn motorcycles are in their blood as well!
The local town of Kanturk is about a ten minute drive away. It has a few very good restaurants ( don't miss The Vintage!) and many pubs ( we enjoy Bob's). The Sharp-Bolster's seem to know everyone and have even helped us make reservations and recommendations. A picturesque town and easily walkable.
We just can not say enough about Glenlohane, the Sharp-Bolster's, and how happy we are to have had the opportunity to enjoy this gem!

Room Tip: All bedrooms are named by color, The Blue Room, The Green Room et cetera . All have En Suite bathroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NicolaL69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gordon sharp-bo... s, General Manager at Glenlohane, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Do hope that the weather in the Northeast of America will cut you a break as it looks like we are finally getting some nice weather here. My bikes are in bits at the moment but I just need to sit with them to make them shine and purr. Thank you for your most gracious note and as we are doing a complete makeover on the cottage, please come over to lend your good eye! I assure you it will be like the romantic gentleman's hunting lodge that an interior designer could only dream about....who knew!?
Thank you again.
Cheers,
Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saar, Bahrain
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We took a family golf trip to Ireland from the heat and deserts of Bahrain and started our journey out in Kanturk. While Kanturk might not be on the typical golfing vacation starting points – it was delightful. We played a couple of parkland golf courses that prepared us for the seaside links to come.
But to stay at Glenlohane is not your typical B&B or hotel – Desmond & Melanie’s home is more like a weekend retreat to old friends. We had the run of the house and it is charming. Breakfast’s turned into 2 hour affairs where every topic from politics ranging from the US to Ireland to the Middle East was discussed and then likewise family and of course places to see and do for the rest of the day were delightfully exchanged and discussed.
The surrounding area contains charming little restaurants\pubs and is a great gateway to a multitude of things to see and do. Access is easy – if relaxation is high on your vacation priorities – this Hidden Ireland property is a jewel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank US-Expat-in-Bahrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gordon sharp-bo... s, General Manager at Glenlohane, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
I do hope that desert life is treating you all well. We got the wettest weather in, I think, 68 years and with a dashing of hurricanes to round things out, do you need some water? Thankfully our huge swaths of crocus and daffodil are out in full swing with more color than we have had in years. And we are thankful. Love to see you again sometime. Oh, the Kanturk Golf Course also lost some trees but it's all been cleaned up and being played on on a day like today I certainly hope. Be safe and thank you again.
Cheers,
Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

My adult children and I stayed 3 nights in early July and were absolutely delighted with our time here. We wanted to be in the country and yet in good driving distance of Cork, Blarney and the west coast. That is exactly what we found, but we hadn't expected such a lovely house full of history, beautiful family heirlooms and the charm of our hosts - Desmond, Melanie and Gordon. During breakfast each morning at the magnificent dining table we heard stories about life in Ireland and this area over the last century or so and discussed our plans for the day. Desmond gave us great advice about driving tours to do - he suggested visiting Garinish island which was a highlight of our trip. The peace of Glenlohane's setting combined with the friendly family dogs and cat and nearby farmyard animals was so lovely to come home to at the end of each day. Melanie even organised our washing to be done for a minimal cost - a great blessing on an overseas trip!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nee33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gordon sharp-bo... s, General Manager at Glenlohane, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
I do hope that things on the home front are well. Thank you by the way for your most kind note and as I am just learning how best to work my way through TripAdvisor, I am now only just getting a thank you off to you. Mom and Dad are well and send their regards, as do I!
Cheers,
Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Glenlohane located down a beautiful country road was worth the trip to Kanturk. If you want to experience real county living it is the place to go. Melanie, Desmond and Gordon made us truly welcome and part of the family. It is a must place to stay in North Cork. Make sure you see the horses they are beautiful!. Melanie is a delightful cook, the dining room is full of charm and history. Desmond can help with anything you would like to see or do as he is a wealth of knowledge. FYI if you are on a motorcycle trip thru Cork it is the perfect location to see the south west of Ireland. Gordon will make sure you are directed to the best spots available most tourist spots are within an hour in any direction. My advice is to stay more than one night like we did as it is a perfect base to travel from you will not want to leave. Scenery is wonderful the cool quiet nights made sleeping great. D&G Canada

Room Tip: All the rooms offer a clean quiet rest that every traveller desires.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gordon sharp-bo... s, General Manager at Glenlohane, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you for your gracious note and sorry for my untimely response. We took a serious beating with the roof of just about every building and trees went down that would even make His Lordship weep - we all did. A lot I might add. On the motorcycling note, we have added a Motorcycle Touring page and do hope to bring this to a new level as - like you kindly shared - our position in Kanturk can't be beat. Who knew??! My bikes are in bits and am hoping to have one road worthy in the next week.....we shall see!
Cheers and I hope to see you again soon,
Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Locarno, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2013

You remember that particular feeling of excitment, when you have found a real treasure; one you only want to share with your most intimate of friends and family?
.. well that’s what Glenlohane has become for us!

We have heard many a story about the Irish charm, the warm friendly welcome, the breath of fresh air, the full-bodied enthusiasm, the local knowlegde that is willingly shared with newcomers. Add to that the utmost adaptability to continous changes of our family holiday plans, an admiring resourcefullness, a never ending font of historical facts, intriguingly told anecdotes and delicious, amazingly prepared and decorated food in the splendid setting of an 18th century country Manor house. And if you think you cannot top that, you obviously have not met the genuine personalities of your hosts, Desmond, Melanie and Gorden of the Sharp-Bolster family.

Whether you choose the Bed&Breakfast accommodation at the Manor house, set in acres of landscaped garden and bordering rolling meadows, with horses, sheep, peacocks, guineafowl and dogs for company on your morning stroll along the entrance alleyway; or you opt for the quirky adorable little cottage just down the country-lane, self-catering - or you use both, arriving as an extended family as we did. Glenlohane remains the ideal base for touring county Cork and across borders into Kerry and Limerick from a quiet, well hidden and “off-the-beaten-track” base.

Desmond, Melanie and Gordon made our stay a unique, memorable and truly Irish experience, where all the kind personal touches with which they spoiled us will remain in our hearts long after we have rolled out of the comfort of those magnificent beds and driven through the stone gate posts under century old fir trees for the last time.

Why we do share our treasure now with you ?
This is just in case you run out of luck on your own “treasure hunt”!

Room Tip: All rooms at the main house and in the cottage are lovingly and individually decorated
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Archibald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gordon sharp-bo... s, General Manager at Glenlohane, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
It was so great having you all. Sorry for the untimely reply to a most kind overture on your part. I do hope that you will all come and storm Glenlohane again with your warmth and your interest and your appreciation for everything. The hurricanes gave us a good beating this winter but the flowers are out offering us a gift of kindness-truly heaven sent.
Cheers,
Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kanturk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Douglas
Maryborough Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenlohane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenlohane

Property: Glenlohane
Address: kanturk, county Cork, Kanturk, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kanturk
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Kanturk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Neither an hotel or a professional guest house, Desmond, Melanie and their son, Gordon, run Glenlohane as an extremely private house with an air of friendly informality so unique to Irish Country House Bed and Breakfasts. Certainly not considered a 'room for the night' type of B&B, there are no public signs at the roadside to draw the attention of casual visitors. Guests are welcomed on a pre-arranged basis and know where they are going by the detailed directions in this web site. There are no public and private quarters as in a professional place and guests may use facilities of the entire house as if staying with friends. There are family dogs and a cat in the background and animals play a large part of life at Glenlohane. Less than a quarter of a mile away, and still on the farm, is a Self Catering Cottage that can be rented on a weekly basis. Apart from farm animals, there are also horses, ponies, fantail pigeons and bantam hens in the traditional stable yard.Whether it be at Glenlohane for B&B or Glenlohane Cottage for self catering, staying is for the discerning visitor who wishes to learn more about Ireland's history and culture through personal contact with the owners. One is also well positioned for sightseeing throughout the Scenic Southwest of the country. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing