We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really Beautiful location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandhouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sandhouse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rossnowlagh
Certificate of Excellence
Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
189 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Really Beautiful location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

This Hotel is located right on Rossnowlagh beach. There are panoramic views over the bay and down the wide stretch of beach with the mountains in the back group. We were so lucky in that the skies were blue for the time we were there and the beautiful deserted beaches around Killybegs and Ardara were shades Caribbean blues and greens and soft white sands and coral sands.
The rooms were nice and bathrooms fresh and clean. Comfortable beds and powerful shower, flat screen TV. The linen on the beds was of good quality but there have brown blankets on the beds that looked very outdated. There are only visible after you have slept in them but they really need to be updates.

The staff across all areas were really friendly and helpful. A credit to the hotel and the Donegal “no bother” attitude to life, nothing you could ask for would cause them any bother.

The Surfers bar had a young crowd in it the night we were there, and dancing and music. All very lively and friendly.

Great full service breakfast again overlooking the beach.

I would definitely revisit this hotel, good value and a treat at the same time.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Murray007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    365
    104
    48
    21
    11
See reviews for
149
264
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NEWTOWNARDS
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

My husband and i stayed at the Sandhouse hotel from friday 13th for two nights, and had dinner in the restaurant both nights. We had a very enjoyable weekend, as we were celebrating my husbands birthday, and everything we received at the Sandhouse from we arrived was exceptional, accomadation, food, staff and the manager taking the time to see if everything was to our satisfaction, which it certainly was. We wish them every success, and will be back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Request a room with a seaveiw, you will not be dissappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SANDRA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a four night break at the Sandhouse Hotel. Everything was perfect. The place, the food, the room, the staff; all faultless.
Great served breakfasts cooked freshly for each guest, well done Caroline and all the waitresses.
The manager/owner Paul was always on hand when the staff were busy to ensure that everything was running smoothly. Well done to the chef to produce such a wonderful roast duckling for Saturday dinner when the kitchen must have been hectic. The Surf bar staff were friendly and efficient.
The room service was invisible and yet our room was always clean. I could find fault somewhere I suppose, but I would only be selfish so that I would not have to share this example of Irish hospitality at its best with so many others. Well done the Sandhouse and see you all soon again

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pgor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenties, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

We spent Easter weekend at this Hotel, weather was not great but hotel is superb.
The location rigght on the beach is stunning, I enjoyed the surfing, and my wife enjoyed the spa.
The food in the dining room is excellent, the4 rooms and service were also excellent.
An Innkeepers Inn, white table cloths, service as it should bbe, we will return.

Room Tip: A seaview is a bonus
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew551498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

I have stayed in the sandhouse hotel 3 times and I have to say that it is one of my favourite hotels in the world! It exudes old world charm. Book a room with a sea view and at night the large bay windows make you feel like you are actually at sea. The rooms are very large - the furnishings although not modern are of a very good quality. I love all the quirky lounge areas scattered around the hotel and the glasshouse restaurant has the most amazing views. This hotel has an atmosphere and ambience that I have not experienced anywhere else. I certainly am looking forward to planning my next stay!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovestravel172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We have just spent a few days at the Sandhouse in the rain and we both really enjoyed it. The staff were so friendly and helpful. On our last night, we decided to go to the Smugglers' restaurant and asked the receptionist to book us a taxi. As she was having difficulty getting one, the other receptionist offered to take us and collect us. Breakfast in the morning was excellent and it was great that our order was taken at the table and brought to us. Much better than a buffet. Our room was on the top floor and was very comfortable. My one criticism was that there wasn't individual toiletries, just bottles of soap and hand cream attached to the wall. We had dinner in the hotel on 2 nights and the food was of a high standard. I was a little disappointed that the menu didn't change each night even a little as suggested on the website. We definitely intend going back in the summer when the weather is hopefully better.

Room Tip: Choose a top floor room with a sea view. A twin room has a double and a single bed in it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Aerobird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PDiver, General Manager at Sandhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. We will take your comments on board also. Kind regards Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
110 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

I stayed for one night in the Sandhouse, Rossnowlagh the day afer I checked out of Harveys Point (See my other review) and boy did I regret it.
My reasons are quiet simple. To start with I found the hotel to be quiet expensive, the night prior I was in a 5 star resort and paid only a few euro more so Euro for Euro I can't understand how the Sandhouse justified its price. The second issue I had is that I booked the room over the phone about a week before travelling and yes you guessed it there lost my reservation. In this day and age for a reception staff member to take a phone booking and then not enter it into the system is unforgivable.
Now for me this hotel is a 2-3 star quality, with the typical type of decor and rooms I seem to find dotted around Irish coast resorts, ie shabby and old. The hotel seems to be living off the fact that Tony Blair used to stay there as a kid, in fact it advertises this. Thats just not a good enough reason to stay here or in any hotel.
I had breakfast one of the mornings which I did find acceptable so no issues there but I cant comment on the dinner quality as I ate elsewhere.
My biggest gripe with the hotel those was the treatment by the staff when I needed assistance. Our car was damaged in the car park and i asked the reception staff to have security to check the CCTV for me. I was told this would be done and they'll call me with the info needed. I checked out knowing that the matter wasin hand. After a few days with no phone call I called back to follow up, again I was told it was no problem and they would call me back. You guessed it, they didnt call me back, in fact they never returned a single call over the numerous times that I contacted them. Even the manager ywho seemed eager to help when I spoke to him didnt bother calling me back. The simple fact here is that the hotel (family run) didnt care one little bit about its customers and the fact that my car was damaged on their property. Sandhouse, you broke the golden rule !! Pu the customer first !!!
So in a nut shell, overall I found the hotel to be poor quality but worse than that the customer servce or lack of it should put doubts in your mind as to whether or not you should spend your money here. I wont be back and I will not recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Seanie_pc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rossnowlagh
11.0 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
11.7 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,889 reviews
8.2 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Bay View Hotel & Leisure Centre
2.5 mi away
Creevy Pier Hotel
Creevy Pier Hotel
#1 of 4 in Ballyshannon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandhouse Hotel

Property: Sandhouse Hotel
Address: Rossnowlagh, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Rossnowlagh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rossnowlagh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandhouse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4 star manor house hotel is located on the edge of the Atlantic Ocean overlooking Donegal Bay and Rossnowlagh Beach. Award winning cuisine, fine wine and local staff mix to give a truly relaxing experience. Marine spa with seaweed bath, Jacuzzi steam room and 8 treatments rooms is a must visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Sandhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandhouse Hotel Rossnowlagh, County Donegal, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing