We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful!”
Review of Holly Crest Lodge

Holly Crest Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holly Crest Lodge
Ranked #5 of 8 Killybegs B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We decided to stay here because it was close to Slieve League and it was nothing shy of great! Ann was very welcoming and had wonderful suggestions for what to do in the area. The breakfast was my favorite of the trip, she had wonderful fruit salad and awesome pancakes! I was glad we had a chance to spend a night there and we definitely would stay again!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jwguaraldi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    4
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
13
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I have stayed at Holly Crest for the past 7 summers, along with friends and family, to hike in the area of Glencolmcille. Ann is always so welcoming, helpful, and friendly. She has great suggestions for places to eat and things to do, and Holly Crest is very convenient to an area that provides incredible hikes, walks, beaches, and scenery. Donegal can be chilly, if not downright cold (even in early summer) and this B&B is always warm and dry--a wonderful thing to return to when out and about all day! The breakfast is yummy and her pancakes are amazing. Every effort is made to accommodate special requests, and it's a delight to return to Ann and Liam's B&B each year. As long and I can travel to Ireland, Holly Crest will be an accommodation on my itinerary.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet and cozy. Wifi throughout the B&B is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leopardtoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mouans-Sartoux, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Anne and Liam Keeney welcomed ten members of my family in their wonderful B&B for three nights and made us feel most at home. Anne's breakfast was by far the best we had anywhere in Ireland. Liam's suggestions for visiting this beautiful corner of Ireland were most appreciated. The B&B, situated right outside of Killybegs is well placed for visiting the region's attractions. The Slieve League Cliffs are breathtaking and they are only one of the stunning sites to be seen all along the coast. We had the Silver Strand Beach all to ourselves on a bright beautiful day. The Glenveagh National Park is also well worth the trip. Anyone who really wants to see Ireland should not miss Donegal.

Room Tip: We occupied all of the rooms and they were all very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryLynn_Riley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Sebastian de la Gomera, Spain
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Last minute decision to climb Slieve League and picked this off the internet to stay one night. The owner was very pleasant, welcoming and helpful. The room was clean & adequate. Good choice of breakfast items including home made pancakes and "Tate & Lyle" syrup...brought back childhood memories from long ago. Location is just a little bit far outside Killybegs for easy walking in & out if you wanted to visit a pub or restaurant without the hassle of driving. Takes about 25 mins but when I asked the owner (Ann) if she could get us a taxi into town she kindly volunteered the services of her son Kieron which was great as we were worn out after our Slieve League adventure. Free WiFi was also much appreciated...I'm surprised that all accommodations don't have this essential facility as standard offering these days! All in all very satisfied with our choice.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andypsion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letterkenny, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Had a great stay in this B&B. Spotlessly clean and a huge breakfast in the morning. Absolutely no complaint, would definitely stay again. Convenient location for many local restaurants and bars. There is also free wifi.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank will b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

This was a wonderful surprise in Killybegs. Good accommodations to match any Irish setting in Ireland. Rooms were clean and comfortable with all modern conveniences. TV and WiFi, why yes!
The breakfast was superb. Ann, the operator is a great ambassador for Donegal. I learned a lot about this northern Irish Treasure.. Donegal has so much to offer in scenery and history. If you have the luck to travel to dear old Donegal, stop in Killybegs at Holly Crest Lodge. You'll enjoy one of the best kept secrets in Ireland.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sully1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton,NY
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Staying with Ann and Liam Keeney is an absolute delight.The location is great, on the Killybegs-Donegal Town Road. The rooms are spacious and lovely. There is wifi. The breakfast is superb. The welcome by this couple is just exceptional. Maybe, if you are fortunate, they will tell you about Killybegs, County Donegal, sights to see, and the history of the area. If you are lucky, Liam will come and eat breakfast with you! County Donegal is just spectacular. The coast road is absolutely remarkable. The back roads, a little in land, are fabulous. Travel up to Leo's Pub, Burtonport, Malin Head, the Inishowen 100, the ringed fort. I would suggest traveling down any side road or back road which looks interesting. You will not regret it. Slieve League is an absolute must. The rural churches are spectacular. even the little grocery store, right down town, sells superb soup and sandwiches. The scenery all through Donegal is as fine as anywhere in Ireland. If you have a chance, go to Ard's Friary, a Capuchin, Franciscan Friary in north Donegal. Ask to meet Father Flann Lynch. You will be glad you did. Go to the Glenn Gesh pass! Have your camera ready every minute! Start a conversation with anyone! You will be glad that you did!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caseyboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killybegs
0.4 mi away
Bay View Hotel & Leisure Centre
2.8 mi away
Castle Murray House Hotel & Restaurant
15.1 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tara Hotel
Tara Hotel
#1 of 2 in Killybegs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
12.7 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Ritz
The Ritz
#1 of 3 in Killybegs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holly Crest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holly Crest Lodge

Property: Holly Crest Lodge
Address: Hollycrest Lodge Donegal Road, Killybegs, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Killybegs
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Killybegs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holly Crest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing