We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, very welcoming.”
Review of Tara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tara Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Killybegs
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great hotel, very welcoming.”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Booked hotel on a whim, stayed 2 nights, using it as a base to travel sround Donegal. Staff were very helpful, advising where I could park my motorcycle securely. Breakfast was hearty and tasty. Room was clean&airy overlooking harbour. Bit of a hum due to the trawlers but slept well despite that. Bed was comfortable.
Will definitely return in the future. Thank you to reception especially.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    199
    41
    14
    11
See reviews for
118
245
27
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

I can't begin to express my gratitude to Niamh .She is the day receptionist at tara. Her help and daily guidance was incredible. Unfailing in her courtesy,patience and efficiency. She made my stay informative and relaxing. As, I told the owner, a delightful man, she is a gem and speaks well of Ireland's youth. The Tara is a great stay.
Gerard Hughes april 2014

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Very friendly helpful staff. Nice clean room with Harbour view. The whole hotel was lovely and warm. Very good meal and bottle of wine in the Turntable restaurant, all included in the weekend offer; excellent value.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 960Mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

The staff are the unsung heros of this hotel ...... them and the chef!

From our arrival we recieved the highest level of care and attention - nothing was too much bother. Our room was well equipped with a lovely view over the harbour.

We stayed on a Saturday night and what we needed as a couple was a real chill out night away. That was most certainly what was had.

We ate in the bar sat on a table beside a lovely big window overlooking the harbour. May I take the opportunity to add that the chairs were exceptionally comfy and I could easily slept in them! The atmosphere was great; very relaxed with a small local clientele at the bar adding to the vibe.

Feeling peckish we had a 3-course extravaganza. Of course when in Killybegs some form of fish had to be taken and that came in the form of chowder. It was out of this world and its contents showcased the best of the Atlantics diversity! Beautiful. Next on the menu for us were steaks fillet and sirloin and again very tasty. They were cooked to perfection and the quality of the beef was top class. Finally, dessert and we had creme brulee and cheesecake both were very light and well made.

A great meal was had and a very chilled out evening. The staff were very friendly and attentive. The only one critisism I could make is that for whatever reason the room was ridiculously warm. So much so that we had quite a bad nights sleep. Having said that it wasn't the end of the world and it definately would not deter us from returning!! Oh and the jacuzzi, steam room and sauna that we believed was there is no longer there. Again not the end of the world, we had booked it was a chill break not a spa break. So all in all a pretty nice break and as I said we will return.

Room Tip: The rooms over looking the harbour are lovely although for some reason ours was very hot so you may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rumolloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Extremely helpful staff, lovely harbour view room on the balcony side, comfortable & quiet, access to Wifi in the room worked really well, clean & spacious, decent food with reasonable prices, and would definitely stay again if in the area.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Stacy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

just back from a lovely weekend in Tara hotel ,Killybegs. The hotel is lovely and the rooms clean and has everything you need, though needs some updating, stayed here quite a few times years ago nothing much has changed. We had a lovely harbour view room, nothing much to do in killybegs but if you want a nice relaxing break its perfect. Stay at the Tara were the food is really nice from the breakfast which was hot and plentiful, to the evening meal which was super. As for the staff could not fault them especially the receptionist, they were all very friendly . Will return soon I hope.

Room Tip: rooms facing the harbour have a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank cooks_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaraHotelKillybegs, General Manager at Tara Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Cooks 11,

Many thanks for your review of the Tara Hotel.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that we provided an atmosphere for your where you could indeed relax and enjoy your food.
I pay particular attention to your comments on the need for updating, as management of the hotel, this is something that is being discussed at present for the premises, but as always we do take on board all comments and thank you very much for same.

We do hope that you will again one day come and stay with us again and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Thanks again,
Claire.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2014

The lovely reception staff at the Tara Hotel were very accomodating to us. We were travelling with our 18 month old son and were due to spend the middle night of our stay in a different hotel where the family Wedding we were attending was being held
The girl there assured us that we could keep our luggage in our room on the night of the wedding and return to the same room the next morning for the final night of our stay.
It saved us so much hassle and grief moving out and back in for the sake of one night, and allowed us to maximise our time with the family at the wedding, meeting up with them for breakfast the next morning.
The Room was nice and comfortable, the shower good and strong. the food was reasonably priced and excellent including breakfast. The ham and cheese toasted sandwich i got on arrival late at night was amazing!
The two girls at reception from Friday to Sunday on the last weekend of March were approachable, friendly and welcoming and made the stay a real pleasure.
would definitely recommend

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gavin Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaraHotelKillybegs, General Manager at Tara Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Gavin Q,

Many thanks for the taking the time to post your review of the Tara Hotel. As management of the hotel, I am delighted to hear that you had a very pleasant and positive experience in the hotel.
We do strive to better ourselves each day and ensure that our guests feel welcome and enjoy their time here, whether it be enjoying a drink overlooking the harbour or watching the boats over the bay, we like to feel that we provide an atmosphere that means more than just a service to our guests.
I will pass on your feedback to the team and again, may I convey my sincere thanks for your review.
We as always will look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Thanks again,
Claire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killybegs
0.0 mi away
Bay View Hotel & Leisure Centre
15.4 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
16.0 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
13.0 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
13.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Hotel

Property: Tara Hotel
Address: Main Street | Donegal, Killybegs, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Killybegs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Killybegs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tara Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacularly set overlooking Killybegs Harbour and with views of the surrounding Donegal Hills, the Tara Hotel features 26 tastefully decorated bedrooms and 5 suites, most of which have harbour views. Complimentary wireless internet (Wi-Fi) is available throughout the hotel and all our rooms feature en-suite, 26" flatscreen T.V, tea/coffee making facilities, trouser press and safe as standard. The spacious Station 59 bar is ideal for relaxing with a coffee and a snack whilst enjoying the sea view. For something more substantial carvery lunch is served throughout the week and an extensive bar food menu is available every day until 9.30Pm. Turntable Restaurant offers a more contemporary, sophisticated setting to enjoy a meal; our team of chefs work closely with local and regional suppliers to bring you the best of produce, expertly prepared and presented. Our Leisure Club boasts state of the art fitness equipment & weights area. We look forward to welcoming you to the Tara Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tara Hotel Killybegs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing