We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Another Brilliant Stay”
Welcome to a very special part of Donegal - July sunset from the side of the Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to a very special part of Donegal - July sunset from the side of the Cottage
Dungloe Bay through the furse from the conservatory in May You will enjoy a very well equipped kitchen with everything that's needed to cater for your holiday
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Welcome to a very special part of Donegal - July sunset from the side of the Cottage
Dungloe Bay through the furse from the conservatory in May
You will enjoy a very well equipped kitchen with everything that's needed to cater for your holiday
Time to put the kettle on......
From the kitchen to the table...
Welcome in to the spacious open plan kitchen/dining/living area
Ample space for long leisurely dinners
From kitchen two steps down to the lounge.........
Plenty of space to relax and enjoy the views
Invitation to put the feet up ......yes please .......
Clouds rolling in from Arranmore - bay window in sitting room
Catch the rays in the sitting room - one of three front rooms to relax in all with great views
From the couch to the conservatory... a really peaceful place to totally unwind
Main bathroom with shower and jacussi bath - there are four toilets and three showers - no queues
Ensuite bedroom downstairs ...what a view to wake up to ......
Bedroom 2 downstairs
Upstairs there are two large bedrooms, a shower room and loads of books to read and games to enjoy
Upstairs shower room with electric shower
Bedroom 3 upstairs
Bedroom 4 upstairs
Sit back and enjoy.....Sunset in July
Peace perfect peace.......patios front and side of Cottage to track the sun
Some of our friendly neighbours - hopefully they'll pass by when you're here
With a glass of wine and your feet up...it's a special place to unwind
To the west you'll find Toberkeen Lough and Lough Nageeragh just around the corner
View from hill behind Cottage - loads of parking space
April view over Dungloe Bay and Arranmore Island from Cottage - the view is different every day
You'll get a different view almost every hour.........bring a good camera and walking boots
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Dungloe, County Donegal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Norm M
Skerries, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Another Brilliant Stay”
Reviewed 27 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Second time round for us. And it did not let us down. Weather ranged from brilliant to fair, but it didn't matter. The Tansey's made us most welcome to their fine property. We'll never tire of the rugged landscape and EPIC sunsets of Arranmore/Burtonport area. Oh, and we were slightly addicted to the local "chipper" - "Doodlebugs" where big John looked after us.

Great accommodation, great people, super location - BOOK!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2017
Norman & Family - great to have you and your families with us again for an extended stay this year and that you made the most of all that the area has to offer....... not to mention Doodlebugs - what a chipper !!
All the best K&M
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ozmodiar8...
County Meath, Ireland
1 review
“Picturesque and Relaxing!”
Reviewed 26 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We’ve just returned from a wonderful week at Sea View, Dungloe. When you arrive at the house, the first things you notice are the quiet, secluded location and the stunning views of Dungloe Bay. We were greeted by Mary and Kieran, who were both very friendly and took time to show us around the house and all its features, including a few fun extras for the kids, like a telescope to look across the bay at Arranmore Island, and bodyboards and stunt kites to use on the local beaches. This was a great start to our holiday and got the kids very excited! There were only four of us, but the house could easily accommodate twice as many people with plenty of room to spare. It was very clean and well equipped, and its brilliant layout provides a great choice of quiet rooms in which to relax and enjoy the views.

The house is a short drive (or walk) from Dungloe, where you can get anything you need during your stay but, more importantly, its central location along the Donegal coast makes it the ideal base from which to explore all Donegal has to offer, from the rugged headlands of the Wild Atlantic Way, to Donegal’s many Blue Flag beaches or, if you’re feeling more adventurous, you could discover one of the coast’s hidden beaches which you can enjoy all to yourself! There are also a wide range of activities within a few miles of the house, including angling, surfing, kayaking and horse riding. The house is also a good base from which to drive to Glenveagh and Mount Errigal.

We chose to spend our days sea angling in Kincasslagh, bodyboarding in Maghery, kayaking Mulroy Bay, taking in the spectacular views from Crohy Head and exploring some of the local beaches. In the evenings, we enjoyed barbecues on the patio, or on the cooler evenings, relaxing in front of the fire whilst watching the sun set over Dungloe Bay. The views in the morning are equally amazing to wake up to. We only had bad weather one day during the week, and the kids were perfectly happy to spend most of the day lazing around the house, with a trip to the cinema in the afternoon.

Mary and Kieran returned at the end of the week to see us off, and even offered to mind our bags for a couple of hours, so we could fit in one more visit to the beach! This was our second visit to Sea View, and we’ve already booked our stay for next year! We’d happily recommend Dungloe in general, and this house in particular to anyone interested in visiting Donegal.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2017
S,S,A & J - thanks so much for your great review - we're delighted that your stay with us went so well and that you made the most of all the great activities the area has to offer - see you next July.
K&M
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ann2506
ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Fabulous”
Reviewed 30 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed for a weekend it this fabulous house, the views and location are amazing. It is such an idyllic and relaxing part of Ireland. The house was beautiful, very spacious and very clean, loads of room for a family and everything you needed for a relaxing stay, even peat left in for a lovely fire. The owners had thought of everything to provide a nice relaxing stay ... would love to stay again :)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2017
Thanks Ann & Paul - we're delighted you had a nice relaxing weekend in what we regard as a very special part of Donegal and you'd be more than welcome to return any time .....maybe for a bit longer.
M&K
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ILovetheS...
Carmarthenshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“If only it were mine”
Reviewed 23 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

What a fantastic house. Brilliant design in a superb location with beautiful views.
My partner booked this for us after many weeks' research. I didn't have a clue where we were going and I must say I was so delighted when I saw it for the first time, as we approached up the driveway. Looking out over the coastline was spectacular.
However, one major flaw in the whole experience was that the house needed some serious elbow grease inside. Clean bed linen and towels, yes. Removal of previous occupants' fridge contents and general accumulated grime, no. However well meaning the owner was, inviting us to help ourselves to whatever was in the cupboards and fridge was just not appropriate. Several jars and bottles of opened ketchup and the suchlike, well beyond their use by date, was really not acceptable. The oven was dirty, the smell from the hob extractor fan was really bad too. There were crumbs/sand on the dining chair seat backs and on other furniture. We had to sweep away clumps of dust and hair on the bedroom floor. The tiled floors in the kitchen and dining/lounge areas were in need of an intense clean. Television worked when we plugged the right leads in, but the screen was dirty, as was the cabinet it sat on. Bathrooms were functional but wall tiles and cupboards were really grimy. OK, I suppose, to leave part filled aerosol deodorants and soaps but used bottles of mouthwash? I don't think so. Not a good start to our holiday at all. Having said all that, this was probably the best property, location wise and design wise, that we have rented in a while. It could be truly fantastic if it was treated to some serious cleaning and removal of all perishable, personal, opened goods. After every rental.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 May 2017
Thank you for your review -will take your views into consideration - have fired the cleaner. K&M
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christofe...
leicester
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“what a shame !!!!”
Reviewed 23 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Fantastic location and a house that has been very well designed . But a few things took the gloss off our stay ;

clear evidence the house had not been properly cleaned - clumps of dust/hair in the bedroom

perishable food past use by date left in the fridge

bathrooms in need of refurbishment - cracked tiles/sealant in a poor state

ancient tv in dining sitting area that didn't work

with some hard work and investment this would be a five star + property

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 May 2017
Thanks Christopher for your review - we'll take your views into consideration - the 'ancient' tv is only there for families who want to play DVDs/playstation etc - there are fully operational digital tvs in the separate sitting room and the main bedroom. K&M
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik W
1 review
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 10 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Waking up to such vistas and seeing the sun set over Arranmore Island every evening is just fantastic! We hit the jackpot weather wise, so we enjoyed all the close-by beautiful beaches all the more. The house is great, it's got everything you need and both Mary and Kieran are very friendly and helpful. Would recommend this place to anyone looking for a great and quiet stay in gorgeous Donegal!
Just one downside: we had to leave the place again...

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 May 2017
Delighted you had such wonderful weather to enjoy Donegal and the Cottage at its best . Hopefully we'll see you again in the future . K&M
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSKHN
East Anglia, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful holiday - stunning location and well equipped house”
Reviewed 24 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Thank you for a wonderful stay at SeaView. What a magic location overlooking the bay to wake up to! We visited Arranmore, climbed Errigal and went south to Ardara and the Slieve League during our holiday. Donegal is simply stunning, the people really friendly and we had a fantastic time. SeaView is spacious and well equipped and provided the perfect base for us - thank you again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wonderful view, peaceful location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2016
Delighted that you were able to experience so much while with us in Dungloe and that you had all that you needed as your touring base to enjoy and relax.
Kind regards K & M
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing