We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ta-ra, but we hope to come again”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tara Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Killybegs
Certificate of Excellence
Prevessin Moens
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ta-ra, but we hope to come again”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The rooms were well-appointed and spacious, kettle, sachets and accessories were on hand for DIY beverages but not biscuits; the staff were friendly, attentive as well as accommodating (pun intended), especially Shona Murphy; the sea view rooms afforded dry ringside seating for the Regatta, as bedraggled oarspeople battled it out in the harbour. Some spectacular landscapes and cosy eateries required minimal, albeit sometimes gymnastic, rollercoaster driving.

Room Tip: The sea view is in fact a harbour view, but pleasant for all that; the disembodied voice in the lif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank RedSwan_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaraHotelKillybegs, General Manager at Tara Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear RedSwan_12,
Thank you for your lovely review of the Tara hotel. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the successful regatta and had pleasure of witnessing it. All your kind words are very much welcomed and have being passed on to all our staff, Shona sends her appreciation. We hope we have the pleasure of seeing you again sometime.

Kind Regards

Paul Walsh
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    305
    194
    41
    14
    11
See reviews for
117
238
26
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Our experience @ The Tara Hotel was fantastic , the staff was very mannerly and polite , the hotel allowed us to check in early as we had to get changed for a wedding the girls were very helpful , the food the next day was fab in the bar

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Edel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaraHotelKillybegs, General Manager at Tara Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Edel K,
Thanks you so much for your kind words. The management and staff appreciate your words greatly. We always try to ensure all requests are met and exceeded and are delighted we were able to do so. Your kind words about the food have being passed on to our chef and we hopefully look forward to seeing you some time in the future.

Kind Regards
Paul Walsh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
100 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

I enjoyed a very pleasant night in The Tara. The rooms are spotless and comfortable. The location is great, just across from the harbour in the centre of town. The staff throughout are very friendly and helpful. I ate in the bar and it was very tasty. Breakfast was cooked to order and hit the spot. I would recommend it to everyone.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaraHotelKillybegs, General Manager at Tara Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Hi Brian D,
Thanks you for taking the time to review the Tara hotel. Your kind words about the hotel and the staff are greatly appreciated. We are working hard to ensure all customers receive the stay they all well and truly deserve. Look forward to seeing you hopefully sometime in the future.

Kind Regards
Paul Walsh
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mishawaka, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Wonderful clean room. View while eating excellent meals was great. Paul the manager checked on every table, also delivered food and helped clear tables. I noticed everyone seemed to help each other. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was cooked to order, not just a buffet. Great experience. Paul helped us make reservations for other cities when we were going to travel, he went above what he needed to do.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the harbor, it is wonderful. It was vey quiet and the bed was the best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank joannsmudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaraHotelKillybegs, General Manager at Tara Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
To Joannsmudge,

Thanks for taking the time to review the Tara Hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your time in the Tara Hotel. Your kind words are greatly appreciated. We strive to ensure all customers leave satisfied and there expectations exceeded and are gives us great pleasure that you did. . We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back in the future

Kind Regards
Paul Walsh
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I have stayed at the Tara a few times now and have always had a good time. The rooms are spotless and comfortable. I had a great meal in the bar sitting by the window over looking the harbour on a glorious summers evening. The next morning a full Irish breakfast hit the mark and set me up for a day's work. I would recommend the Tara Hotel for a relaxing stay and I found all the staff to be very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Get a room over looking the harbour, beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaraHotelKillybegs, General Manager at Tara Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Patrick M,

Thank you for your lovely review. Its great to here you enjoyed your time at the Tara Hotel and you managed to get a bit of sunshine in the process. We appreciate all our feedback from our customers and thank you for taking the time. All your comments are greatly appreciated and we hopefully look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Paul Walsh
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Durham
Level Contributor
121 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Arrived at 2345 after long drive. Reception welcoming and friendly. Room was very comfortable, clean, and quiet. Breakfast was freshly cooked and tasty. Location is excellent opposite Killybegs harbour and within easy driving distance of Slieve League.
Would happily stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank BassettHound33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaraHotelKillybegs, General Manager at Tara Hotel, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Bassetthound33,

Thanks you for your review. We are delighted you had a nice stay. Your kind words are greatly appreciated. We at the Tara hotel aare constantly striving to ensure all our customer needs are met and exceeded we are gratefull to have it acknowledged. We look forward to seeing you some time in the future.


Kind Regards
Paul Walsh
Operatiosn Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2014

First visit and stayed overnight on 13-7-14 .Rooms were clean and comfortable .We were originally going to eat off the select menu for residents but because it was was limited we decided to eat off the a la carte menu( good decision )I chose monkfish which was delicious(thanks chef ) and had cheesecake for afters which was a good choice too.Our table location was great as it was very pretty overlooking the harbour at light up time .The majority of the staff seemed to be happy at their work except for a select one or two .I was especially impressed with Kelsey's personality(reception )and also Rachael (breakfast )thank you girls .Thanks also to the manager (who hails from Offaly ).There was a good atmosphere in the bar also maybe the world cup final had something to do with that .All in all we enjoyed this stay at the Tara Hotel and would like to think we would be back again some time.Oh yeah almost forgot the church is just a stone throw from the hotel just up the hill .Bye for now .Meg O'D.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the harbour come at an additional price of 10 euro .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank megz12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaraHotelKillybegs, General Manager at Tara Hotel, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Meg O D,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review of the Tara hotel. Your kind words and feedback are greatly appreciated. Your comments were passed on all mentioned who are delighted including myself. Our aim is to ensure all customers recieve the service they well and throughly deserve and it gives us great pleasure when we get acknowledged for it. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back some time in the future

Kind Regards
Paul Walsh
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killybegs
0.0 mi away
Bay View Hotel & Leisure Centre
15.4 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
10.9 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
3,935 reviews
13.0 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
770 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Hotel

Property: Tara Hotel
Address: Main Street | Donegal, Killybegs, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Killybegs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Killybegs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tara Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacularly set overlooking Killybegs Harbour and with views of the surrounding Donegal Hills, the Tara Hotel features 26 tastefully decorated bedrooms and 5 suites, most of which have harbour views. Complimentary wireless internet (Wi-Fi) is available throughout the hotel and all our rooms feature en-suite, 26" flatscreen T.V, tea/coffee making facilities, trouser press and safe as standard. The spacious Station 59 bar is ideal for relaxing with a coffee and a snack whilst enjoying the sea view. For something more substantial carvery lunch is served throughout the week and an extensive bar food menu is available every day until 9.30Pm. Turntable Restaurant offers a more contemporary, sophisticated setting to enjoy a meal; our team of chefs work closely with local and regional suppliers to bring you the best of produce, expertly prepared and presented. Our Leisure Club boasts state of the art fitness equipment & weights area. We look forward to welcoming you to the Tara Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tara Hotel Killybegs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing